Question about HP Pavilion dv4000 Notebook

1 Answer

Windows previews(thumbnails) how do i get my show windows preview(thumbnails).to work again?any help would be greatly appreciated...thanks,

Posted by on

  • garcia007 Dec 28, 2007

    my windows vista has an option called "windows previews(thumbnails)"and it sits in my taskbar and was working fine but i messed it up and now the option is basically shows a small thumbnail of the minimized page when curser is over it..and it switches between windows like pages of a book...thanks for you efforts...



1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points


    An expert who has answered 20 questions.


    An expert that hasĀ over 10 points.


    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 2 times.

  • Expert
  • 90 Answers

Garcia, I can help you, but you need to make your question clearer.

what do you mean by "windows preview"?

Posted on Dec 28, 2007


1 Suggested Answer

  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

A 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
The service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017


Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add



Related Questions:

1 Answer

When i turn on its taking time to get my disk that is my proplem

the best way is to upgrade ur PC , or format your harddisk or apply this settings as follows ===
Speed Up Windows 7 Boot Up Time Don't Try This To Make Windows 7 Faster:
Try ReadyBoost:
  • 1. Speed Up Windows 7 Using ReadyBoost
  • 2. Check ReadyBoost
  • 3. Speed test your SD Card, CF Card, Flash Drive, HDD
Speed Up Windows 7 BootUpdate 04/21: This tweak does not seem to have great effects on your boot time. Instead use a startup programs manager for Windows 7 and remove as many startup programs as you possibly can.
Do you have a dual-core or quad-core processor? Great, let's lower the boot time of Windows 7:
1. Click on Start, enter "msconfig" into the search field
2. Open the "boot" tab
3. Click on Advanced
4. Check "Number of proccessors" and select "2′ or "4′ from the dropdown menu. (obviously, you can only select it if you have a dual-core/quad-core).

Speed Up Windows 7 Boot
Full Image
Speed up Windows 7: Change Taskbar Thumbnail Preview Time1. Click on Start, enter "regedit" into the search field.
2. Goto: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Mouse

Speed Up Windows 7 Taskbar Thumbnail Preview
3. Double-click on "MouseHoverTime" and change the value to 100 or lower:

Change the mouse hover time to 100 or lower
4. Voilà, your thumbnail previews should appear a lot faster now. For another great tweak to speed up the Windows 7 taskbar, click here.
Speed Up Windows 7 Shutdown Time1. Open the registry editor (enter regedit into search field)
2. Go to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control"
3. Lower the value (12000 is the default value = 12 seconds) to a value of your choice

Speed Up Windows 7 Shutdown
Speed Up Application Access - Increase your productivityFirst of all create a folder "QuickStart" somewhere on your PC. Right-click on your taskbar:
toolbar.jpgLocate the folder "QuickStart" (you just created the folder so yo should know where it is) and then click "Ok". You are almost done, but we don't want that ugly text on our taskbar that is using a lot of space, turn it off:

texttitle.jpgRight-click on the new toolbar and uncheck "Show Text" and "Show Title"! Now drag the toolbar to the left until it's below the main icons and you will have something like this:

Sep 01, 2011 | Acer Computers & Internet

1 Answer

My aperture 2 library wont load, HELP! I have

This article on the apple website may help you

Mar 09, 2010 | Apple Aperture 2.0 for PC, Mac...

1 Answer

When I try to scan one 4x5 positive sheet film it gives me 6 thumbnail pieces rather then one image?

Open Epson Scan and select Professional Mode. Turn off the Auto Thumbnail option which if it is not on the main page then check the small drop down menus next to the Scan/Preview options. Once that is off do a preview and the in the preview window manually draw a marquee around the area you need.

Feb 02, 2010 | Epson Perfection 4870 PHOTO Scanner

1 Answer

Missing files after refresh

Give it some time to refresh. Maybe the computer is using most of tis resources and it takes some time to show the contents again. Also, check what type of view you have( under view= thumbnails, list, etc)
Some previews will take forever to show.

May 25, 2009 | Kingston (DTIU3/2GB) 2 GB USB Hard Drive

1 Answer

My taskbar option is not working

Did you right-click on the Start button and go to properties>taskbar page and check to see that the "Show Windows Preview" box is checked, under "Taskbar appearance"?

Apr 12, 2009 | Dell Inspiron 1525 Notebook

2 Answers

I'm always being alerted that Com surrogate has stopped working

This might help:
Disable Thumbnail Previews in Windows Vista Explorer If you want to speed up browsing around in explorer, you might think about disabling thumbnail previews in folders.
To make this change, click the Organize button on any folder, and choose Folder and Search Options from the menu.
Click the View tab, and then check the Always show icons, never thumbnails checkbox.
Click OK, and you're done.

There are lots of people also pointing this problem to Divx, Nero and general codec packs but the problem starts when they start using a media player not windows explorer.

Give it a go and if it helps please rate me.


Jan 25, 2009 | Toshiba Satellite A135-S4527 Notebook

1 Answer

No thumbnail preview

Sorry , I don't know the answer to your problem , But I am experiencing sort of the same problem. When I place an image in the scanner , I do not see any preview thumbnails at all. I also do not see any of the preliminary questions as to the film format size or single or batch scanning. Nothing like that at all. I have called the tech's at Nikon and the scanner passes their over the phone examination. It appears my scanner is not been recognized by my computer ( I have tried both ) . Nikon suggested replacing the firewire cable which I did and still no preview thumbnails. I believe the problem is in the firewire interface panel ( where you plug the scanner in ) and I think this is where your problem lies also. It is a simple fix 5 maybe 6 screws. Getting the part number has been my problem. Nikon wants you to send in the entire scanner and have a flat $400 service charge . I'm sure the part is less than $400. Any ideas as to where to get the parts catologue ?? Let me know.

Sep 11, 2008 | Nikon LS-9000 Film Scanner

1 Answer

No thumbnail Preview of video files in VISTA Ultimate

You will not get video previews on files for which you lack the proper video codex. Furthermore, that codex needs to be accessible to Windows media player. If it is application specific, only available to Nero, etc. it won't work.

Aug 30, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Video Preview

try reflash the phone that can fix the issue

Apr 06, 2008 | Sony Ericsson W850i Cellular Phone

Not finding what you are looking for?
HP Pavilion dv4000 Notebook Logo

Related Topics:

58 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top HP Computers & Internet Experts

Les Dickinson
Les Dickinson

Level 3 Expert

18420 Answers

Doctor PC
Doctor PC

Level 3 Expert

7733 Answers


Level 3 Expert

538 Answers

Are you a HP Computer and Internet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides