What happens if we delete hidden directory system volume informat
Hidden directories most often serve to hide important operating
system-related files and user preferences. This is mostly to protect the files. But malicious programs
(malware, viruses, trojans) can also use this functionality to hide
The System Volume Information folder is a hidden system folder that the
System Restore tool uses to store its information and restore points.
System Volume Information (SVI) is the name of the data store where Windows XP and Windows Vista keeps its System Restore files and registration databases. System Restore not only saves copies of critical system files, it also performs automated registry hive backup.
There is one SVI folder per drive being monitored by System Restore. You can not view/access the SVI folder by default but there is a way to make them visible. You might need to gain access to this folder for
Basically, if you delete the System Volume Information folder, you will no longer have the files and data needed to restore your system to a previous state. For example, if Windows crashes or is stuck in a continuous boot cycle, you can use System Restore to restore your system to a previous "healthy" state. However, if there are no files or registry backups available, this tool is then no longer available to you. Also, if you ever decided to use System Restore, you would need to re-create the foler in the same path so that the system files can be stored there again.
Hopefully, you backup your system and keep good backups often...
Apr 13, 2009 |
Microsoft Computers & Internet