Question about Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Review switch Having had no problems since new 18 months ago, my A85 is stuck in review mode leaving me unable to take any pictures. The switch now has no effect. The unit has been very well looked after and not subjected to any shocks or damage. Is this a return to Canon to fix it or would it be economical simply to buy a new one? (not under warranty)

Posted by on

  • Alan Farthing Sep 27, 2006

    Hi Scrajmer,
    Thanks for your input.
    I had suspected as much.
    Is it something that a competent technical person (ie me) could repair and, if so, is it possible for an individual to get the parts from Canon?
    Just been into Jessops and they quote £100 just to get it looked at. A new equivalent camera is only £175.
    QP

  • Alan Farthing Sep 09, 2007

    I thought that I'd have a look inside the camera to see if there was anything obvious. The actual switch is part of the circuit board and thus it's replacement is not cost effective.
    However, I found that the toggle which is part of the case had simply jumped out of alignment with the switch.
    After carefully putting it all back together I have had no further problems.
    Removing the back. however, was VERY tricky. I think I found a site that gave some hints but cannot remember it now.

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 20 times.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 188 Answers

It seems that the switch to toggle between camera mode and playback is broken, as it happens in most of the cases. the replacement of the switch will do the job.

Posted on Sep 27, 2006

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya

6ya staff

  • 2 Answers

SOURCE:

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

My Canon Ixus 430 does not take pictures although the


This sounds like it might be a defective CCD imager. If so, Canon should fix this for you for free, including free shipping both ways. This is regardless of your camera's warranty status. Please check this link for more info.

Applicable cameras include: A40, A60, A70, A75, A80, A85, A95, A300, A310, S1 IS, S60, S200, S230, S330, S400, S410, S500, SD100, SD110, IXUS V2/300/400/430/500, IXY Digital 30/30a/200a/300a/D320/400/ 450/500

Nov 24, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S410 / IXUS 430 Digital...

1 Answer

When i turn on my camera the monitor remains black and does not show anything that it is aimed at.If I try to take a picture it will take but shows up black on review. Although when I switch it to review...


It is ccd imager chip failure in your Canon A85 camera and ccd imager chip willbe replace to get live view to take pictures.
Canon offers free of cost repair for A85 model for same problem. Click Canon CCD Imager Advisory for details and check your camera model number in that list.
Thanks.

Oct 02, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon Powershot S2IS black screen can't take pictures


A stuck shutter is another common failure mode for digital cameras. The symptoms of a stuck or "sticky" shutter are very similar to CCD image sensor failure. The camera may take black pictures (for shutter stuck closed), or the pictures may be very bright and overexposed, especially when taken outdoors (for shutter stuck open). Not sure what causes this issue, but some say it's heat, others say it's dust.

But anyways, to confirm a stuck shutter, put the camera in any mode other than "Auto", and turn the flash OFF (you don't want to blind yourself for the next step). Next look down the lens and take a picture. You should see a tiny flicker in the center of the lens as the shutter opens and closes. If no movement is seen, then you likely have a stuck shutter. If so, please see the following for further info and a simple fix that may help:

http://camerarepair.blogspot.com/2009/05/simple-fix-for-stuck-shutter.html

Jun 24, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

Our camera when you turn it on has a blank screen and you cannot take pictures. You can review pictures and see the different menu modes, but the screen is otherwise black. We have had it repaired once for...


See this link:http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=PgComSmModDisplayAct&fcategoryid=223&modelid=9824&keycode=2112&id=48264Your camera is one of those listed, and your symptoms indicate this is the problem. Canon should repair your camera at no cost. Keep trying! You have a valid case.

Jun 16, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

HLT6176SX/XAA TV ''MAKING DETAILED SETTINGS FOR PICTURE''


Your TV is on display mode!! The problems that you are having I had with my new TV.. Call Samsung or go online to their website and it will tell you exactly how to fix that small problem. As for the blue light, just go to setup and under light effect you will be able to choose when you want the light to come on.. I hope this is helpful...

Apr 07, 2009 | Samsung HLT6176S Television

1 Answer

I TURN ON MY A70 AND I GET A VIEW OF THE LAST PICTURE I TO TOOK.


The camera is stuck in picture review mode. Try sliding the mode switch back and forth a couple times, and leave it in camera mode to see if this corrects the problem.

Apr 02, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A70 Digital Camera

1 Answer

No picture in lcd when camera is in camera mode


Hi,
If it is Canon A85 camera then it has known problem of CCD Imager and this part will be replaced.

Canon will repair free of cost A85 in CCD Imager problem as per announced scheme.

Please click Canon CCD Image Sensor Advisory for details.

Feb 06, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Please help: readout says "no memory space" but memory stick is empty!


When you copy pictures to your computer you still have the pictures on your camera so there is need to clean them up my reformatting memory stick.   This procedure will leave the memory stick clean and ready for a new set of pictures.  Here is how you reformat the memory stick-:

1.  Insert the memory stick to be cleaned/formatted in the camera

2.  Turn the MODE DIAL to the SETUP position on the camera

3.  Switch on the camera

4.  Select the MEMORY STICK TOOL from the CONTROL BUTTON

5.  Press the centre of the CONTROL BUTTON

6.  Select FORMAT by using the down arrow and up arrow

7. Choose OK by moving the right arrow button

8.  Finally press the centre of the CONTROL BUTTON and this will start reformatting the MEMORY STICK and it will ready for reuse.  

Enjoy your new space in your Memory Stick!

Oct 24, 2007 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-P200 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Blurry / runny picture


This is a CCD problem It is known about. Checkout Canon customer support for replacement or discount on a new one

Aug 05, 2007 | Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

85 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Cameras Experts

old marine
old marine

Level 3 Expert

2261 Answers

Ekse

Level 3 Expert

13434 Answers

Poul Brinchs Larsen

Level 2 Expert

159 Answers

Are you a Canon Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...