Question about Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

No thumbnail Preview of video files in VISTA Ultimate

Hi there,
I'm having this problem since 2 months or so..I've tried every possible solution for this......see the image below



I've used the codec pack K-LITE codec pack( used randomly K-lite MEGA codec pack and K-lite Codec pack FULL after every new release codec pack).First I used to get thumbnails for all filetypes..now I dont know what hpnd I get thumbnail previews for only ".MP4,.FLV,.MKV" and no for .avi,.divx,.3gp etc..

So what do u say...both the file sare .AVI and dont get preview for .divx,.3gp..etc..


I think after I installed and used the software called "RegistryBooster2"..and cleand REG errors in my Vista Ultimate..this problem begun.

Anyhelp in this regard is REALLY appreciated :)

Posted by on

  • Srinivas
    Srinivas Sep 01, 2008

    I dont see any problem related to thumnails in ur BLOG...what's it? 


    Could someone tell me..a solution for this plzzzzzz.

  • Anonymous Dec 10, 2008

    I have the same problem but only with avi and mpeg files. With wmv is ok, i have tubnails preview.

×

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Guru:

    An expert who has written 7 tips or uploaded 3 video tips

  • Master
  • 1,049 Answers

You will not get video previews on files for which you lack the proper video codex. Furthermore, that codex needs to be accessible to Windows media player. If it is application specific, only available to Nero, etc. it won't work.

Posted on Sep 18, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Cannot preview pdf file in outlook


Which version of Outlook are you using.
kIt could be an issue with the pdf preview handler. Download the fix from link provided


Fixes for 64 bit Adobe Reader preview handler and thumbnails

Jun 06, 2014 | Microsoft Operating Systems

Tip

How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista Clearing the thumbnail...


How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista pdf_button.png printbutton.png Clearing the thumbnail cache:
Windows keeps a copy of all of your picture, video, and document thumbnails so they can be displayed quickly when you open a folder. If you delete the thumbnail cache, they will be automatically created when needed. The thumbnail preview problems can be resolved by clearing the thumbnail database and let the system rebuild it as and when required.
To do so, use these steps:
Click Start, type cleanmgr and press ENTER

Click My files only

Select the system drive letter from the drop-down list

Uncheck all the entries except Thumbnails

Click OK

The thumbnail database is stored globally in Windows Vista, unlike Windows XP, where the thumbnail database is stored on a per-folder basis. In Windows Vista, the default Thumbnail cache location is mentioned below:
%LocalAppData%MicrosoftWindowsExplorer

on May 25, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium with...

1 Answer

Thumbnail not showing in vista


http://www.technipages.com/vista-enabledisable-thumbnail-preview-icons.html

Feb 28, 2011 | Operating Systems

3 Answers

Does not display preview of pictures in explorer in small, medium, large icons after update of vista


All you can do is to try to reinstall said update. If you can identify the specific update, try reinstalling it. If not, download and install the latest Vista service pack.

Sep 15, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium with...

1 Answer

No Video Thumbnails in Windows XP


Open folder containg files then click view and select thumbnails

Jul 30, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

My taskbar doesn't show window preview


Did you install Vista yourself? Coud you have installed Vista on a PC that is not Vista ready? Most likely problem is that your video card is not supported for the preview feature of Vista. However, if you are sure that your video card is Vista compatible then you might need to find the latest (Vista compatible) driver for your video card. I once upgraded a video card driver to find that it suddenly supports Vista window preview function.

Apr 19, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Unable to view Thumbnails for the PDFs in Vista


in the window at the top there is organise then next to that Views, keep clicking till the view you require shows

Aug 26, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

3 Answers

Thumbnail generation


There is no known software compatibility with adobe premiere and vista. The problem will be that you might have changed any setting in vista for thumbnails. I know vista is much different than windows. So, have a look around at the settings.

Feb 18, 2008 | Operating Systems

Not finding what you are looking for?
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition Logo

480 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Microsoft Operating Systems Experts

Brian Sullivan
Brian Sullivan

Level 3 Expert

27725 Answers

Scott Fryer

Level 2 Expert

80 Answers

Carlos L. Burgos
Carlos L. Burgos

Level 2 Expert

508 Answers

Are you a Microsoft Operating System Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...