Question about Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

No thumbnail Preview of video files in VISTA Ultimate

Hi there,
I'm having this problem since 2 months or so..I've tried every possible solution for this......see the image below



I've used the codec pack K-LITE codec pack( used randomly K-lite MEGA codec pack and K-lite Codec pack FULL after every new release codec pack).First I used to get thumbnails for all filetypes..now I dont know what hpnd I get thumbnail previews for only ".MP4,.FLV,.MKV" and no for .avi,.divx,.3gp etc..

So what do u say...both the file sare .AVI and dont get preview for .divx,.3gp..etc..


I think after I installed and used the software called "RegistryBooster2"..and cleand REG errors in my Vista Ultimate..this problem begun.

Anyhelp in this regard is REALLY appreciated :)

Posted by on

  • Srinivas
    Srinivas Sep 01, 2008

    I dont see any problem related to thumnails in ur BLOG...what's it? 


    Could someone tell me..a solution for this plzzzzzz.

  • Anonymous Dec 10, 2008

    I have the same problem but only with avi and mpeg files. With wmv is ok, i have tubnails preview.

×

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Guru:

    An expert who has written 7 tips or uploaded 3 video tips

  • Master
  • 1,049 Answers

You will not get video previews on files for which you lack the proper video codex. Furthermore, that codex needs to be accessible to Windows media player. If it is application specific, only available to Nero, etc. it won't work.

Posted on Sep 18, 2008

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Thumbnail not showing in vista


http://www.technipages.com/vista-enabledisable-thumbnail-preview-icons.html

Feb 28, 2011 | Computers & Internet

Tip

You cannot print or print preview Web pages in Internet Explorer on Windows


<b>Symptom:</b><br /> <p>When you try to print a Web page in Internet Explorer 7 or in Internet Explorer 8 on a computer that is running Windows Vista or Windows 7, the Print</b> dialog box disappears, and nothing is printed. <br /><br />Additionally, if you print preview a Web page, the Print Preview page may be blank except for the page number in the header and a file path and date in the footer. The file path resembles the following: <br /> <p>File://C:\Users\&lt;username&gt;\AppData\Local\Temp\Low\RU4GX5A5.htm <br /> <b>Cause:</b><br /> This issue can occur if the "C:\Users\&lt;username&gt;\AppData\Local\Temp\Low" folder has been deleted. Some applications, such as disk cleanup utilities, can delete this folder during their cleanup process. <br /><br /><b>Note: </b>&lt;username&gt; refers to the currently logged on user who is experiencing the issue.<br /> <b>Resolution:</b><br /> To resolve this issue, follow the methods that are listed in this section starting with Method 1. <br /> <p><b>Method 1: Restart Internet Explorer</b><br /> loadTOCNode(2, 'resolution'); <ol> <li>Close all instances of Internet Explorer. <li>Restart Internet Explorer. <li>Print or print preview a Web page in Internet Explorer. </li></ol> If this method does not resolve the issue, go to the next method. <br /> <p><b>Method 2: Re-create the missing folder</b><br /> loadTOCNode(2, 'resolution'); <ol> <li>Close all instances of Internet Explorer. <li> Click Start</b>, type <span>%Temp%</span> in the Start Search</b> box, and then click the Temp</b> folder in the list. <br /> <li>If you are running Windows Vista, click New Folder</b> on the Organize</b> menu.<br /><br />If you are running Windows 7, click New Folder</b> on the main menu. <li>Type <span>Low</span> for the folder name, and then press ENTER. <li>Close the Windows Explorer window, start Internet Explorer, and then print or print preview a Web page. </li></ol> If this method does not resolve the issue, go to the next method. <br /> <p><b>Method 3: Reset low integrity level on the Low folder </b><br /> loadTOCNode(2, 'resolution'); <ol> <li> Click Start</b>, click All Programs</b>, and then click Accessories</b>. <br /> <li>Right-click Command Prompt</b>, and then click Run as administrator</b>. <li> At the command prompt, type the following command and then press ENTER: <br /> <p><span>ICACLS "%userprofile%\AppData\Local\Temp\Low" /setintegritylevel (OI)(CI)low</span><br /> <li>Restart the computer. <li>Print or print preview a Web page in Internet Explorer. </li></ol> <b>The information in this article applies to:</b><br /> <ul> <li> Windows Internet Explorer 7, when used with: <br /> <ul> <li>Windows 7 Enterprise <li>Windows 7 Enterprise E <li>Windows 7 Home Basic <li>Windows 7 Home Premium <li>Windows 7 Home Premium E <li>Windows 7 Professional <li>Windows 7 Professional E <li>Windows 7 Starter <li>Windows 7 Starter E <li>Windows 7 Ultimate <li>Windows 7 Ultimate E <li>Windows Vista Business <li>Windows Vista Business 64-bit Edition <li>Windows Vista Enterprise <li>Windows Vista Home Basic <li>Windows Vista Home Basic Beta <li>Windows Vista Home Premium <li>Windows Vista Starter <li>Windows Vista Ultimate </li></ul> <li> Windows Internet Explorer 8, when used with: <br /> <ul> <li>Windows 7 Enterprise <li>Windows 7 Enterprise E <li>Windows 7 Home Basic <li>Windows 7 Home Premium <li>Windows 7 Home Premium E <li>Windows 7 Professional <li>Windows 7 Professional E <li>Windows 7 Starter <li>Windows 7 Starter E <li>Windows 7 Ultimate <li>Windows 7 Ultimate E <li>Windows Vista Business <li>Windows Vista Business 64-bit Edition <li>Windows Vista Enterprise <li>Windows Vista Home Basic <li>Windows Vista Home Premium <li>Windows Vista Starter <li>Windows Vista Ultimate </li></ul></li></ul>

on Jan 17, 2011 | Computers & Internet

Tip

How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista Clearing the thumbnail...


How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista pdf_button.png printbutton.png Clearing the thumbnail cache:
Windows keeps a copy of all of your picture, video, and document thumbnails so they can be displayed quickly when you open a folder. If you delete the thumbnail cache, they will be automatically created when needed. The thumbnail preview problems can be resolved by clearing the thumbnail database and let the system rebuild it as and when required.
To do so, use these steps:
Click Start, type cleanmgr and press ENTER

Click My files only

Select the system drive letter from the drop-down list

Uncheck all the entries except Thumbnails

Click OK

The thumbnail database is stored globally in Windows Vista, unlike Windows XP, where the thumbnail database is stored on a per-folder basis. In Windows Vista, the default Thumbnail cache location is mentioned below:
%LocalAppData%MicrosoftWindowsExplorer

on May 25, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium with...

1 Answer

Video thumbnails on my computer wont show up on laptop. The exact files on my PC show thumbnails of videos fine. Is there any software I have to download for my laptop to show the thumbnails?


Open the folder where the files are stored.
Click on 'Tools'
Click on 'Folder Options'
Click on the 'View' tab.
Check the box that says "Do not cache thumbnails"
Click ok.

I hope that fixes it.

Sep 28, 2009 | Gateway FX4710-UB003A Core 2 Quad Q9300...

1 Answer

No Video Thumbnails in Windows XP


Open folder containg files then click view and select thumbnails

Jul 30, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

My taskbar doesn't show window preview


Did you install Vista yourself? Coud you have installed Vista on a PC that is not Vista ready? Most likely problem is that your video card is not supported for the preview feature of Vista. However, if you are sure that your video card is Vista compatible then you might need to find the latest (Vista compatible) driver for your video card. I once upgraded a video card driver to find that it suddenly supports Vista window preview function.

Apr 19, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Unable to view Thumbnails for the PDFs in Vista


in the window at the top there is organise then next to that Views, keep clicking till the view you require shows

Aug 26, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

3 Answers

Thumbnail generation


There is no known software compatibility with adobe premiere and vista. The problem will be that you might have changed any setting in vista for thumbnails. I know vista is much different than windows. So, have a look around at the settings.

Feb 18, 2008 | Computers & Internet

Not finding what you are looking for?
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition Logo

483 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Microsoft Computers & Internet Experts

micky dee

Level 3 Expert

2642 Answers

Les Dickinson
Les Dickinson

Level 3 Expert

18377 Answers

Brian Sullivan
Brian Sullivan

Level 3 Expert

27725 Answers

Are you a Microsoft Computer and Internet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...