first do this
> System Settings
> Restore Default Settings
Restore the system software to its default settings. Follow the on-screen instructions to perform this operation.
After the operation has been completed, the initial setup screen will be displayed. Follow the on-screen instructions to perform initial setup of the system software.
- When you perform this operation, the system software and the information for the user who is currently logged in will be restored to the default settings. Be careful when performing this operation as changes to the settings cannot be undone. Data loss or corruption is the responsibility of the user.
- When multiple users exist on the PS3™ system, the information that is managed by users other than the user who is currently logged in will not be restored. Information that may be managed by other users and cannot be restored include the following:
- - Sign-in ID and password for PlayStation®Network
- - Bookmarks, history and settings added under (Internet Browser)
- - Information about the image set as wallpaper under (Photo)
- - Terms added using (Settings) > (System Settings) > [Add/Edit Term], or predictive terms "learned" by the on-screen keyboard
- - Keyboard or mouse settings under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings)
- - Voice changer settings under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings) > [Voice Changer]
- - Theme, color, background and font settings under (Settings) > (Theme Settings)
- Do not turn off the PS3™ system during this operation. If the operation is cancelled before completion, the system software may become damaged, and the system may require servicing or exchange.
- During this operation, the power button on the system front and the PS button on the wireless controller are not active.
- You cannot use this feature to go back to an earlier version of the system software.
if this nor work you have to hard reset but take all backup first inexternal hdd or pen drive.
Hard Reset procedure for the PS3 (as instructed by Sony CS).
Be sure to backup your settings/games saves by doing a System > Backup on your PS3 or you may lose your game saves! Also, this is a last resort procedure prior to exchanging/returning to sony.
1. Power Off the PS3 via the power switch in back and power back on w/switch.
2. Hold Power Button on the Front until you hear 3 beeps.
3. Then go through the initial setup and then run a full Format
via System > Format. (will take approx 3 1/1 hours). You may need to have our AV cables ready if your using HDMI (in case HDMI isn’t detected after initial reset).
4. Restore your backup you made prior to doing factory/hard reset (optional, if you created a backup).
Hopefully this will solve your problems.