You probably have the burst on. I have done this lots of times. before you get ready to take your shot, push the delete button until the multi-burst icon goes away. this will be represented by what looks like stacked boxes followed by either an H, an L, or a sideways 8 (or infinity symbol). that should solve your taking 2 pictures at once thing.
Your FZ7 is taking two photos at once because the image compression is set to TIFF, which is uncompressed. The camera then shoots a JPEG so you can view the photo on the LCD screen. Change this setting according to the user-manual. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Please write a user-revview on your DMC-FZ7 here: http://www.photographyreview.com/mfr/panasonic/6-to-7-megapixel/RVF_348252_5648crx.aspx
- If you need clarification, ask it in the comment box above.
- Better answers use proper spelling and grammar.
- Provide details, support with references or personal experience.
Tell us some more! Your answer needs to include more details to help people.You can't post answers that contain an email address.Please enter a valid email address.The email address entered is already associated to an account.Login to postPlease use English characters only.
Tip: The max point reward for answering a question is 15.
Hello there. Memory cards
have a memory, but not the way you are worried about. The cards can be
used over and over again and store the pictures that the camera is
taking as it takes them but if you delete the pictures from the
camera's delete button, the memory card
will be clean and ready to take new pictures and as someone suggested,
you can go into the menu of the camera and use the "select the FORMAT
your card option" which will wipe out all picture information and leave
the memory card clean and ready to record new pictures again. Old
pictures are history, never to be seen by other human eyes. :)
You and a few million others all delete their pictures from the memory card when you should be formatting. Formatting cleans the memory card surface of all data and makes it ready to accept new image/data. You said that the card used to hold over 100 + well it will again if you format. By deleting the picture not all of the information data is erased it leaves what I call a residue not much but still enough that over time it begins to take usable space for picture data. Then as you are finding out the life is shortened, well not life but available storage space. Here is a diagram of the format sequence cause you can see it and read it better then I can type it.
Format D2H memory
Have fun with that, if it were me I'd run 'er through a couple of times Cheers chat later
after formatting the memory is deleted for good and there is no way to get them back ..If they were in a SD card ..you may try with a recovery software ..but almost never they get recovered after formatting ...when you just delete them there are chances for some of them to let a trace ..but when you format a memory unit you practically delete and rearrange the memory unit size again ..(alocation ) ..and there can not be anything left ..
Connect you camera to the computer using the USB cable. It will be shown as a removable drive(If the autorun is enabled windows should list the option to transfer pictures.Choose this option if it does so). Open the drive and and transfer the pictures to your computer.
The camera lacks internal RAM or space on the card to do enough caching to delete the pictures. If you were to not exceed about 60% capacity of the card the camera may be able to delete as much as you want on the card. You have to try this.
If the camera has a format option for its memory card you can try it out to see if this will clean up the card.
The other solution is to have a PC computer. Most of these devices are designed only for PC interface.
The videos will not be in the same folder where your pictures are.
Follow these steps.
1.First, connect your digital camera to your computer. You can do this in two different ways:
a.Use a USB cable. Most digital cameras come with a cable that connects the camera to a USB (Universal Serial Bus) port on your computer. The first time you connect your camera to your computer, the New Hardware Wizard will help you install the software needed to copy pictures and video from your camera. You may need to insert the CD-ROM that was included with your camera into your computer's CD drive or download software from your camera manufacturer's Web site.
b.Use memory card reader. A memory card reader is a piece of hardware that plugs into your computer. When you're ready to download video, you can remove the memory card from your camera and insert it into your memory card reader, similar to the way you might transfer a file between two computers using a floppy disk.
Picture of a computer with a memory card
Tip: It's usually faster to use a memory card reader to copy your pictures or video than to connect your camera to your computer with a cable. If you don't own a memory card reader, you might want to consider purchasing one. They are inexpensive and will save you time.
2.Once you've connected your camera to your computer or inserted your memory card into your memory card reader, Windows XP will detect the connection to your memory card and ask what to do with your videos. Click Open folder to view files, and then click OK.
Click Open folder to view files, and then click OK
3.Windows Explorer opens, showing your memory card. Your videos are contained within one of the subfolders of the memory card. Double-click each folder to locate your videos.
4.Once located. copy them to your computer and then select all and delete.
Please rate my solution.
You may refer to this digital camera picture recovery solution that helped me before. You may also take a look at this camera file recovery blog which contains information for how to recover deleted files from digital camera.
Once you took pictures without a memory card, all pictures taken will automatically be saved on the INTERNAL MEMORY of the camera.
When taking pictures with a memory card, all pictures are just saved on the memory card itself.
If you are seeing 100-757 on the LCD screen. It means that there are already 757 pictures taken from the first time you've used the camera.
It is possible that some of the pictures are in the internal memory and some are in the memory card.
STEPS to DOUBLE CHECK:
1) Remove memory card out of the camera - Turn on camera - View pictures on the internal memory by just pressing on the PLAY mode button
(lowest of the 3 little buttons) - Pictures seen are just the ones saved on the internal memory
2) Return memory card back in the camera - Turn on camera - View pictures on the internal memory by just pressing on the PLAY mode button (
lowest of the 3 little buttons) - Pictures seen are just the ones saved on the memory card itself
*** If you want to transfer pictures on the internal memory of the camera to your MEMORY CARD, you just have to follow the steps below:
- Make sure there is a memory card inside the camera - Turn on camera - Press on PLAY mode button to view pictures - Press MENU/OK button - Keep scrolling to the right until you see COPY TO CARD - Select YES using the arrow keys - Press MENU/OK to confirm * When you've done these steps, all pictures from the INTERNAL MEMORY of the camera will be copied to your MEMORY CARD but it depends on the space left on your memory card
** If still, you could not view the pictures, it's possible that the pictures are really gone when you have transferred the previous pictures to your computer.
** Once you have transferred pictures to your PC, and you have deleted those on your camera, the FILE NAME of the pictures will not start from 100-001 again unless you have reset the file name on the settings of your camera.
In example, i already have 256 pictures on my camera so the filename reads 100-256 for the last picture taken. And then i decided to transfer those 256 pictures to my PC and i deleted those immediately after being transferred. So, as i took another picture, FILENAME will start with 100-257 if i have not reset the FILE NAME settings to 100-001.