Question about Canon PowerShot S500 IXUS 500 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Purple tinted on preview window?

When I now look at my preview screen on my camera, at least the top fifth of the screen is tinted purple, and when I push down the shutter button, 4/5ths of the window becomes tinted purple. When I look at the photos on the camera, it appears there is some purple tint on the very top edge, but otherwise doesn't seem noticable.

Does anyone know what may be wrong with my camera?

Posted by on

  • 6 more comments 
  • Anonymous Aug 21, 2008

    Having a similar problem, reddish tint bar in the top of the frame. 

  • pbr2 Aug 21, 2008

    I have the same problems for one month now ....

  • hgs0 Sep 14, 2008

    Thin purple fringe on top of frame.

  • Anonymous Oct 02, 2008

    Exact same problem started a few months ago with mine.  Help!

  • Anonymous Oct 07, 2008

    Yes I have the same problem and the lcd viewer looks unclean when I want to get a shot, with the black shade line in the middle

  • mickeo Jan 03, 2009

    Same problem for me, started this autumn.

  • 17tony Feb 09, 2009

    I have a pink tint on the preview screen
    What is Canon UK's email address?

  • Anonymous Mar 06, 2009

    Thin purple tint 2mm wide on left side of preview

×

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Canon fixed it without charge (outside the warranty). It's a well-known CCD malfunction that occurs mostly if the camera is used in hot or humid climate. Canon tech support was very helpful (by email) and even paid postage both ways.

Posted on Oct 03, 2008

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

May be diaphragm malfunction

optical unit

canon recommand optical unit change but that way need too much money.

fix it!! your self!!







Posted on Oct 03, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Just recently my camera screen is a purpule colour


This sounds like it might be a defective CCD imager. If your camera is a Canon, Canon might fix this for you for free, including free shipping both ways. This is regardless of your camera's warranty status. Please see this link for more info.
Applicable cameras include:
A40, A60, A70, A75, A80, A85, A95, A300, A310, S1 IS, S60, S200, S230, S330, S400, S410, S500, SD100, SD110, IXUS V2/300/400/430/500, IXY Digital 200a/300a/400/450/500

Jul 17, 2009 | Digital Cameras

1 Answer

Display first would flicker with a purple tint. Now completely black. The purple tint also shows up on movie files. Cant take pictures at all now.


This sounds like it might be a defective CCD imager. If so, Canon should fix this for you for free, including free shipping both ways. This is regardless of your camera's warranty status. Please check the following two links for more info:
 
http://camerarepair.blogspot.com/2007/11/canon-digital-cameras-showing-black.html
 
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=PgComSmModDisplayAct&fcategoryid=225&modelid=13390&keycode=2112&id=29819

Applicable cameras include:
A40, A60, A70, A75, A80, A85, A95, A300, A310, S1 IS, S60, S200, S230, S330, S400, S410, S500, SD100, SD110, IXUS V2/300/400/430/500, IXY Digital 200a/300a/400/450/500

Jun 23, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A75 Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD screen purple and distorted in Shooting mode


There is recall on this model for this problem, Go to Canon USA web site, Look up Service advisory, CCD malfunction N/C to repair.

Feb 24, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A80 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Purple LCD screen


The CCD seems to be the problem .... if you are good at disassembling electronic products open the camera .... remove the ccd blow out any dust using a soft hand blowing brush..... and refit the CCD properly and securely ... it shud solve the problem ...

Oct 12, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A5 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Kodak m753


to remove the purple tint on your LCD screen, all you need to do is:

1. Turn the camera off.
2. Take out the batteries and wait about 10 seconds.
3. Replace the batteries with new or freshly charged batteries.
4. Remove the memory card from the camera.
5. Turn the camera back on.

If the issue is not resolved, send cam for repair. Kodak cameras have 1 year warranty

Aug 06, 2008 | Kodak Easyshare M753 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Polaroid i733, purple picture


I got this camera or christmas .Worked good for awhile. Screen went purple and now its not working.

Apr 03, 2008 | Polaroid i733LP Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD show purple or violet cast on white areas when using auto mode


Have you tried viewing the photos on a computer or printing them? There should also be parts of the menu/setting displays that would be white. The text on the image info should be in white.
If you are getting white, it would suggest your whitebalance isn't set correctly. If everything has a purple tint to it, check your LCD display settings, otherwise it may be the screen is failing.

Dec 31, 2007 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

1 Answer

Purple Screen


Your CCD imager is broken...

Aug 31, 2007 | Fuji FinePix F470 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Purple Tint Sky


auto white balance should work OK. I was thinking maybe you had accidentally switched it to the Fixed setting. Hmm. You said you were using Normal and Landscape modes. Just to see how it works, I would suggest switching from Program mode to Full Auto. See if that fixes your purple skies. I don't know why it would, but it is something to try

Sep 13, 2005 | Epson PhotoPC 3000Z Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot S500 IXUS 500 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

353 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Digital Cameras Experts

Doberman

Level 2 Expert

246 Answers

Tony

Level 3 Expert

2598 Answers

halotheracer
halotheracer

Level 2 Expert

68 Answers

Are you a Canon Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...