Question about Computers & Internet

2 Answers

Online scan found the following inspection on my computer. Please explain what this infection is and how to get rid of it. Thanks. Found 1 infected file! ------------------------------ C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtm32.exe --> Trojan.Generic.KD.163024 --> HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\"Intel Task Management" --> Process igfxtm32.exe (1920)

Posted by on

2 Answers

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Vice President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 100 times.

  • Master
  • 961 Answers

Usually viruses are picked up inthe download of a file and most are just a big pain in the but. They will consume your system and overwork it by making programs run constantly ie, if you receive constant pop ups, blue screens, computer is running slow, these are indications of a virus present in your system. Removal can be simple, but time consuming or, could lead to a total system crash.
http://www.malwarebytes.org/
Malwarebytes is a good for removing malware(trojans)> The free version is pretty effective. Download, click next, allow, etc., until download is finished, and it may run a quick scan immediately, allowe it to do so, then allow the necessary repairs. The quick scan doesn't hit all your files, but hits the ones most likely to be causing your immediate problem. It's not a bad tool to have. You will wither want to run a full scan now, it will take a couple of hours, or run a anti virus program now. If you don't have anti virus protection or are unhappy with your present one you can try here:
http://www.avira.com/en/avira-free-antivirus
Again you can try the free version. The free versions are usually good enough to protect the average person. Allow this download to run and finish, then allow a full scan and let it make recommended repairs. You wil want to restart your system whenever they recommend and if you haven't already done so , do so now.
Some of the viruses corrupt your registry to a point that these two still won't totally rid your system of the aggravating slowness and ocasional crash. I don't know of a free registry cleaner but I recommend:
http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner
This sysyem will clean your discs and your files and, also can be used to clean tour registry. They may have a free or trial version you can try and use without having to buy if you don't want to. In the home page you will see the cleaner and below that you will see "registry". Click on the registry tab/icon and allow that to run and make it's repairs.
Your anti virus can be set to run automatically, at a time when it won't interfere with and or cause you to have to sit through the scan in the future. You want to set it to run a full scan.

Posted on Apr 07, 2011

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Master
  • 3,799 Answers

Download & Run AVG free

Click this link and let the software do the work. You shouldn't trust an online scan, always get a reputable program for a second opinion. I install this software on all my repairs.

http://free.avg.com/ww-en/download-avg-anti-virus-free

Hope this eases your mind.

Posted on Apr 07, 2011

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

MY COMPUTERS IS INFECTED WITH 38 VIRUS ,I BUY YOUR PROTECTION PLAN BY I FORGAT MY PASSWORD TO INSTALL IT AND REMOVE THE VIRUS


Try the free virus scanners at avast.com and hitman.com. One will do a virus check and the other searches for malware.
Hopefully these will get rid of the problems. If you still have problems after loading and running them let me know. Thanks.

Mar 31, 2011 | Computers & Internet

2 Answers

I cannot start all my .exe files in Vista. I cannot also run my spyware. I think its the rundll32.exe virus.


Most Probably it is a virus that has infected your computer.

Please follow the steps below:
1) Restart the computer
2) Start tapping the F8 key
3) Select Safe mode from the list of options.
4) On the login screen select your Username.
5) Scan for the virus using the antivirus/antispyware.
6) Remove all the infections
7) Restart the computer.

It should work fine now.

Mar 22, 2010 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic Edition...

2 Answers

I have a major virus and am wondering if eee pccan


I personally don't recommend wiping your whole computer unless its a last ditch effort. But wiping your computer and starting with a fresh install will always get rid of any virus you previously had.

I suggest that you take a different approach and clean your computer first. If you can connect to the internet with the infected computer go to this link and download Malwarebytes' Anti-malware Here
If you cannot connect with the infected pc, use another one and download it, then copy the file to a usb thumb drive or burn it to a blank cd and transfer it to the infected computer.

*Once downloaded, close all programs and Windows on your computer.
*
follow the prompts in order to install the program. Do not make any changes to default settings. When the program has finished installing, make sure you leave both the Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware checked. Then click on the Finish button. **Note. If you cannot connect to the internet with the infected pc, make sure that the Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware box is UN-checked

*
Once the program installs, MBam should start automatically.

*
On the Scanner tab, make sure the the Perform full scan option is selected and then click on the Scan button to start scanning.

*Once the scan is finished (could take a few minutes) a box will pop up stating: "The scan completed successfully. Click 'show results' to display all objects found." Click [OK]

*Once you see the main page again, click on [show results]
*Next, click on Remove Selected button and the program will remove everything nasty its found. **Note: You may get another popup stating that Mbam needs to restart your computer to finish removing infections. Make sure you say yes or ok and allow it to restart.

*I suggest that after the first reboot you should run another complete scan just to be sure.

*A log file with actions taken by Mbam will also popup. If feel like you need more help, you can click on [file] and go to "save as.." and save it to your desktop. Then send an email to pallanmagoon@gmail.com and attach the logfile you just saved to your desktop to send to me. I will review the infections found and can tell you if you need to take further action. Its up to you.

Also, make sure you have some sort of Anti-Virus program that has a real time scanner. Malwarebytes' Pro, AVG, & Dr.Web are a few that I trust.

Hope this helps!

Feb 10, 2010 | ASUS Eee PC 900 PC Notebook

1 Answer

Everytime I try to login to myspace, I get a popup covering my page. How do I get rid of the popups?


Sounds like you may have some sort of Malware infection on your computer.

  1. Download a program called "MalwareBytes Anti-Malware"
  2. Install and run a scan with the program, remove any found infections
This will remove most malware/adware on your computer. As a precautionary measure I would also recommend running a virus scan. If you do not have an anti-virus software on your computer, I would recommend any of the following (they are all free and effective) :

If the problem still persists after both an anti-malware and anti-virus scan I would recommend taking it to a local computer repair shop for further examination. Persistent and random pop-up ad's are the first sign of a virus/malware infection. You don't want to wait till it's too late!

Oct 21, 2009 | Computers & Internet

4 Answers

My anti virus found an infected File when I connect the phone to the my PC


hi

first of all try to disable avg as avg is a scam .
after disableing the avg check that wether you are able to transfer the file on the computer or vice versa ,

if it doesnot work call techbuddies or visit the website at http://techbuddies.org
with a refrence number for TB001

May 31, 2009 | Sony Ericsson w580i Cellular Phone

1 Answer

Spy ware


It depends on the infection. My first recommendation would be to ditch Trend Micro, and get a better antimalware program (it's not very good compared to alternatives). Much better alternatives include; 1. NOD32 (or if you want the suite, NOD ESS) www.eset.com 2. Kaspersky www.kaspersky.com 3. Avira www.free-av.com 4. Avast www.avast.com 5. Malwarebytes AntiMalware www.malwarebytes.org Each of these include trials and/or free versions that you can use to get rid of the infection. I'd also recommend following it up by posting a HiJack This log to one of the many support forums available, including TeMerc Internet Countermeasures; www.temerc.com/forums To do so, please see the following instructions; http://temerc.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=18 A list of other trusted support forums can be found at; Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals http://asap.maddoktor2.com

May 27, 2008 | Gateway GT5432 Refurbished AMD Desktop...

1 Answer

Error 5 error LU1812 live update error 18 Have downloaded new version of norton 360 on sony va10 computer with windows vista and each time I try to update it does not complete because of these errors. ...


Download and run the LiveUpdate fix tool from Symantec HERE

After you run the fix tool, open Norton 360, click on the "Scans" link at the top of the window, choose "Comprehensive Scan" and then click the "Go" button This will take some time, but will thoroughly inspect your computer for infections

To address your other question regarding the LiveUpdate settings, you can change the configuration to use an HTTP proxy. To do so, please follow these steps.

1. Open the "Symantec LiveUpdate" Control Panel.

2. In the LiveUpdate Configuration window, click on the "HTTP" tab.

3. Click on the radio button that says "I want to customize my HTTP settings for LiveUpdate." Enter the information for your HTTP Proxy server, click the "Apply" button, and then click the "OK" button.

Please let me know if this process resolves the issue you are having with LiveUpdate. Also, if the scan finds any infections, please let me know what is found.

May 04, 2008 | Computers & Internet

1 Answer

Trojan horse virus problem


Hello there.

Trojan problems can be a pain, luckily you can try an online web based scanner that should hopefully identify and remove the majority of the infections found.

I would recommend installing and scanning inside Firefox if possible, but Internet Explorer works too.
Click here and click "Scan Now. It's Free!" ten "scan now". Once it loads select My Computer and it will scan the entire computer.

This may take some time but once it completes it will prompt you to remove any infections found. If you are unsure please upload the picture of the final screen, to show us.

ps: you can download Firefox from here

Hope this helps.

May 01, 2008 | Computers & Internet

Not finding what you are looking for?
Computers & Internet Logo

Related Topics:

127 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Computers & Internet Experts

Doctor PC
Doctor PC

Level 3 Expert

7733 Answers

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

David Payne
David Payne

Level 3 Expert

14161 Answers

Are you a Computer and Internet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...