Question about NAD T550 DVD Player

1 Answer

My NAD T550 will play the previews on some rental DVDs but will not play the movie. It's like it freezes up and will not even show the menu for the movie. Other rental DVDs it play the previews and the movie fine. Why does this happen on some DVDs and not others and how do I fix this?

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Top Expert:

    An expert who has finished #1 on the weekly Top 10 Fixya Experts Leaderboard.

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

  • NAD Master
  • 53,785 Answers

Some rental DVDs may be copy protected.

Posted on Feb 20, 2018

Ad

6 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE:

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad
  • 84 Answers

SOURCE: movie skips and freezes during play

CD and dvd disc cleaners will not solve the problem, a deeper and delicate cleaning procedure by cleaning the lens manually with an cotton swab is needed...
Although the quality of newer discs is to be discussed.

Posted on Dec 08, 2007

  • 5 Answers

SOURCE: My dvd player freezes when I view rental/bought movies

Is the player new? If it's a new DVD player and still under warranty, I would return it, exchange it or possibly, consider changing brands: perhaps to a Phillips brand DVD player. After all, the Phillips corporation guarantees its DVD players will play everything, just read the box in which the player's packaged - it's the best bang for your buck. With DVD players being so inexpensive these days, the best option is to buy new. Keep computing Chomskyites.

Posted on Jan 12, 2009

Xeuvious
  • 100 Answers

SOURCE: My NAD T550 cannot play DVD's with a heavily

The heavier paint is keeping the dvd from spinning at it's optimal speed. Not much you can do about it except get a new player that can handle it.

Posted on Oct 07, 2009

  • 1 Answer

SOURCE: Will not play blue ray movie 2012

i have the same problem w 2012 movie. also have samsung bluray. let me know if you figure it out.

Posted on Mar 16, 2010

  • 4090 Answers

SOURCE: player will not play movie, only previews over and

try cleaning the iris in the player with a cleaner disk

Please rate my help++++Thanks for using FIXYA

Posted on May 29, 2010

Testimonial: "didn't fix the prob but helped me learn which disc to clean with"

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Gateway laptop won't play rental dvds


Are they BLUE RAY dvd's that you are trying to play ? Your drive does not support BLUE RAY.

Jan 28, 2013 | Computers & Internet

1 Answer

How do I connect a cd player to both a tv and an audio amplifier so Ican play either Cd's or DVDs?


Does the TV have a line audio outpot (red and white jack)? If so feed the amplifier input from there.

Dec 23, 2012 | NAD C372 Amplifier

2 Answers

Help, my Sony S360 BD play says "invalid" to two


The chances of getting 2 bad rentals in a row are very slim, but not impossible. If your player plays all other DVDs fine, then my money's on the Redbox DVDs being bad, or even fake (people have been known to keep the actual movies, and return fakes to the machine).

Mar 25, 2011 | Sony BDP-S360 DVD Player

2 Answers

Philips HTS3565D dvd player, recent Paramount DVDs (Star Trek and Transformers 2) freeze during the Paramount DVD introduction at the exact same spot: as the stars are flying in toward the camera's view....


I have the same problem, though I don't recall which exact movies. They were all from Blockbuster. Sometimes they start to play and then halt at the end of track 1 and sometimes don't even make it tot he menu. The same movie will play on our portable dvd player. A Philips rep told me about 6 weeks ago it was a problem with a new security feature on some movies and to watch the website for a possible firmware upgrade to fix it. Now you can't even talk to someone at Philips so I don't know what to think. The "live chat" folks just want to tell you to take it to a repair shop - not much help there.

Mar 04, 2010 | Philips DVP5140 DVD Player

1 Answer

My NAD T550 cannot play DVD's with a heavily painted top (i.e. newer DVD's). Older DVD's (with just text written on top) works just fine. Also, burned DVD's play fine as well. What could be the problem


The heavier paint is keeping the dvd from spinning at it's optimal speed. Not much you can do about it except get a new player that can handle it.

Oct 07, 2009 | NAD T550 DVD Player

1 Answer

My dvd player freezes when I view rental/bought movies


Is the player new? If it's a new DVD player and still under warranty, I would return it, exchange it or possibly, consider changing brands: perhaps to a Phillips brand DVD player. After all, the Phillips corporation guarantees its DVD players will play everything, just read the box in which the player's packaged - it's the best bang for your buck. With DVD players being so inexpensive these days, the best option is to buy new. Keep computing Chomskyites.

Jan 12, 2009 | Sansui VRDVD4001 DVD Player/VCR

1 Answer

GO VIDEO VR2940


hello davecad,

is this on all dvds you play even none store dvd's or just the store one,s only ?

this could be a region code or laser miss reading the disc.

riz.

Aug 07, 2008 | GoVideo VR2940 DVD Recorder/VCR

1 Answer

The DVD player does not recognize disks that it used to play before.


It sounds like the DVD region (a setting in both your OS and your DVD hardware) may have been changed. DVD regions are the agreed upon method (by entertainment companies, hardware manufacturers and governments) to limit cross-border sharing of media. Most valid (read: non-pirated) DVDs have a region code. Your DVD drive will only play DVDs with a region code that matches the DVD region code set on the DVD drive.

You didn't mention your OS but if you are running Windows XP then go to Start->Control Panel->System->System->Hardward->Device Manager and find your DVD player. Right-click the DVD player and select Properties from the menu and you should see a properties dialog-box with a DVD region tab. This is where you can change the DVD region that your player will recognize. Be careful, don't play around here, most DVD players have an embedded limit on the number of times (4-or-so) the DVD region can be changed.

Hope this helps.

-Ed

Mar 31, 2007 | NAD C541 CD Player

Not finding what you are looking for?
NAD T550 DVD Player Logo

Related Topics:

70 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top NAD Televison & Video Experts

Jerry Greenberg
Jerry Greenberg

Level 3 Expert

1691 Answers

Ekse

Level 3 Expert

13434 Answers

Joaquim Martins

Level 3 Expert

1127 Answers

Are you a NAD Televison and Video Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...