Question about Canon PowerShot SD10 / IXUS I Digital Camera

3 Answers

Not working on preview

When I switch my camera onto "preview" to see the photographs taken, it doesn't work and continues to only shows the view through the lens. (It doesn't go black and say "no images" like it does when you've taken n photographs.
I've tried connecting to my PC but because you have to have it on "preview" mode when connected to the PC, it cannot see the images.
I'm so frustrated as took some gorgeous shots in Sicily which I can't retrieve. I put my card into another camera but it said there were no images on it. How can that be?
Any suggestions would be extremely helpful.
Thanks - Chrissie

Posted by on

3 Answers

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Scholar:

    An expert who has written 20 answers of more than 400 characters.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 135 Answers

Sir ,, i think there is a problem with the preiew button..
pl try to press it harder .if not u have to get it to service so that he adjusts the preview button to touch the circuit under it properly

thnking u

Posted on Jul 07, 2008

  • Harrish Mugundhan Jul 09, 2008

    Dear Customer,

    Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding your Canon product.

    In response to your query, please be advised that it appears to be a hardware problem with the camera which will require servicing.

    Please click on the link below to visit the Canon UK website where you can find details of your local Authorised Service Facility as well as other important information needed to send your Canon product for repair:

    https://self-service.canon-europe.com/uk... .

    Please note that the Canon has not produced any software for recovering lost images from the memory cards, especially since the card has been formatted.
    However, there are some third party websites you can find on Google that can probably help with the image recovery.


    Yours sincerely,

×

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Genius:

    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 2,035 Answers

Please use the card reader to transfer all the images, this will detect all kinds of images................................................


Good luck............


Posted on Jul 07, 2008

  • Anand Kumar
    Anand Kumar Jul 07, 2008

    You can use these links:


    http://www.advancecamera.com/repair/

    http://www.precisioncamera.com/


×

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Canon Master
  • 13,433 Answers

Did you save the pictures into the card and not the cameras memory?

If you plug the card into your pc with a card reader you can have a look inside and also there are file recovery programs available if the card has gotten corrupt but the pictures where saved in it so it can be saved. but if no pictures are saved into the card then tehre is noting to recover,

Posted on Jul 07, 2008

  • Ekse Jul 07, 2008

    this is the product I use in recovering images and other files

    http://www.quetek.com/prod02.htm



  • Ekse Jul 07, 2008

    you can try the trial and scan the memory card with it to see if it finds any pictures from there. I own a copy of the program so I could recover the pictures for you over remote control or you can buy the program yourself.



×

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

Picture does not appear on the monitor, I must look through the view finder to see what I,m pointing at to photograph


The D40x operates as SLRs have operated for half a century, offering you an optical viewfinder with which to frame and compose your picture. The LCD is for menus, shooting information, and reviewing.

Nikon introduced the live view feature, which allows you to hold your camera so it wobbles at arms' length, with the D3 and D300, released half a year after the D40x.

While almost all current DSLRs have this capability, it was not so common five years ago when the D40x was introduced.

Oct 04, 2012 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

Tip

How to take best pictures.


1. The best pictures can be taken with a tripod and using self timer or the remote control of the camera.

2. Some people think that the best picture can be taken with suddenly pressing the shutter. In reality it is not true. So the best pictures can only be taken with two steps. First, pressing half way and without not shaking the camera continuing on pressing the shutter. At last the camera takes picture. But a good photographer does not know the moment of taking the picture. He/She only knows and concentrates on not shaking the camera.

3. Best pictures can only be taken with an artistic point of view. Best photographers place the subjects to the most estetic point and the best estetic position.

4. Best pictures can only be taken without using the flash.

5. Best pictures can only be taken at the Golden Hour time. Golden Hour is the time period, starting with the Sun rise and ends after an hour. Second Golden Hour starts before an hour of Sun Set and ends with the Sun Set.

6. Best pictures can only be taken by a best photographer so you can never see a best photographer's portrait as a best picture.

7. Best pictures can not be taken with a most expensive camera but can be taken by a best working amateur photographer.

8. Best pictures can not be taken by professionals but can be taken by the professional amateurs.

9. Best pictures can only be taken with the camera which has a greater sensor size.

10. Best pictures can only be taken with a natural view of the objects.

on Apr 21, 2010 | Digital Cameras

2 Answers

No preview image


Hi there:
You can view pictures in the folder when connected the camera at pc monitor? but cannot take pictures or movies... the LCD stays blank?
If this answer is yes, could be a problem with the CCD image sensor, if no, your LCD display go to bad and will need replacement.

Check this interesting article about bad CCDs.

Hope this helps; also keep in mind that your feedback is important and I`ll appreciate your time and consideration if you leave some testimonial comment about this answer.

Thank you for using FixYa, have a nice day.

Feb 07, 2012 | Nikon Digital Cameras

1 Answer

Lcd screen shows settings for camera not the image of what it is


EOS 400D / Rebel XTi Digital Camera
EOS 400D/Rebel XTi doesn't have live view function, so you cannot see the picture you are taking.

Apr 04, 2009 | Canon EOS 400D / Rebel XTi Digital Camera...

1 Answer

Camera not properly reading memory card


The problem stems from deleting some of the images from the PC. You need to copy all the files onto the PC, and delete all of them from the card on the camera. Then reformat the card on the camera. Then take 1 picture on the camera.

After you have just 1 new photo on the card, try copying the older files back onto the card in the same directory as the 1 new photo. This may work.

If it doesn't work, the problem may be with missing hidden thumbnail files. In that case you may not be able to get the photos to display on the camera again.

Dec 26, 2008 | Olympus Camedia C-160 Digital Camera

1 Answer

White preview screen after pic taken


Have u tried switching the view from and eyeview(viewfinder) to LCD while viewing pictures. Sometimes we forget it and panic. Hope it helps. Good Luck.

Nov 20, 2008 | Fuji FinePix S7000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Preview mode not working and lines on the screen


canon ixus 500.
when i switch mode to playback/preview it doesnt work so i cant view pics that are taken or can i upload them to my pc.

Jun 28, 2008 | Canon PowerShot S500 IXUS 500 Digital...

1 Answer

Fuji S5000 mode switch?


That looks very much like the slector switch has slipped inside and is out of position.
That can be fixed if the actual and very tiny switchover pins are not broken.
I have repaired one switch actually with parts from a S3000.
Works ok but extremely fiddely.
Otherwise it is a replacement of the small switchover board, which sits on top of the battery compartment.
Problem being: Fuji will not sell parts to us.
Good luck
germander

Mar 10, 2008 | Fuji FinePix S5000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD Screen does not work properly


Your camera works just like a film camera SLR,. You use the eyepiece to frame and focus your picture. The LCD screen is for reviewing pictures taken or menu operations. You cannot preview a shot on screen before it is taken with the camera.

Jan 07, 2008 | Canon Rebel XT / EOS 350D Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot SD10 / IXUS I Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

54 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Digital Cameras Experts

Doberman

Level 2 Expert

246 Answers

Tony

Level 3 Expert

2598 Answers

halotheracer
halotheracer

Level 2 Expert

68 Answers

Are you a Canon Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...