Question about Webcams

1 Answer

No image when swtiched on camera have preview pane ticked? and cant take a pic, but the mic works? just down loaded update driver. please help

Posted by on

  • lordcrossy Dec 19, 2008

    yes I have the same issue. I have tried to install 2 different webcams on my computer, and both I get no image. Am using latest drivers for both. Anyone got a solution to this?

×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

No still not solved the problem and cant afford to pay for any assistance. sorry

Posted on Jul 04, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

My Logitech quickcam webcam mic is not working with windows XP SP2.It shows the Logitech Microphone(notebook) in the volume control option .I have tried with the different volume control changes for mic...


Are you using any messenger service such as skype ,yahoo,msn .....

Click start control panel administrative tools computer management device manager scroll down image devices you could see a yellow question mark? right click to reinstall drivers or update driver Make sure the microphone is using the same as your computers audio Click start control panel sounds and audio devices select advanced there might be a tick in the mute box untick also select audio from the microphone drop down list make sure you have the right one selected and in the volume box make sure the microphone box has a tick in it or select the voice tab and make sure that you have the right media selected also select volume Make sure the box for microphone has a tick in it Hope this helps.

Jan 19, 2013 | Logitech QuickCam Webcam for Notebooks

1 Answer

I just bought a compaq laptop, then downloaded skype. and my webcam doesnt work..how do i get it to work?


Skype is very particular about having the latest drivers installed so that's the first step
Check your set up

In addition to the webcam software you will need to check the support software - Microsoft DirectX . This comes pre-loaded on most Windows computers but has to be updated - I am currently on version 11
To start the DirectX Diagnostic Tool, click 'Start', click 'Run', type dxdiag in the Open box, and then click OK
Run through the tabs checking the 'notes' windows for information and faults.

The version will be shown on the 'Systems' tab

SKYPE SET UP

Connect your webcam

Test your webcam here to make sure it broadcasts ok - Hit 'Allow' in the top window and check your cam in the left hand panel.

http://www.testmycam.com/
Not working ? - troubleshoot your drivers and software - get your cam working before moving on

Working OK ?

Set your webcam mic as default ( if it has a built in mic)

Plug in the webcam

TEST SPEAKERS
Right click on speaker icon in System Tray or from Control Panel
Select "Playback Devices"
The speaker icon ( checked as working) and volume level graph should be visible
Right click on the volume graph and click "Test"
Left hand speakers followed by right hand should be heard

SET DEFAULT & TEST MIC
Click "Recording" tab.
Right click on the volume graph and select 'Show disabled devices' and 'Show disconnected devices'
To set required (webcam) mic as default - click on mic font to highlight and click "Properties"
In lower dropbox display "Use this device enable" click 'OK'
Click "Levels" tab and ramp up sliders ( adjust to suit later)
Return to "Recording". Test mic by speaking and make sure volume graph displays

Restart computer

CONFIGURE TO SKYPE
Connect webcam
Its good practice to disconnect and re-connect your webcam before you start (To reboot the webcam software) - if you have been using it elsewhere the SKYPE software may have difficulty in locating it, even if you exited the previous program correctly.
The reason being, the webcam software can remain hooked-up to a program and needs to be rebooted.
Mine, I just unplug it from the USB and plug it back in to reboot the software.
If yours is integral with the computer you will have to re-start the computer, use a keyboard shortcut or disable / enable the webcam from the Device Manager.

Start Skype.
On the 'Tools' menu, click 'Options'.
In the navigation pane of the Skype 'Options' window, click 'Audio Settings'
Run down the list setting your defaults
Select your webcam as the default microphone.
Make a free test call
Click 'Save'
In the navigation pane of the Skype Options window, click Video Settings.
This will launch your webcam
Adjust quality of picture in 'Settings'
Check the correct webcam is shown as default
Click Save
Test your webcam by making a Skype test call.
For more information about how to configure Skype Messenger, please visit the following Skype Web site:
http://support.skype.com (http://support.skype.com)

Before opening Skype disconnect your webcam for a couple of seconds - if its inbuilt restart your computer or disable / enable it from the Imaging folder in the device manager and do not open your cam for a preview but wait and let the Skype software take full control when you start a video chat.

Sep 10, 2010 | Compaq Webcams

1 Answer

When using Skype (4.2.0.169) on Windows (XP, SP3), my camera (Logitech E2500) turns off after a few minutes. The other person sees my image "frozen" at the time the camera shut off. If I try to turn the...


Skype is very picky about having the latest drivers and you also need to see if your support software ( not downloaded with the Logitech software ) is up to date and functioning OK

Visit the Logitech website and browse the photo gallery for your model and click on the photo to navigate to the support page.
Note - Older models on page 2 - look for the link at the bottom right of page 1 and click on it "Still can't find your product?"

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/405/&cl=us,en?prodcrid=405

In addition to the Logitech installer you will need to check the support software - Microsoft DirectX . This comes pre-loaded on most Windows computers but has to be updated - I am currently on version 11
To start the DirectX Diagnostic Tool, click 'Start', click 'Run', type dxdiag in the Open box, and then click OK
Run through the tabs checking the 'notes' windows for information
The version will be shown on the 'Systems' tab

Procedure to re-install Logitech software
Close all programs while uninstalling - downloading and uploading software
Disconnect your webcam
Uninstall the current webcam software on your computer
Restart computer
Download the Installation package from Logitech
Run the installer and choose your options during the installation - You may not want Logitech Chat but the Desktop icon for the webcam toolbar is a must.
Connect your webcam when prompted.

Test your webcam here to make sure it broadcasts ok - Hit 'Allow' in the top window and check your cam in the left hand panel.

http://www.testmycam.com/
Not working ? - troubleshoot your drivers and software - get your cam working before moving on

Working OK ?

Set your webcam mic as default ( if it has a built in mic

Plug in the webcam

TEST SPEAKERS
Right click on speaker icon in System Tray or from Control Panel
Select "Playback Devices"
The speaker icon ( checked as working) and volume level graph should be visible
Right click on the volume graph and click "Test"
Left hand speakers followed by right hand should be heard

SET DEFAULT & TEST MIC
Click "Recording" tab.
Right click on the volume graph and select 'Show disabled devices' and 'Show disconnected devices'
To set required (webcam) mic as default - click on mic font to highlight and click "Properties"
In lower dropbox display "Use this device enable" click 'OK'
Click "Levels" tab and ramp up sliders ( adjust to suit later)
Return to "Recording". Test mic by speaking and make sure volume graph displays

Restart computer

CONFIGURE TO SKYPE
Connect webcam
Its good practice to disconnect and re-connect your webcam before you start (To reboot the webcam software) - if you have been using it elsewhere the SKYPE software may have difficulty in locating it, even if you exited the previous program correctly.
The reason being, the webcam software can remain hooked-up to a program and needs to be rebooted.
Mine, I just unplug it from the USB and plug it back in to reboot the software.
If yours is integral with the computer you will have to re-start the computer, use a keyboard shortcut or disable / enable the webcam from the Device Manager.

Start Skype.
On the 'Tools' menu, click 'Options'.
In the navigation pane of the Skype 'Options' window, click 'Audio Settings'
Run down the list setting your defaults
Select your webcam as the default microphone.
Make a free test call
Click 'Save'
In the navigation pane of the Skype Options window, click Video Settings.
This will launch your webcam
Adjust quality of picture in 'Settings'
Check the correct webcam is shown as default
Click Save
Test your webcam by making a Skype test call.
For more information about how to configure Skype Messenger, please visit the following Skype Web site:
http://support.skype.com (http://support.skype.com)

Just prior to using Skype reboot the webcam software by unplugging it for a few seconds and do not run your logitech software for a preview, but allow Skype total control

Sep 05, 2010 | Logitech Webcams

1 Answer

No audio (can't hear and can't be heard)


Is ther ea built in microphone on camera if so, down at the time double click the sound icon, goto options then properties then recording, in the drop down menu pic usb device or what ever looks liekthe camera. and press ok. goto options again and if it has addvance higlighted click it and then turn up mic and click advance button and give it some mic boost.

also goto cotrol . start settings control panel. goto sound and audio devices, click the audio tab and make sure this camera is selected as your recording device. press apply then ok and try again. hope this helps in some way

Dec 03, 2009 | HP USB Web Camera

1 Answer

I have a usb pc camera "quantum qhm500lm". after i have installed the driver successfully but when i try to preview it it shows blank white screen. what should i do?


Have you tried different programs to view the webcam image?
Try SplitCam to see if that works.
You might need to reinstall or update DirectX.

Other webcam troubleshooting ideas.

Oct 20, 2009 | QPS QSIPBL2 Network Camera

1 Answer

Camera is not working when on Skype but sound is?


There maybe a patch available with a later driver
Go to Device Manager, Expand 'Imaging' folder and right click on your webcam text. 'Update driver' and use internet option.

Check your webcam is set to default in Skype
  • Start Skype.
  • On the Tools menu, click Options.
  • In the navigation pane of the Skype Options window, click Audio Settings.
  • Select your logitech device as the default microphone. For example, select Logitech + model#.( if it has mic )
  • In the navigation pane of the Skype Options window, click Video Settings.
  • Select your Logitech device as the default Webcam. For example, select Logitech + model #
  • Click Save.

  • Failing that check if you have the latest version of Skype



    Aug 24, 2009 | Logitech Webcam

    1 Answer

    Cant hear enything when i am speakin with friend on the mic


    Unplug the camera, remove all the Logitech camera AND Logitech camera drivers via Control Panel/ Remove Applications, then reboot. After re-boot, plug in the camera, Windows will identify it as a USB Camera / Mic and it will work in all applications including Skype. You will not have access to the Logitech menus but the camera and Mic WILL WORK in all your communications needs. After a number of instances where I lost my Mic input, I finally gave up on the Logitech software since they are incapable of finding the Windows Update driver that conflicts with their own driver. Although mine is currently working fine as a Windows recognized "USB Camera Mic", the next Webcam I get will NOT be Logitech. It's a great Webcam but since they are clearly incapable of keeping their software compatible with Windows updates, I'll switch to another make. Hope this helps.
    JamesTBaines@BTopenworld.com

    Mar 08, 2009 | Logitech Quickcam Chat Webcam

    2 Answers

    I have a Mikomi DC-7130 Webcam with Mic but cannot get any sound when I play back recordings. after re-loading the software twice I now find I cannot play the recorded video back with sound. I am now...


    Click the 'Devices' menu and you should see a tick next to the Webcam name (USB 2.0 UVC Camera).

    Underneath this should be the same name (USB 2.0 UVC Camera), select it and a tick will appear next to it.

    This means that you are using the webcam as the mic for your video/webcam (instead of a seperate microphone).


    Now click on the 'Capture' menu and the option 'Capture audio' will be available (previously it was greyed out)

    Tick this/select it and your webcam will pick up the audio.

    I hope this helps.

    Also, if anyone finds the image a bit blurry, it can be sharpened bv rotating the webam lens.

    Dec 08, 2008 | Webcams

    1 Answer

    Not receiving on other end


    YOU NEED TO USE THE MESSANGER CAM/MIC SETUP ON THE MESSANGER SO I WILL RECOGNIZE CAM OR MIC.IF STILL NOT WORKING..UNPLUG THE CAM AND LOOK IN DEVICE MANAGER.FIND YOUR CAM AND UNINSTALL THE DRIVERS.REBOOT.DOWNLOAD NEW DRIVERS FROM WEBSITE FOR CAM.MAKING SURE ITS THE RIGHT MAKE AND MODEL AND ITS THE DRIVERS FOR YOUR OS.THEN REBOOT.PLUG CAMERA BACK IN.SYSTEM WILL DETECT IT AND LOAD THE DRIVERS.HOPE THIS HELPS.RICHARDM69

    Nov 15, 2008 | Logitech Webcam

    3 Answers

    Audio on logitech quickcam notebook webcam not working


    go into your settings,look for sound and audio devices?go into the audio file,and look for default device and look for your sound card which should be in the column,all 3 should read the same,if not just schroll down and find them,go into advance and put all the settings to full,then go into volume and advance,right click on options,then go into properties and look for mic volume and tick it,and if you then go into your msn,there should be a program thats tests your mic for you.ok?

    Jan 22, 2008 | Logitech QuickCam Express Web Camera

    Not finding what you are looking for?
    Webcams Logo

    Related Topics:

    29 people viewed this question

    Ask a Question

    Usually answered in minutes!

    Top Webcams Experts

    micky dee

    Level 3 Expert

    2630 Answers

    Les Dickinson
    Les Dickinson

    Level 3 Expert

    18299 Answers

    Donald DCruz
    Donald DCruz

    Level 3 Expert

    17129 Answers

    Are you a Webcam Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

    Answer questions

    Manuals & User Guides

    Loading...