Question about Canon PowerShot S500 IXUS 500 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Preview mode not working and lines on the screen

Hi,

In the past couple months, my canon s500 has been having trouble in previewing the pictures that I took. It would take couple minutes after I switch the button to the preview mode for it to preview. Sometimes it wouldn't stay in preview mode, instead it goes back to picture taking mode.
And then, sometimes the screen would be showing lines (just like when you're watching a video with bad transmission).

Do you have any idea?
Thanks

Caroline

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Canon ixus 500.
when i switch mode to playback/preview it doesnt work so i cant view pics that are taken or can i upload them to my pc.

Posted on Aug 10, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I hit something on my camera that each time I take a picture, the preview is a tiny picture in the upper left screen and there are yellow outlines around areas of the picture and in the lower right corner,...


when you are in the playback mode, you can use the zoom function (as you use it when you take a picture), this will zoom into the image you took.

the yellow frame show you where you are in the full image.

Oct 18, 2010 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Pic screen is fuzzy tried cleaning the lense still not clear


This may help you, try using the Preview feature on the LCD screen.
The LCD screen Preview feature was not used to take a picture in Close-Up mode. Always use the Preview feature in Close-Up mode to confirm focus and to frame the subject properly. If the Preview feature is not used, the LCD will not display an accurate view of the subject.

Apr 04, 2010 | Kodak Easyshare CD82 Digital Camera

1 Answer

No image display on camera mode


There are different settings. You can view the past photos because you are using the viewer for that, but you have a setting off in the menu. You need to turn on view photo or preview photo after picture taken. I am not sure what it is in the Canon line, but look in your manual for the setting.

Jul 13, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A460 Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD screen purple and distorted in Shooting mode


There is recall on this model for this problem, Go to Canon USA web site, Look up Service advisory, CCD malfunction N/C to repair.

Feb 24, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A80 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon S400 Pictures are over-exposed with horizontal lines-LCD ok


For both of you, this sounds like it might be a defective CCD imager. If so, Canon should fix this for you for free, including free shipping both ways. This is regardless of your camera's warranty status. Please check the following two links for more info:

http://camerarepair.blogspot.com/2007/11/canon-digital-cameras-showing-black.html

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=PgComSmModDisplayAct&fcategoryid=225&modelid=13390&keycode=2112&id=29819

Applicable cameras include:
A40, A60, A70, A75, A80, A85, A95, A300, A310, S1 IS, S60, S200, S230, S330, S400, S410, S500, SD100, SD110, IXUS V2/300/400/430/500, IXY Digital 200a/300a/400/450/500

Dec 27, 2008 | Canon PowerShot S400 / IXUS 400 Digital...

1 Answer

A630 clicks and wont take picture. Stays in preview mode.


Do you mean you are expecting it to show the photo that you just took for a few seconds before it goes back to preview mode? There's a menu setting which I think is called "Picture Review" and you can set it for something like 0, 2 seconds, 5 seconds, something like that.

I hope that was it.

-Vince

Oct 01, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A630 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Cannon s 500 Picture with Just lines


Hi,
This is a known issue with Canon, it's mentioned on their support pages, FAQ ID: 37383. Horizontal lines appear in the preview picture once the photo is taken. I have a Canon Ixus 500 and I rang Canon UK and they gave me a case number and list of authorised dealers via email for a free repair.
Hope this helps
Ketan Vadgama
k_vadgama2@hotmail.com

Jul 23, 2008 | Canon PowerShot S500 IXUS 500 Digital...

1 Answer

Black screen, not capturing photos


have the same problem...
it happened about a month ago and i pressed the display button and it worked, but now that doesn't work either!

Jul 22, 2008 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Fogging Picture


try to use the zoom function during picture preview and you will see the horizontal bands. Time to change to a new CCD i guess..or maybe a new camera :-)

Mar 10, 2008 | Casio Exilim EX-S500 Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD screen won't show preview except in C mode


Well, after a little more googling, I'm embarrassed to say I've found the solution. I must have somehow pressed the display button which turned the preview display off. I tried pressing all of the buttons before I made my previous post, but apparently i didn't press it. :(

Oct 11, 2007 | Canon PowerShot A630 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot S500 IXUS 500 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

359 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Digital Cameras Experts

Doberman

Level 2 Expert

246 Answers

Tony

Level 3 Expert

2598 Answers

halotheracer
halotheracer

Level 2 Expert

68 Answers

Are you a Canon Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...