Question about MTX RTP212 Car Subwoofer

1 Answer

I need an honest opinion before i make a final decision .

\http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=380029843704&_trksid=p2759.l1259
I AM AT THE CRUX OF MAKING A FINAL DECISION ON BUYING THIS ITEM . PLEASE ADVISE.

Posted by on

  • kingskord Jun 13, 2008

    ok .. thank for the response first of all.. i am looking for some power and bass..
    i am hooking the amp and speaker to my 99 passat. question.. do you thing MTX is a pretty honest brand when it comes to whats being advertising.. both new . . .

    Will this give me the bass and bang i am looking for ?

    Enclosure and Sub
    Features:


    Power Handling: 1200 Watts Per Pair

    Power Handling: 600 Watts Each

    Polypropylene Cones

    Double Row Stitching for Added Durability

    1.5” 4 Ohm Voice Coil

    35 Oz. Magnet

    Nickel Plated Compression Terminals

    Insulated Tinsel Leads

    Enclosure Dimensions: 14.25” x 30.25” x 18” (H x W x D)
    (7.875” D Top)

    Amp Features:

    600 Watts Power Output

    Frequency Response (-3dB) <20Hz to >85Hz

    Low Pass 18dB/Octave Crossover @ 85Hz

    Thunder EQ for Bass Boost of 0, 6, or 12dB

    High Level Input with Smart Engage™ Auto Turn-on

    Low Level Input

    Maximum Input Signal: 2.5 V

    Maximum Sensitivity: 200 mV

    Mono Gain Control: (200mV-2.5V) Input Sensitivity



×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Scholar:

    An expert who has written 20 answers of more than 400 characters.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 71 Answers

What advice do you require ? please be more specific, such as everything you are going to hook up to the amp and specs.
What do you hope to achieve ? Is it new or used?
If all you want is advice whether to purchase this amp, that's a little subjective.
Regards, Paul

Posted on Jun 13, 2008

  • Paul Hering
    Paul Hering Jun 13, 2008

    Wow , king
    Very thorough, I'm impressed.
    My best deep sea fishing buddy is the Eastern Regional Manager for MTX, I'll give him a call and let you know, about the amp.
    He might be a little biased.
    The specs sound good . but remember their are no FTC regulations governing Car audio. Most of it comes from the Marketing Dept.

    I assume you are going to run the subs in parallel and bridge the amp. That will be 2 ohms Most people look at The THD rating, but.. you can't hear any below 5% and we actually like some, ergo; tube amps for high end, it adds warmth
    As long as you don't run the amp at it's lowest impedance rating it should sound better, run cooler and last longer. I'll make a point and let you know that very few company make their own amps. the features that you are looking for is the power supply. Regulated at the bottom voltage and wide open at the top... and the output transistors.( MOSFETS) They don't really show up in the specs unless you check the the slew rate at a given impedance.( higher is better)
    The Speaker enclosure is very critical, your options are in a descending order of power handling and lowest freq. response ... Sealed ( smallest) highest power handling. Ported ( my favorite and best all around choice.) Medium sized. And bandpass (Huge) I realize that the vehicle makes your choice for you in most instances. Hatchbacks sound the best, but their are safety concerns as far as strapping it down, as in a accident it becomes a very lethal projectile. I can't emphasize enough about the wiring and installation. Buy a kit and the biggest wire you can afford, Use a distribution block, and Remember...current flows from negative to positive , so the ground is just as, if not more important than the power wire. I'll get into the box construction and how to improve what you have at a later date. I'll finish this letter with my best advice. If you can't afford what you really want . Wait... save a little more and get the real deal, after all you have to live with it.
    Later and Regards, Paul



×

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

How many solenoids are on the 4L60E transmission?


4-- check eBay or online,any transmission shop,etc

GOOGLE -- 4L60E solenoids

heres' one eBay auction

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280543850641&crlp=1_263602_263622&ff4=263602_263622&viewitem=&guid=5064574f12b0a0266212ae92ffbf3345&rvr_id=147491546933&ua=WXF%3F&itemid=280543850641

Sep 30, 2010 | 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

1 Answer

I need a JVC KD-S550 wiring diagram for a 95 Saturn SC2


You do not need a wiring diagram....just go here and buy this harness, or purchase one at an electronics store. You will probably want to purchase an antenna extension adapter cable as well...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230398679871&crlp=1_263602_263622&ff4=263602_263622&viewitem=&guid=91c6dec71250a0aad5b65db6fc08aeec&rvr_id=&ua=WXF%3F&itemid=230398679871

Dec 14, 2009 | JVC KD-S550 CD Player

1 Answer

Need a bmw 745i 2004 Owner Manual I bought a 745i 2004 without the owners manual does anyone have a copy that they can sell. thanks


I t may help you, I found this store on ebay, there are pretty cheap books, I bought mine from this guy, check it out:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180490869526&viewitem=&sspagename=STRK%3AMESELX%3AIT

if the link doesn't work just try item number 180490869526

Nov 15, 2009 | 2004 BMW 7 Series

1 Answer

Lost charger


You can find a replacement charger according to the brand and model of your camera. There are very cheap ones at ebay:

For panasonic, casio, fuji:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170273031907
For Nikon:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170273038267
For Olympus:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180300641339

Or if you have another brand you can search ebay for your brand.

Hope it helps!

Jul 17, 2008 | Gateway DC-T50 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
MTX RTP212 Car Subwoofer Logo

Related Topics:

220 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top MTX Car Audio & Video Experts

Professor_V
Professor_V

Level 2 Expert

92 Answers

Matthew Spark
Matthew Spark

Level 3 Expert

1066 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

70347 Answers

Are you a MTX Car Audio and Video Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...