Question about MTX RTP212 Car Subwoofer

1 Answer

I need an honest opinion before i make a final decision .

\http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=380029843704&_trksid=p2759.l1259
I AM AT THE CRUX OF MAKING A FINAL DECISION ON BUYING THIS ITEM . PLEASE ADVISE.

Posted by on

  • kingskord Jun 13, 2008

    ok .. thank for the response first of all.. i am looking for some power and bass..
    i am hooking the amp and speaker to my 99 passat. question.. do you thing MTX is a pretty honest brand when it comes to whats being advertising.. both new . . .

    Will this give me the bass and bang i am looking for ?

    Enclosure and Sub
    Features:


    Power Handling: 1200 Watts Per Pair

    Power Handling: 600 Watts Each

    Polypropylene Cones

    Double Row Stitching for Added Durability

    1.5” 4 Ohm Voice Coil

    35 Oz. Magnet

    Nickel Plated Compression Terminals

    Insulated Tinsel Leads

    Enclosure Dimensions: 14.25” x 30.25” x 18” (H x W x D)
    (7.875” D Top)

    Amp Features:

    600 Watts Power Output

    Frequency Response (-3dB) <20Hz to >85Hz

    Low Pass 18dB/Octave Crossover @ 85Hz

    Thunder EQ for Bass Boost of 0, 6, or 12dB

    High Level Input with Smart Engage™ Auto Turn-on

    Low Level Input

    Maximum Input Signal: 2.5 V

    Maximum Sensitivity: 200 mV

    Mono Gain Control: (200mV-2.5V) Input Sensitivity



×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Scholar:

    An expert who has written 20 answers of more than 400 characters.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 71 Answers

What advice do you require ? please be more specific, such as everything you are going to hook up to the amp and specs.
What do you hope to achieve ? Is it new or used?
If all you want is advice whether to purchase this amp, that's a little subjective.
Regards, Paul

Posted on Jun 13, 2008

  • Paul Hering
    Paul Hering Jun 13, 2008

    Wow , king
    Very thorough, I'm impressed.
    My best deep sea fishing buddy is the Eastern Regional Manager for MTX, I'll give him a call and let you know, about the amp.
    He might be a little biased.
    The specs sound good . but remember their are no FTC regulations governing Car audio. Most of it comes from the Marketing Dept.

    I assume you are going to run the subs in parallel and bridge the amp. That will be 2 ohms Most people look at The THD rating, but.. you can't hear any below 5% and we actually like some, ergo; tube amps for high end, it adds warmth
    As long as you don't run the amp at it's lowest impedance rating it should sound better, run cooler and last longer. I'll make a point and let you know that very few company make their own amps. the features that you are looking for is the power supply. Regulated at the bottom voltage and wide open at the top... and the output transistors.( MOSFETS) They don't really show up in the specs unless you check the the slew rate at a given impedance.( higher is better)
    The Speaker enclosure is very critical, your options are in a descending order of power handling and lowest freq. response ... Sealed ( smallest) highest power handling. Ported ( my favorite and best all around choice.) Medium sized. And bandpass (Huge) I realize that the vehicle makes your choice for you in most instances. Hatchbacks sound the best, but their are safety concerns as far as strapping it down, as in a accident it becomes a very lethal projectile. I can't emphasize enough about the wiring and installation. Buy a kit and the biggest wire you can afford, Use a distribution block, and Remember...current flows from negative to positive , so the ground is just as, if not more important than the power wire. I'll get into the box construction and how to improve what you have at a later date. I'll finish this letter with my best advice. If you can't afford what you really want . Wait... save a little more and get the real deal, after all you have to live with it.
    Later and Regards, Paul



×

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I am 37 years with 3 kids my partner is 44 years old were not married because his first marraige did not annualled yet. my problem is my partner is not honest with me. he made decision of his on without...


I think this is in the wrong section but here it goes.

If you guys are always arguing, he doesn't respect you, making wrong decisions then you need to either tell your partner that you are fed up with his treatment of you and that you need to move on with your life or you come to conclusion that that is who he is and you go with life knowing that you aren't going to change him. Life is hard but to have someone who you love don't treat you the way you should be treated then it makes life just that much harder. You don't need that, heck no one needs that. I hope that you find your ways to happiness!

Sep 23, 2010 | Car Audio & Video

1 Answer

I cannot get my Pioneer DEH-1000 out of my car. How does it come out?


look on the either side of the front face panel for a horizontal slot on on either side .. bout 6 or 7 mm long. IF they are there then it is a cradle mount job,most are (mount cradle and slide in deck,) It will require PIONEER STEREO KEYS. google it and see if you can find a picture and make your own or go see an audio installer and get them to unlock it for you. You slide keys in and they push in the catches which release deck.you need to do both sides at same time! NOTE: you may have to unclip and remove the facia surround that goes around the head unit (plastic rectangle)to see the slots on some models. check out link below.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=310163984381&ih=021&category=1498&ssPageName=WDVW&rd=1

Jun 18, 2010 | Car Audio & Video

2 Answers

Hi i have a power acoustik mofo 15 inch subwoofer and the foame surroun tore is their any way i can order a new foam pisce


I don't believe they have that option available, probably because everyone would just repair their speakers and not buy more. Depending on how bad the tear is or how much foam is missing, you can buy sealer for it that works fine if you don't mind what it looks like. I have used a thin layer of clear silicone caulk to seal them up before and also used it to seal a hole in the actual speaker itself. You want to use something durable and pretty flexible when doing it, but the possibilities are endless. Hope this helps and good luck!

Mar 11, 2010 | Power Acoustik MOFO-15 Car Subwoofer

1 Answer

Amp for 12" Alpine Type R DVC 4ohm


i actually have 2 12" type s's and i did the same thing just wanted a cheap amp... i went on ebay and bought a pyramid 1600 super blue series amp..... its 1600 watts and ive also hooked it up to type r's and it POUNDS!!! ill copy and paste the website where i got mine from on ebay... if you tune it right it'll make it so you cant breathe inside your car......http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-1600-WATT-PYRAMID-PB559X-Car-Audio-Amp-Amplifier_W0QQitemZ350169009069QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCar_Amplifiers?hash=item5187b30bad

Nov 11, 2009 | Alpine Car Audio & Video

1 Answer

Car stereo Installation Help


As much as it might sound retarded i want to suggest to you that intead of all that hongkong stuff- just go to walmart and get the sony package that comes with the deck/cdplayer and the 4 speakers it comes with a pair of door speakers and a set of 6x9s and all the wiring that you need for a basic install-plus the deck has the rca pre-outs to install an amp. Get an amp and subs from a pawn shop at least you can be sure that it works before you buy it that way- I'm not knocking your idea, but it could be simpler and when you deal with flea-bay you never know whats going to show up on your doorstep. Good luck to you

May 28, 2009 | Car Audio & Video

2 Answers

MA Audio EHO152's


My honest opinion is that MA Audio is not in the same category as the other subs you mentioned. I buy a lot of electronics on ebay to avoid the giant mark up from stores. I found some MA's and got them for $.01 because no one wants them. However - any sub can preform well if you put the in the right box. I am a technician, not a salesman so you just heard my opinion for an experience standpoint.

Dec 22, 2007 | MA Audio EHO152 15" 5000 Watts Subwoofer...

1 Answer

Subs stopped working & protect light on the amp is red...


well at this point i would say it is both,, the subs fried because your amplifier passed dc [direct current] and fried the voice coils on your subs....return them if they are under warranty,, the amplifier sound like you either operated it beyound its specifications or it has a defective output stage allowing it to pass or leak dc....it turned the voice coils into the equivelent of the runners in a toaster oven....when an amp passes dc it is going to do so to whatever speakers you hook to it....so either bring it to a shop to be fixed/ return it to place purchase for exchange or throw it away.....or you will continue to experience the same problems....I am sorry..ps the amp goes into protection when it detects a short...[ the short is produced by the amp and it is detecting its own fault and putting it in to protection after it BURNS up your drivers....

May 16, 2007 | Volfenhag ZX-4712 Car Subwoofer

Not finding what you are looking for?
MTX RTP212 Car Subwoofer Logo

Related Topics:

220 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top MTX Car Audio & Video Experts

Professor_V
Professor_V

Level 2 Expert

89 Answers

Matthew Spark
Matthew Spark

Level 3 Expert

1066 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

63291 Answers

Are you a MTX Car Audio and Video Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...