Question about Fuji FinePix A800 Digital Camera

2 Answers

No picture on LCD preview. camera appears to take shot but can't view it. In video mode, seems to record but only sound, no picture. May be on memory card, but can't view it. LCD shows all data, ie set up, instructions etc. Seems to be lack of info going to CCD?

Posted by on

  • scotty46 Sep 07, 2010

    Not my camera, but apparently the problem hasn't occurred before. I have been and reset all settings etc (date, time, language, reformatted card), and physically the camera appears to be functioning - just no image getting thru to the LCD, maybe because it is not being recorded on the CCD?
    My guess is a faulty CCD or the connection to it. If it is a physical problem or can be corrected by software, I could possibly repair it, but if it is PCB related, then it will be out of my capabilities.

  • scotty46 Sep 09, 2010

    Thanks Stephen. I checked to see if the shutter worked previously, and it does (I rechecked just in case), so it certainly appears to CCD related. As you say, it's not really worth repairing, so I may just dismantle it, check the connection and see what happens. If I manage to fix it good! (but it's more than likely that it will be in worse condition after my attempts - good fun and an interesting learning experience tho'!)


    If I am successful, I'll let you know.




    If any one else has any ideas, please feel free to send'em in.

×

2 Answers

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Guru:

    An expert who has written 7 tips or uploaded 3 video tips

  • Expert
  • 194 Answers

Hi there Scotty

This problem is one of two things.

  1. A broken/malfunctioning ccd
  2. A shutter that is stuck closed.
Okay , to diagnose , go and sit next to a light bulb and hold the camera towards you. Then , while looking into the lens , snap a photo.

Can you see the shutter close and open? If not , this is your problem.

No fix that can be done at home unfortunately...the only option is to smack the camera a few times (aaah , the good old fashioned smack it technique) and hope that the shutter releases from what ever has got it stuck. Normally it's some grease from the lens mechanism that has creaped onto the shutter sticking it closed.

If this is not the problem , the only thing left is the ccd. Now normally a ccd failure is accompanied by distorted images so the failure in your case may be that the cable connecting the ccd to the main circuit of the camera came loose.

This normally happens on older camera's because the glue used to attach the cable becomes old and hard and eventually cracks loose the connector. A completely dead CCD can also give the symptoms you are experiencing.

If you need to get these problems repaired , think again as it may well cost you more than the camera itself.

If I had to quote you , I'd say :

  1. Stuck shutter about $150
  2. CCD cable reseat about $100
  3. CCD replace about $180
So , it may very well not be worth the trouble as your camera is only worth about $200 brand new. Sorry I can't be of more help.

Kind Regards
StephanSA

Posted on Sep 07, 2010

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Master
  • 1,566 Answers

Hello Scotty,

Is this the first time you have encountered the problem? Also, how long have you had this camera? Do you recall anything which could have caused the issue?

Looking forward to your response.

Posted on Sep 06, 2010

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

How do i get video to workon my vivitar vivicam x327


Video Mode
Press the MODE button to select the Video mode.
Note: The camera has limited internal memory allowing you to record up to 20 seconds in QVGA. An SD
card (up to 8GB) needs to be inserted in order to use the video mode normally.

When the icon appears on the top left corner of the LCD screen this indicates that you are in Video
mode.

1. Prepare the object or subject you wish to record.
2. Press the Shutter button to begin shooting the video.
3. The elapse time will appear on the top right of the LCD screen and the icon will flash on the
LCD screen.
4. Press the Shutter button again to stop the recording and save this file in AVI format.

Note:
1. You can preview the AVI files in Playback mode or once downloaded to your computer by using
Quick Time and Windows Media Player.
2. When the camera's memory is full, the “Memory Full Insert a SD Memory Card to Transfer and
Shoot More video!” message will appear on the LCD screen when you attempt shoot more videos.
Download the test file from the internal memory to the PC or delete them to shoot more videos.
27
Alternatively, you can insert a SD memory card to expand the memory to record longer videos.
3. The LED will light up when the light condition is not good.

Feb 22, 2010 | Vivitar ViviCam X327 Digital Camera

Tip

Tips for camera


Using the camera:
Your phone has a flash to help you to take pictures in different lighting environments. The flash is on by default, but you can turn it off or use the automatic setting. To set the desired mode when using the camera, select Options > Flash and Flash off, Flash on or Automatic.
Fast viewing with memory card To view your images and video clips quicker, use your memory card as the main memory for storing them.
In the camera application, select Options > Settings > Image / video storage > Memory card.
Capture and send You can send the picture immediately after you have taken it when you are previewing it. To display a picture immediately after you take it, select Options > Settings > Image preview time and the preview time. During the preview time, select Back to take another picture, or Send to send the picture as a multimedia message.
Print your images Your phone supports Nokia XpressPrint to print images that are in .jpg format. To print your pictures, connect your phone to a compatible printer using a data cable or send the image by Bluetooth to a printer supporting Bluetooth technology. Select the image you want to print from the Gallery, and when viewing the picture, select Options > Print.

on Jun 13, 2010 | Nokia 6500 Slide Cellular Phone

1 Answer

My digital video camcorder mv700 displays a black screen on record mode.now when operating in play mode it displays no card.please inform me of nearest service canon centre.


Have you accidentally switched on the view-finder? In this case the LCD screen will automatically switch off (usually to save battery power)

Also have you accidentally switched your camera to still-shot camera mode, or something else, so the camera asks for the memory card in playback?

Jul 09, 2009 | Canon Video Cameras

1 Answer

The only functioning modes are the picture viewing & set up modes


Have Sony DSC-P73 with exact problem. Only turns on in SETUP mode and when switches to all other modes camera shuts off usually with lens extended. Have tried new batteries - new memory stick - new everything and nothing helped. I just took out the batteries and attached the AC ADAPTER and all works perfectly now so problem is with either batteries - battery compartment or battery connections. As long as you do not need a "PORTABLE" camera, using AC Adapter solves this problem :)

Dec 25, 2008 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-P73 Digital Camera

1 Answer

How tu use video recording..


Hi,

The picture that I posted shows a TZ3 mode dial. I added a blue arrow to point out an icon on the mode dial.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Turn the mode dial on the camera so this icon is selected.
2. Switch on the camera.
3. Aim the camera at your subject, press the shutter button halfway to focus, then press it fully to begin the video. (Just as you would take a picture.)
4. To stop taking video, press the shutter button fully again.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

~When a video starts being taken, its current length will appear on the camera's LCD screen.
~Videos take up more space on the memory card than do pictures.
~If an SD memory card becomes full while recording, then the video will stop automatically.
~Videos can be played back on the camera's "PLAYBACK" mode. They can also be viewed on a TV or downloaded to a computer.

4b62840.jpg

Jul 23, 2008 | Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Still Images from a Movie Clip????


If you are using windows xp then it is easy, get in movie maker in xp. Play the clip in the preview monitor.
    • On the Play menu, click Play Storyboard or Play Timeline, depending on the view you are working in, and then pause playback at the frame of video you want to capture as a picture.
  1. On the Tools menu, click Take Picture from Preview. -or-
    On the monitor, click the Take Picture button.
  2. In the File name box, enter a name for the picture file, and then click Save.

Mar 29, 2008 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W50 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Dime


Hmmm, for recording videos you just have to go to the movie mode and press the button
Photographies doesn't seem proper because of all the black dots on the LCD screen, once on the computer, they're good.
And maybe you can't record videos cuz you don't have a memory stick and you're trying to record on 640 MP fine quality. For that you have to get more than 128 mb on your memory stick.

Dec 10, 2007 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H7 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Camera mode recording/displaying right


what is the model number? if it's 10 years or older you are most likely dealing with bad surface mounted capacitors.

Sep 16, 2007 | Sony Handycam DCR-TRV140E Digital...

2 Answers

Nikon S6- LCD screen black


I have The same problem with my S6, and was wondering if you found a solution? Ive done everything but contact Nikon or a camera shop.

Apr 16, 2007 | Nikon COOLPIX S6 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Fuji FinePix A800 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

47 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Fuji Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

Greg Cann
Greg Cann

Level 3 Expert

1114 Answers

Steven Wander
Steven Wander

Level 3 Expert

579 Answers

Are you a Fuji Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...