Question about Philips Magnavox DVD/VCR Dual Player

Open Question

I can only play preview from dvd rentals not the movie. Is there some function I need to set to correct this?

Posted by Anonymous on

Ad

6 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

SOURCE: philips dvp642/37

check conceting wires between your Tv and Dvd player
check Rca wires if it s good or defective.

Posted on Nov 14, 2008

Ad
leecom72
  • 4806 Answers

SOURCE: Sony Blu-Ray plays preview but won't play the featured movie

try clicking on chapters to access the dvd
hope this helps

kind regards and don't forget to rate us please

Posted on Nov 28, 2008

  • 5 Answers

SOURCE: My dvd player freezes when I view rental/bought movies

Is the player new? If it's a new DVD player and still under warranty, I would return it, exchange it or possibly, consider changing brands: perhaps to a Phillips brand DVD player. After all, the Phillips corporation guarantees its DVD players will play everything, just read the box in which the player's packaged - it's the best bang for your buck. With DVD players being so inexpensive these days, the best option is to buy new. Keep computing Chomskyites.

Posted on Jan 12, 2009

RixsFixes
  • 2200 Answers

SOURCE: We have a sony bdp 300 DVD. We updated the

Hi

This certainly looks like a potential firmware issue especially if the Audio is there on the previews. There are reports also of recent firmware updates causing problems on some other Sony BDP units.

You might want to try a Blueray cleaning disk which you can purchase from any good Audio store first to ensure there is not a problem with dirt on the lens that may be causing this. Simply insert and play like a normal disk and it provides a cleansing action to the lens.

Otherwise my advice is to contact Sony directly to discuss the matter and find out if there have been any recent firmware issues.

The most recent update for your unit is firmware version 4.9 and this was released on 12th June 2009

The support phone number for Sony Blueray Players is 239-768-7547

Hope this helps. Please do rate this answer. Many Thanks.

Posted on Sep 05, 2009

  • 170 Answers

SOURCE: Will not play new movies. keeps rebooting to

If you are referring to "new" meaning recent releases, there was a change in the DRM and authoring scheme that was created by the releasing publishers. Several Blu-Ray players are having issues with this and solutions are being rolled out as quickly as possible.

The Insignia Blu-Ray players have solutions available as firmware updates on:
www.insigniaproducts.com

Search by your model number and download the latest firmware to a USB stick, insert into the player, follow the instructions, and you should be good to go. you should also receive updated applications like Netflix and Pandora.

Hope this helps.

Posted on May 12, 2010

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

My dbpower portable dvd player won't play my dvd I rented.


Try playing a dvd you own that has no visible scratches. If it plays fine then your rental dvd may be bad. If let the movie store know they should give a free rental. I would use a cleaning dvd to clean your player just in case.

May 25, 2015 | Televison & Video

1 Answer

Blu-ray movies will play the previews but lock up before the main feature.


When was the last time you completed a firmware/software update? It sounds as if one needs to be completed. If the firmware is the most current and you have been advised that with it you should be able to view this movie in particular, then it could be the disc. If it is a rental disc it could be warped or missing some information. Lastly it could be the DVD drive itself, which would cost more that a new unit to repair if not in warranty.

Jan 08, 2011 | Sony BDP-S301 Player

1 Answer

My dvd player freezes when I view rental/bought movies


Is the player new? If it's a new DVD player and still under warranty, I would return it, exchange it or possibly, consider changing brands: perhaps to a Phillips brand DVD player. After all, the Phillips corporation guarantees its DVD players will play everything, just read the box in which the player's packaged - it's the best bang for your buck. With DVD players being so inexpensive these days, the best option is to buy new. Keep computing Chomskyites.

Jan 12, 2009 | Sansui VRDVD4001 DVD Player/VCR

1 Answer

How do I get to the ''Menu screen'' when playing a DVD movie?


It's likely the remote has the wrong code, so it will only work certain functions. You need to try lots of codes, if you do not know the player's code, till ALL function buttons work, not just some.

Aug 09, 2017 | Logitech Harmony 670 LCD Remote Control

2 Answers

DVD PLAYER SAYS...........LOADING, THEN EJECTS THE DVD WITHOUT PLAYING IT.


Region of he DVD? Some players does not want to play dvd's out of the programmed region they are programmed for ex europ asia, usa etc,,or the dvd is too dirty? Sometimes it is the program in the dvd machine that is not compatible with the amount of data on the DVD, so the compressed dvd works good,,,

Mar 14, 2017 | Teac PLD2000 System

1 Answer

GO VIDEO VR2940


hello davecad,

is this on all dvds you play even none store dvd's or just the store one,s only ?

this could be a region code or laser miss reading the disc.

riz.

Aug 07, 2008 | GoVideo VR2940 DVD Recorder/VCR

1 Answer

Wont Play DVD


any remote should work but i suggest a name brand like sony logitech or phillips because you dont want to have to replace this for a while and namebrands offer more functions than generics.

As for the dvd not playing dvds it appears the parental lock may be enabled preventing movies from starting after previews .

after you obtain the new remote and have programmed it scroll through the tvs set up menu to see if parental lock function is on if not drop me a line so we can narrow things down also try to push enter button on new remote if the play button doesnt start movie.

Jan 16, 2008 | Apex Digital GT1417DV 14 in. TV/DVD Combo

1 Answer

DVD player won't play new movies


Try this

1.While the previews are playing, press the Menu Button on your DVD player remote to access the DVD's Main Menu.
2.Go to Scene Selection and press your Enter or Ok button on your DVD player remote.
3.Highlight Scene 2 and press the Enter or Ok button. This will start the DVD in Scene 2.
4.Use your rewind or reverse button on your DVD player remote to rewind back to the beginning of Scene 1.

Walt Disney Home Entertainment Technical Support
1-800-723-4763, Monday's 9:30-7:30 and Tuesday through Friday 9:30-6:30 CST

Excerpt from email tech support Walt Disney

Dec 07, 2007 | RCA B27TF680 27 in. TV/VCR/DVD Combo

1 Answer

DVD Player Problems


Me three, same thing, reads 'no disc' or just won't play it. I have found that it happens more frequently on rental DVD's and that running a cleaner cd through several times helps but eventually that will even stop working. No idea what the problem is

Sep 30, 2007 | JVC TH-C5 System

Not finding what you are looking for?
Philips Magnavox DVD/VCR Dual Player Logo

Related Topics:

36 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Philips Televison & Video Experts

The Knight
The Knight

Level 3 Expert

74473 Answers

matt martin
matt martin

Level 3 Expert

1213 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Are you a Philips Televison and Video Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...