Question about Nikon D60 Digital Camera with 18-55mm lens

1 Answer

Depth of Field Preview Buttom

I have a Nikon d60 and looking for the depth of field preview button and can't seem to find it. From what I have been told, all DSLR's should have one. Can you please advise me where I can find it. Many Thanks Joanne

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Brigadier General:

    An expert that has over 10,000 points.

  • Master
  • 11,967 Answers

Your D60 does not have a depth-of-field preview.

Posted on Jul 13, 2010

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya Expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repair professionals here in the US.
click here to Talk to an Expert (only for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

What does exp.sim mean?


In Live View mode, evaluative metering is always used to determine correct exposure, though exposure compensation is available. The Exposure Simulation function will attempt to recreate the exposure level that would be obtained with your current settings on the LCD display. This may raise noise levels of the live view feed beyond what could be expected in the final image, since it must operate with a fast enough shutter speed to achieve its required refresh rate. The aperture also remains open by default, and so the exposure simulation doesn't indicate the areas in focus unless you configure the Set button to provide depth-of-field preview, and then hold it down during live view. Exposure Simulation will attempt to continue even with depth of field preview active, though this may raise the live view noise levels even further. If you pass outside the range where the live view feed can simulate your exposure, the "Exp. Sim" icon near the bottom right of the LCD will blink, as a warning.

Nov 24, 2013 | Canon Cameras

1 Answer

Hy guys. I am having a problem with my Canon S5 IS. Before pressing the trigger button the picture I see on the display looks ok (bright and sharp) but after taking the picture (or even when pressing...


This is a very odd problem. I wonder if you've got the depth of field preview button activated. As you look at the camera from the front there is a button on the left below where the lens meets the body roughly at 7 'o'clock That is usually the the DOF preview button. Try a little fiddle with that.

Oct 12, 2013 | Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

I hae a Canon AE-1. Holding the camera so that one if facing the lens: at the bottom right, at the 5:00 position, up against the lens assembly, is a black switch or button or whatever you want to call...


It's normally referred to as a depth of field preview. It's used to stop down the lens to whatever aperture you've set it to, so you can preview the depth of field to see how much of your scene will be in focus at any given aperture. It's not often used, but can be important in macro and portrait photography when a shallow depth of field and critical point of focus are both necessary.

Sep 18, 2011 | Canon EOS-AE-1 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

The depth of field preview function of my Nikon F80 (N80)


needs repairing at a qualified shop, when was it last cleaned or serviced ?

Jun 21, 2010 | Nikon F80 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

Nikon FA depth of field preview lever sticky


The small lever on the inside of the mirror box is what controls the aperture. If the lever on the outside is sticking, it would only hold the lever on the inside down so you would be stopped down all the time. You can try a small amount of lighter fluid at the base of the outside lever and work it back and forth to see if it would free up.

Jan 19, 2010 | Nikon FA 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

What is the solution


You are dealing with "depth of field", or simply put (?), the range from near to far of an image that appears in focus. To increase the depth of focus, the camera must be set to a smaller aperture (higher numbered). Using a wider angle lens helps also. Focusing on the mid-point (near to far range) will also increase the apparent focus range. This is one of the most complicated photographic issues, and much has been written about it. Google "depth of field" for about 4 million explanations.

May 26, 2009 | Nikon D60 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Shutter release button wont work! Help please, and fast.


skye-skye,
is the light meter working ? if not replace the batteries

Nov 16, 2008 | Vivitar V3800N Zoom 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

Nikon d70


Check the depth of field preview with the lens on and the camera on. If the aperture does not react, it may be a problem with the lens rather than the camera. Check the camera with another lens if you have one.

Dec 26, 2007 | Nikon D70s Digital Camera

1 Answer

Depth of field preeview button


That's a really good question, Denise.

One problem is that a D70 viewfinder is dark to start with. I don't notice this when shooting with mine unless I pick up my old Pentax Spotmatic for some reason, and then I am reminded how bright an optical viewfinder can be. So, in many cases, you will find the DOF preview useless not because it isn't working, but because the scene is simply too dark for you to see the differences.

Second thing is to notice what DOF you are seeing when you DON'T have DOF pressed. I think all modern cameras give you viewfinder at wide open aperatures -- so until you press DOF, you are seeing the focal depth produced by your lens' widest aperature. So don't expect to see much difference if you hit DOF with the aperture set at 2.2 on a F/1.8 lens -- you're comparing very similar lens apertures.

In fact, I notice that with my F/1.8 lens, I don't see any differences in where my focus lies until I have closed the lens down to maybe F/8. But beyond there, I can clearly see that more and more of the scene is in focus.

If you're still curious but not seeing it, try some test shots. Change the aperture and using shutter time to compensate, and see if your photo DOF matches the preview.

Hope that makes sense!
-- eastpole

Nov 28, 2007 | Nikon D70 Digital Camera with 18-70mm Lens

Not finding what you are looking for?
Nikon D60 Digital Camera with 18-55mm lens Logo

Related Topics:

171 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Nikon Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

Steve

Level 3 Expert

3289 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Are you a Nikon Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...