Question about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Cannon sd1000 lcd screen black. Can review pictures, but cannot take new pictures.

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Canon Master
  • 4,738 Answers

A stuck shutter is another common failure mode for digital cameras. The symptoms of a stuck or "sticky" shutter are very similar to CCD image sensor failure. The camera may take black pictures (for shutter stuck closed), or the pictures may be very bright and overexposed, especially when taken outdoors (for shutter stuck open). To confirm a stuck shutter, put the camera in any mode other than "Auto", and turn the flash OFF (you don't want to blind yourself for the next step). Next look down the lens and take a picture. You should see a tiny flicker in the center of the lens as the shutter opens and closes. If no movement is seen, then you likely have a stuck shutter. If so, please see this link for further info and a simple fix that may help.

Posted on Jun 06, 2010

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

The screan is black i can take picturs fine and record but i when i go take a pic the screen is black until i review the pic. Its not the shutters because the screen isnt black when i have it on video...


Hi,

The black screen problem means the lens sensor is spoiled due to over exposure to heat. Its better to give it to cannon service centre. If your camera is under warranty period its well and good they will replace the lens sensor for free of cost.


Thank you


Jun 10, 2010 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

2 Answers

I have a Cannon SD1000 stuck in revie mode. My daughter pulled it


If this was indeed dropped STOP! take it to a camera shop so they can do the repairs as you could damage other parts in the camera.

What could have happend when she dropped the camera the sensor inside got stuck into position to protect it from further damage. My advice is spend a couple bucks and take it in you be glad you did!

Sep 17, 2009 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

My Cannon Powershot SD1000 LCD screen does not work. It will take pictures but will not let me change options, view the menu, or view images- past or present. Pressing the DISP button does nothing.


Has the screen been cracked/damaged? Was your camera dropped in any liquid? It's worth it to try having the LCD screen replaced, as it's quite affordable. If there is liquid damage near the LCD input inside the camera that would be another issue that would be solved by replacing those main boards.

In an ideal situation it would be just that the backlight cable wiggled itself out of its input (I'm assuming the screen doesn't light up anymore), which is something you could look at yourself if you're comfortable taking your camera apart. I wish you luck =)

Sep 08, 2009 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Black screen while shooting, but still taking pictures not black


Nonononooooo fotomohamed, he can review just taken pictures on the LCD. The screen is working.

Actually, it sounds like you just accidentally pressed the DISPLAY button on the back of your camera. This manually turns the screen on and off in picture taking mode to save batteries (you would then use optical viewfinder). Just press it once and it should turn back on.

Jun 19, 2009 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Canon SD1000, screen blacked out and takes black pictures


try taking the batteries and memory card out let it set and put everything back in it ang cut it on

Jun 18, 2009 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon Powershot SD1000: LCD screen display


Hopefully you resolved this already. If not, push the "DISP." button left of the MENU button. Pushing it gives you three options: black (for discreet shooting so your LCD doesn't give garner dirty looks from fellow concert goers), liveview, and liveview with info overlayed (shooting mode, ISO, etc.). Good luck!

May 05, 2009 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

I OWN A CANON POWERSHOT SD1000. THE DISPLAY SCREEN IS BLACK WHEN I TRY TO TAKE A PICTURE. HOWEVER PLAYBACK IS CLEARLY VISIBLE. IT IS ONLY WHEN I ENDEAVOUR TO TAKE A NEW PICTURE THAT THE SCREEN IS TOTALLY...


If you take a picture using the optical viewfinder, does the camera actually record the picture? If so, you may have the LCD turned off in the camera mode (there are three options: standard, detailed, and off). With the camera in the shooting mode, press the "DISP" button and see if the LCD turns on.

Aug 27, 2008 | Canon Cameras

1 Answer

Black screen, not capturing photos


have the same problem...
it happened about a month ago and i pressed the display button and it worked, but now that doesn't work either!

Jul 22, 2008 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera Logo

151 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

TC CAMERA REPAIR.Com...

Level 2 Expert

168 Answers

old marine
old marine

Level 3 Expert

1917 Answers

Are you a Canon Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...