Question about Sony Cameras

1 Answer

Intermittently unable to review photos taken with Sony A100. Also at the same time unable to access the menu

Posted by on

  • johnsheard Jun 03, 2010

    Thank you for this reply. That though is not the answer. The card is a vgenuine Sandisc Extreme 111 with no bent pins in the card slot. I was playing about with the problem around one answer I found, ie. takr the battery out for 5 mins and then replace. I wriggled the battery in it's slot without taking it out and all functions then worked properly. I think that it is a poor fit of battery causing the problem. The battery pins and slots need to be a slack fit to easily insert and remove the battery so sometimes it makes a poor contact thereby causing the problem.
    I don't know whether this is the cause and solution but this time it worked and will try it next time the problem occurs.
    What does anyone else think?
    John

  • johnsheard Jun 04, 2010

    This second idea seems excellent. I will do that.Thankyou for this sugestion.
    John

×

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 20 times.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 94 Answers

Is the CF card a slow or counterfeit one? There are lots of cards on auction sites that are branded, but copies with poor quality components. try a known good High speed card. Also check if you have any bent pins in the camera CF slot.

Posted on Jun 02, 2010

  • cameradoctor Jun 03, 2010

    John, try cleaning the battery contacts in the camera and the battery itself with electrical contact cleaner ( can buy at auto parts stores ) The other thing you could try is to GENTLY pull the battery contacts to make more positive pressure on the battery - use a crochet needle. Best of luck :)

×

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Blackberry will not send pics as mms


The BlackBerry device user is unable to send photos taken with the BlackBerry device camera in Multimedia Messaging Service (MMS) messages, because the photos taken by the BlackBerry device camera may be too large to send in MMS messages.
Reduce the size or quality of the photo and resend.
To access the size and quality options for the BlackBerry device camera, complete the following steps:
  1. Open the Camera application.
  2. Click the menu button.
  3. Select Options.
  4. Change the Picture Size and Picture Quality settings as required.
  5. Click the menu button and select Save.
And try to send the photo in an email message instead of in an MMS message.

Oct 11, 2009 | AT&T BlackBerry Curve 8310 Cell Phone -...

1 Answer

Unable to copy pictures from memory stick to the pc


This due to a malfunction in the software your usin to to download the photos.May be because your file no. is reseted.The best way is to connect the pc to your machine.When the software pops in close it down.Manually go to my computer and access the photos from the memory card or camera which appears as a memory storage device

Oct 04, 2009 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-W5 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Picture suddenly pink


It is known problem of bad ccd imager in Sony DSC-T1 camera and ccd imager chip will be replaced to get normal live view in camera mode.
Sony will repair it free of cost so click Sony CCD Imager Support for details.
Thanks.


Sep 22, 2009 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-T1 Digital Camera

3 Answers

I have the sony a100 alpha... it wont take a photo. 4 red zeroes


Check the memory stick if its full and delete some photos......then try and take a shot.
the four red zeroes are counters for the number of shots u have taken.....it simply indicates you have a full memory stick.
Mine played the same trick on me too.

Jun 22, 2009 | Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Sony A100:put in empty CF cards, says card full, won't format


Might be 2GB card is more then enough for camera hardware o handle. Try 1GB card in this camera.

Mar 15, 2009 | Sony DSLR-A100 K Digital SLRCamera Digital...

1 Answer

I have a sony a100. It says unable to use card


What card do you use on the A100? And what capacity? Are you sure you have inserted it in the correct way? Be careful while inserting a CF card because of you insert it wrongly, it can damage the camera. Zooming is done using the zoom ring on the lens barrel. Just twist the zoom ring. Hope you are using the 18-70mm kit lens with the camera.

Feb 10, 2009 | Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Sony Alpha 100 gives error message when attempting to take pic.


Hi! I just had the same problem with my Sony A100, when I tried two different CF cards. I was getting the same error message as reported above: "Unable to use card" then "Format?" then that format fails. Thinking the camera is broken, I checked online camera repair sites and also called Sony directly. Sony's flat rate, and that of PrecisionCamera is $228 to fix CF card failure. Then my daughter said, "the CF card in my room works fine in the camera" - and lo and behold - it does. The CF card that works is brand PQI and is marked Hi-Speed 60 2Gb. The cards that do NOT work are marked SanDisk Ultra II 1.0Gb and SanDisk 128 Mb. So my advice is, before you give up on the camera as broken, try a number of different CF cards first.

The second cause of CF failure is if someone has pushed a CF card in the wrong way. That can bend one or more of the tiny metal contact pins in the CF socket in the camera. Look carefully to see that all the pins are straight up. [I don't know how one can straighten these pins, or if the whole socket would need to be replaced...but at least you can determine the cause of the CF failure.]

Best regards - Michael

Jan 07, 2009 | Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 Digital Camera

1 Answer

How do I review the pictures that I have taken?


Turn the dial on top to play. Then using the arrow buttons on the back of the unit next to the screen to change between pictures.

Click on this LINK and it will take you to the Sony website which has all the instruction manuals you need to get you on your way.
Take Care,
-WN

Dec 16, 2008 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-W7 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera turns off after reviewing two pictures


I suspect this a battery problem which has been described by many Sony users. The camera reads the battery charge wrong
and shut downs down.

For what its worth I had this same problem with both rechargeables and alkcalines. Fresh batteries were rejected after just a few shots and were clearly NOT dead. Solution seems to be either use Sony's NP-NH25 cybershot battery which is made of two AA batteries jointed at the hip or use generic rechargeable NiMh batteries with a capacity superior to Sony's battery (>2500mAh).

Dan

Dec 10, 2008 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S90 Digital Camera

1 Answer

SonyCyberShot DSC W80


If u r unable to see live picture on LCD screen in camera mode, it means CCD Imager of camera isn't working. Contact nearest Sony service shop for proper solution because it requires CCD Imager replacement.

Jun 07, 2008 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-S600 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cameras Logo

Related Topics:

93 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Sony Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

james laughton
james laughton

Level 3 Expert

2023 Answers

JonSnell Electronic
JonSnell Electronic

Level 3 Expert

20195 Answers

Are you a Sony Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...