Question about Kodak EasyShare DX6490 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Preview Picture - Locked Up

I took a couple a few small video's and a couple of pictures last night. I went to preview the pictures and it locked up. The picture is on the screen and the arrows are on the bottom but nothing will move. I can't turn the camera off or anything. I thought the battery would wear down over night and maybe the camera would shut off, but no luck there. This morning the picture is still displayed on the screen and it's all still locked up. Any sugestions?

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

    Corporal:

    An expert that hasĀ over 10 points.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 34 Answers

Eventually, the camera's battery will die. I suggest removing the battery and then wait for 30 seconds and put it back in. This should solve the problem.

Posted on Feb 29, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I hit something on my camera that each time I take a picture, the preview is a tiny picture in the upper left screen and there are yellow outlines around areas of the picture and in the lower right corner,...


when you are in the playback mode, you can use the zoom function (as you use it when you take a picture), this will zoom into the image you took.

the yellow frame show you where you are in the full image.

Oct 18, 2010 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

The batteries do not last more that one photo session. This has been so since new. Why is this and can this be improved on?


Multiple possibilities exist.
How long and how many pictures do you consider as a photo session?
What size picture are you taking? High res or low res.
Are you using the flash?
Are you using picture instant preview?
Are you using auto-focus?
These will ALL use power and help to drain the battery. The 3 largest users are the preview, flash and resolution settings.

Jan 30, 2010 | Fuji Finepix S9600 Digital Camera

1 Answer

A630 clicks and wont take picture. Stays in preview mode.


Do you mean you are expecting it to show the photo that you just took for a few seconds before it goes back to preview mode? There's a menu setting which I think is called "Picture Review" and you can set it for something like 0, 2 seconds, 5 seconds, something like that.

I hope that was it.

-Vince

Oct 01, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A630 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Preview mode not working and lines on the screen


canon ixus 500.
when i switch mode to playback/preview it doesnt work so i cant view pics that are taken or can i upload them to my pc.

Jun 28, 2008 | Canon PowerShot S500 IXUS 500 Digital...

1 Answer

Recording and previewing


sounds like a power problem,batt.

May 12, 2008 | Fuji FinePix S3 Pro Digital Camera

1 Answer

Delayed preview image


Sounds like you accidentally pressed the DISP button on the back (it manually turns the LCD screen on and off to save batteries). Turn the camera on and press the DISP button once. Hopefully that should fix it.

Mar 24, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A550 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Last picture preview


the fix should be in the set-up menu. Look through for "post-view", which should control whether the image stays on the LCD after you shoot, and for how long.

Feb 07, 2008 | Olympus Stylus 720 SW Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera functions are locked up


Looks like the camera doesn't go out of the post shooting preview. That could be a software problem. Try removing the camera's battery for 3 minutes to clear the memory.

Dec 30, 2007 | Canon Rebel XT / EOS 350D Digital Camera

1 Answer

File error


I have seen this problem with generic SD memory cards so it could be a faulty memory stick.  Try to get a replacement.  If you want to try to recover the pictures you have taken, I suggest Zero Assumption Recovery (Google for it). Check to see if it is compatible with your camera before downloading.

Barry

Sep 17, 2007 | Digital Cameras

Not finding what you are looking for?
Kodak EasyShare DX6490 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

43 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Kodak Digital Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

96518 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17129 Answers

Tony

Level 3 Expert

2598 Answers

Are you a Kodak Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...