Question about Fuji FinePix S5000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Card shows read error in Preview Mode

The picture shown here is the last picture taken before I faced the problem. I use a 512 MB Olympus xD Card on my fuji finepix s5600 camera. The card is about 2 years old. Now if I switch to preview mode after taking a picture, it shows me "Read Error!" and the LED that shows card status blinks red light. Whn I connect the camera to my PC I see the picture is just some meaningless haze of colors. Is there anybody who can help me with it.

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points


    An expert that got 10 achievements.


    An expert that got 5 achievements.


    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Master
  • 423 Answers
Re: Card shows read error in Preview Mode

Let's try a couple of easy things first. Remove the card and clean the contacts with a soft cloth. Next, try connecting the camera to computer, and "right-click" on the camera icon. Go to "properties", "tools" and perform an error check on the card. Open the card and see if there are any files or folders that shouldn't be there. Delete them if there are any. If you absolutely need to recover the images, you may need to try image recovery software. Some are free downloads and vary in effectiveness. If the images are not super valuable, you should be able to format the card in the camera, which will wipe out all data, both good and bad. The card should then be useable, and void of any images. Good luck.

Posted on Jan 27, 2008

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer


The camera takes a 3V xD Picture Card (3.3 V). The original one was 16 MB; the camera will support an xD card between 16 and 512 MB. Olympus will sell you a 256 MB card for $10 here: . Another site with the correct size xD Picture cards is .

Details for the Olympus D-395 camera are available from Olympus under Archived Products. See . Links to the manual and specs are on the site.

I hope this helps.

Cindy Wells

Jun 25, 2011 | Olympus Camedia D-395 Digital Camera

1 Answer

How to remove write protect from olympus xd card

You don't state whether you've tried using the tiny switch located on the xD card to unlock it.

If it is already in the unlocked position then push it fully to the locked position and then fully back again.

If this does not work then please report back for additional options.

Feb 22, 2010 | Digital Cameras

1 Answer

XD memory card confusion

The xD-Picture Card (xD stands for "extreme digital.") is a flash memory card format developed and introduced to the market in July 2002 by Olympus and Fujifilm, and manufactured by the Toshiba Corporation. xD cards are in Olympus and Fujifilm digital cameras, and are available in a range of sizes, from 16 MB to 2 GB currently. A higher-performance xD card known as Type M came out in 2005, and uses Multi Level Cell (MLC) architecture.
An xD card is 20mm x 25mm x 1.78mm and weighs about 2.8 g, making it significantly smaller than the nearly matchbook-sized CF card and about half the size of the SD/MMC card. As far as size goes, it is much closer to miniSD or RS-MMC. The manufacturer listed write speeds for xD-Picture Cards are: for the 16 MB and 32 MB card, 1.3 MB/s and for the 64MB and higher cards, 3 MB/s. Both offer a minimum read speed of 5 MB/s. The xD Type M cards have a faster standard rate of 4.0MB/s for reading and 2.5MB/s for writing.
Anything up to 2gb will work with your camera, either the type M or the type M+ will be fine.

Dec 14, 2008 | Olympus Camedia D-540 Zoom Digital Camera

1 Answer

My computer is not recognizing my olympus xd picture card when I put it into the slot. How do I open it to view the pictures?

some card readers will read only to 512 mb and will need to have firmware update from you oem

Sep 23, 2008 | Olympus Digital Cameras

4 Answers

Card error olympus xd 1GB

The D-560 will not accept any card bigger than 512 mb. No firmware update is available.

Jun 02, 2008 | Olympus Camedia C-350 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Olympus Camedia D-540

Try photo recovery software to rescue the lost photos, here are some you may rely on.
Photo Recovery Software (for Windows)
Mac Photo Recovery Software (for Mac OS X)

Be careful: Before your pictures are recovered, do not attempt to save more files to the memory card in case the original files(your pictures) are overwritten.

Dec 27, 2007 | Olympus Camedia D-540 Zoom Digital Camera

3 Answers

XD Picture cards

If you camera takes XD cards - are youn sure that is the case?
The XD card is a standard size - it the camera os an XD type any XD card will go in the slot.

Nov 08, 2007 | Olympus Camedia C-50 Zoom Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera won't take picture

A quick question. Are you using an xD card that is larger than 256 MB? If so, I contacted Olympus about this very issue. The maximum capacity of xD cards my camera would recognize was 256 MB. According to the Olympus rep. the camera does support up to 512 MB, but required a firmware upgrade and needed to be sent in for this. My wife's Canon camera had no such limitations and even has better quality.

Sep 25, 2007 | Olympus Camedia C-50 Zoom Digital Camera

1 Answer

Xd card

According to the Olympus website the olympus c350 series camera will only take up to 512 MB xd cards.

Feb 03, 2007 | Olympus Camedia C-350 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Fuji FinePix S5000 Digital Camera Logo

272 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Fuji Digital Cameras Experts


Level 3 Expert

93738 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17129 Answers

Richard Roberts

Level 2 Expert

198 Answers

Are you a Fuji Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides