Question about Fuji FinePix S5000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Card shows read error in Preview Mode

The picture shown here is the last picture taken before I faced the problem. I use a 512 MB Olympus xD Card on my fuji finepix s5600 camera. The card is about 2 years old. Now if I switch to preview mode after taking a picture, it shows me "Read Error!" and the LED that shows card status blinks red light. Whn I connect the camera to my PC I see the picture is just some meaningless haze of colors. Is there anybody who can help me with it.

Posted by on

  • Simon2000bd Jan 28, 2008

    Mr. Steve, I tried out your simple solution but it dodn't work as you can see the picture i have taken after trying your solutions. This was the problem I have been facing since January 8th, 2008. Can you help me get rid of this sticky situation. I have even copied some good pictures from PC to memory card but didn't work as well. I used to store my camera in cool & dry place. Please help me.

  • Simon2000bd Jan 29, 2008

    Mr. Steve, I have tried 16 MB card that came bundled with my camera. Since I had bought a higher capacity card I left that card unused for all these years. That card showed me the same result. My LCD Live view is perfect while I take pictures. Your documentation tells faulty CCD causes faulty picture with both live and recorded. I have copied some pictures from my PC to the card and tried to view it in the camera. Yet it shows the same error. Are my both cards damaged? or you still think the CCD is the culprete?

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 500 times.

  • Master
  • 423 Answers

Let's try a couple of easy things first. Remove the card and clean the contacts with a soft cloth. Next, try connecting the camera to computer, and "right-click" on the camera icon. Go to "properties", "tools" and perform an error check on the card. Open the card and see if there are any files or folders that shouldn't be there. Delete them if there are any. If you absolutely need to recover the images, you may need to try image recovery software. Some are free downloads and vary in effectiveness. If the images are not super valuable, you should be able to format the card in the camera, which will wipe out all data, both good and bad. The card should then be useable, and void of any images. Good luck.

Posted on Jan 27, 2008

  • Steve Grezoux
    Steve Grezoux Jan 28, 2008

    Have you tried another card in the camera? If the same condition exists with a different card, then the CCD (image sensor) in the camera is likely the culprit. If so, the cost for repair is quite high, as the CCD is the main part of the lens and main circuit. If you want more information about the CCD problems, here's a link to well-documented information. http://www.dpreview.com/news/0510/051011...

    This applies to quite a number of makes and models of cameras.

×

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I BOUGHT A USED OLYMPUS D-395 CAMERA, WITH NO CARD . WHAT CARD DO I NEED


The camera takes a 3V xD Picture Card (3.3 V). The original one was 16 MB; the camera will support an xD card between 16 and 512 MB. Olympus will sell you a 256 MB card for $10 here: https://us.buyolympus.com/xd-picture-card-h256mb.html . Another site with the correct size xD Picture cards is http://www.memorysuppliers.com/olxdpiccar.html .

Details for the Olympus D-395 camera are available from Olympus under Archived Products. See http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/cpg_archived_product_details.asp?id=953 . Links to the manual and specs are on the site.

I hope this helps.

Cindy Wells

Jun 25, 2011 | Olympus Camedia D-395 Digital Camera

1 Answer

How to remove write protect from olympus xd card


You don't state whether you've tried using the tiny switch located on the xD card to unlock it.

If it is already in the unlocked position then push it fully to the locked position and then fully back again.

If this does not work then please report back for additional options.

Feb 22, 2010 | Cameras

1 Answer

XD memory card confusion


The xD-Picture Card (xD stands for "extreme digital.") is a flash memory card format developed and introduced to the market in July 2002 by Olympus and Fujifilm, and manufactured by the Toshiba Corporation. xD cards are in Olympus and Fujifilm digital cameras, and are available in a range of sizes, from 16 MB to 2 GB currently. A higher-performance xD card known as Type M came out in 2005, and uses Multi Level Cell (MLC) architecture.
An xD card is 20mm x 25mm x 1.78mm and weighs about 2.8 g, making it significantly smaller than the nearly matchbook-sized CF card and about half the size of the SD/MMC card. As far as size goes, it is much closer to miniSD or RS-MMC. The manufacturer listed write speeds for xD-Picture Cards are: for the 16 MB and 32 MB card, 1.3 MB/s and for the 64MB and higher cards, 3 MB/s. Both offer a minimum read speed of 5 MB/s. The xD Type M cards have a faster standard rate of 4.0MB/s for reading and 2.5MB/s for writing.
Anything up to 2gb will work with your camera, either the type M or the type M+ will be fine.

Dec 14, 2008 | Olympus Camedia D-540 Zoom Digital Camera

1 Answer

My computer is not recognizing my olympus xd picture card when I put it into the slot. How do I open it to view the pictures?


some card readers will read only to 512 mb and will need to have firmware update from you oem

Sep 23, 2008 | Olympus Cameras

4 Answers

Card error olympus xd 1GB


The D-560 will not accept any card bigger than 512 mb. No firmware update is available.

Jun 02, 2008 | Olympus Camedia C-350 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Olympus Camedia D-540


Try photo recovery software to rescue the lost photos, here are some you may rely on.
Photo Recovery Software (for Windows)
Mac Photo Recovery Software (for Mac OS X)

Be careful: Before your pictures are recovered, do not attempt to save more files to the memory card in case the original files(your pictures) are overwritten.

Dec 27, 2007 | Olympus Camedia D-540 Zoom Digital Camera

3 Answers

XD Picture cards


If you camera takes XD cards - are youn sure that is the case?
The XD card is a standard size - it the camera os an XD type any XD card will go in the slot.

Nov 08, 2007 | Olympus Camedia C-50 Zoom Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera won't take picture


A quick question. Are you using an xD card that is larger than 256 MB? If so, I contacted Olympus about this very issue. The maximum capacity of xD cards my camera would recognize was 256 MB. According to the Olympus rep. the camera does support up to 512 MB, but required a firmware upgrade and needed to be sent in for this. My wife's Canon camera had no such limitations and even has better quality.

Sep 25, 2007 | Olympus Camedia C-50 Zoom Digital Camera

1 Answer

Xd card


According to the Olympus website the olympus c350 series camera will only take up to 512 MB xd cards.

Feb 03, 2007 | Olympus Camedia C-350 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Fuji FinePix S5000 Digital Camera Logo

276 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Fuji Cameras Experts

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Steven Wander
Steven Wander

Level 3 Expert

593 Answers

Parshiv Luthra

Level 3 Expert

383 Answers

Are you a Fuji Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...