Question about HP Photosmart M425 Digital Camera

2 Answers

HP Digital Camera - M425 - Stuck in review mode, won't switch to capture mode

My camera is stuck in review mode. It turns on fine, reviews pictures fine, but won't switch modes to take pictures. The power stays on fine too. I don't hear or see the shutter open or the lens move about when you turn it on, but I can't remember if it used to when you turn it on. Plus, being stuck in review mode, not sure if it would make noise when you turned it on anyway. Any ideas? Wondered if lens was stuck and wouldn't allow it to? Any other ideas?

Posted by on

  • 5 more comments 
  • Anonymous Jan 13, 2008

    My camera is stuck in review mode. It turns on fine, reviews pictures fine, but won't switch modes to take pictures. The power stays on fine too. I don't hear or see the shutter open or the lens move about when you turn it on, but I can't remember if it used to when you turn it on. Plus, being stuck in review mode, not sure if it would make noise when you turned it on anyway. Any ideas? Wondered if lens was stuck and wouldn't allow it to? Any other ideas?

  • boojawn Feb 13, 2008

    My camera worked fine. i uploaded pictures onto my computer. Turned it off put it away. Next day went to use it. i turned it on it turned on fine but the lens didnt open up or make the normal noises it did. and goes straight to reviewing my pictures and when i click the butten to go and take a picture it doesnt do anything. it makes the beep noise but the lens wont move or let me take pictures or videos. everything else works. what happened?

  • Anonymous Mar 08, 2008

    I have the same problem. Mine worked fine one day, and the next it wont go out of review mode

  • Anonymous Mar 16, 2008

    Same problem. Will not come out of review mode.

  • Texas_Fred May 01, 2008

    Mine has the same problem.. .however when i browse through the menus ive discovered some odd things.. the date / time menu will display for a moment then the camera shuts down.. also the capture menu.. all features state that it cannot be used while camera is docked... my lense does not deploy as it did and its a pretty much a paper weight now.. with a pretty blue light an display..

  • msaigon Jul 30, 2008

    Hello, U have the same problem, I've opened camera and clean switches, also I've changed software in my camera, and it still doesn't work. When I try to set date it just turns off. Have any suggestion?

  • Anonymous Aug 05, 2008

    camera works fine,but the shutter button will not work to take pictures

×

Ad

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

I just fixed my daughters camera with this problem. First go to the capture mode and see if the reason you are in review mode is because the camera thinks it is docked. If so, look at the dock port on the bottom of the camera. ( May need to magnify it to see in there ) Look for any green corrosion between the contacts. Her's has this corossion between two pairs of the contacts. I took a jewelers screw driver and scraped out the corrosion and then blew canned air in there to remove it. Turned it on and now it works fine. I have a feeling that the battery compartment is venting through this port and the small amount of acid vapor produced as the batteries discharge is causing the contacts to get this corrosion.

Posted on Nov 05, 2008

Ad
  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Problem Solver:

    An expert who has answered 5 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 5 Answers

I don't know the solution but if you want to look inside and clean the switches, sometimes food or candy from your (kids) hands work in to the switch and get stuck. first try a rubbing alcohol on a cotton swab around the switch with batteries out. If not working still You may have disassemble the camera.
I would think first before tring this.
Remove 3 screws on bottom, 1 in battery compartment, and 1 at very top of usb flap (look good).
Now slide the side piece starting at the usb flap then apply pressure to top and away from unit.
now look for 1 silver and three black screws (facing back and front, look good).
Remember to replace battery door first if it fell off during process.
*TEST NOTE: You can place batteries in and place a penny across the bottom to test before you put it back together.

Posted on Jan 19, 2008

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Camera not displaying images as seen through viewfinder. The screen is black. Image controls and info can be seen but the picture is just black. Takes photos which are also black; but previous photos...


A stuck shutter is another common failure mode for digital cameras, particularly for the SD1000. The symptoms of a stuck or "sticky" shutter are very similar to CCD image sensor failure. The camera may take black pictures (for shutter stuck closed), or the pictures may be very bright and overexposed, sometimes with lines, especially when taken outdoors (for shutter stuck open). To confirm a stuck shutter, put the camera in any mode other than "Auto", and turn the flash OFF (you don't want to blind yourself for the next step). Next look down the lens and take a picture. You should see a tiny flicker in the center of the lens as the shutter opens and closes. If no movement is seen, then you likely have a stuck shutter. If so, please see this link for further info and a simple fix that may help.


By the way, my wife's SD1000 also has this problem every once in a while. I easily fix it by using the following steps from the link: powering on the camera, opening and closing the battery door, and flicking the end of the lens barrel with my fingertip (or you can tap it with a pencil as discussed in the link).

Feb 06, 2011 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Mode Switch - Stuck in view mode and won't take pictures


Hi,

Did you try taking out the batteries for a few hours to power cycle the camera?

Mar 25, 2008 | Konica Minolta DiMAGE Z6 Digital Camera

2 Answers

I have a Cannon SD1000 stuck in revie mode. My daughter pulled it


If this was indeed dropped STOP! take it to a camera shop so they can do the repairs as you could damage other parts in the camera.

What could have happend when she dropped the camera the sensor inside got stuck into position to protect it from further damage. My advice is spend a couple bucks and take it in you be glad you did!


Btw, I’m available to help over the phone in case u need at https://www.6ya.com/expert/edwy_1a56970cf1ea4620

Sep 17, 2009 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera turns on , have no display to take pics and cannot review


CCD FAILURE ! Call HP they may or may not repair it FREE but other camera manufacturers are doing it FREE repairs bcoz it is considered as manufac fault in CCD units Pls RATE ME WELL !

Jun 11, 2009 | HP Photosmart M425 Digital Camera

1 Answer

I TURN ON MY A70 AND I GET A VIEW OF THE LAST PICTURE I TO TOOK.


The camera is stuck in picture review mode. Try sliding the mode switch back and forth a couple times, and leave it in camera mode to see if this corrects the problem.

Apr 02, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A70 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Panasonic Lumix DMC5 record/review button


j ai une camera lumix panasonic dmc zs5 j ai prit des photo sur mode bloc notes je ne peut pas les tranferes dans mon ordinateur comment faire merci

Oct 23, 2008 | Panasonic Lumix DMC-LC5 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon powershot a70 take apart help


Useful link: http://f20c.com/stuff/canon/partslist/
Good luck!
Rolf

Jun 23, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A70 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Can't switch from photo taking to photo review


Assuming your LCD still works, go to the camera settings and reset the entire camera to the default factory settings. This will help you determine if it is a hardware or software problem. If you are still unable to get into the photo review, you may have a hardware problem.

Dec 24, 2007 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

2 Answers

I can review, but not take pictures or video


Well, I have the same problem. Looks like the mighty SONY has created a turd and now I need to spend another 300 plus dollars for another one. Thanks Sony!

Oct 13, 2007 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S90 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
HP Photosmart M425 Digital Camera Logo

210 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top HP Cameras Experts

teddyboy

Level 2 Expert

488 Answers

Lawrence Oravetz

Level 3 Expert

10379 Answers

Brad Brown

Level 3 Expert

17473 Answers

Are you a HP Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...