Question about HP Photosmart M425 Digital Camera

2 Answers

HP Digital Camera - M425 - Stuck in review mode, won't switch to capture mode

My camera is stuck in review mode. It turns on fine, reviews pictures fine, but won't switch modes to take pictures. The power stays on fine too. I don't hear or see the shutter open or the lens move about when you turn it on, but I can't remember if it used to when you turn it on. Plus, being stuck in review mode, not sure if it would make noise when you turned it on anyway. Any ideas? Wondered if lens was stuck and wouldn't allow it to? Any other ideas?

Posted by on

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.


    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer
Re: HP Digital Camera - M425 - Stuck in review mode,...

I just fixed my daughters camera with this problem. First go to the capture mode and see if the reason you are in review mode is because the camera thinks it is docked. If so, look at the dock port on the bottom of the camera. ( May need to magnify it to see in there ) Look for any green corrosion between the contacts. Her's has this corossion between two pairs of the contacts. I took a jewelers screw driver and scraped out the corrosion and then blew canned air in there to remove it. Turned it on and now it works fine. I have a feeling that the battery compartment is venting through this port and the small amount of acid vapor produced as the batteries discharge is causing the contacts to get this corrosion.

Posted on Nov 05, 2008

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Problem Solver:

    An expert who has answered 5 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 5 Answers
Re: HP Digital Camera - M425 - Stuck in review mode,...

I don't know the solution but if you want to look inside and clean the switches, sometimes food or candy from your (kids) hands work in to the switch and get stuck. first try a rubbing alcohol on a cotton swab around the switch with batteries out. If not working still You may have disassemble the camera.
I would think first before tring this.
Remove 3 screws on bottom, 1 in battery compartment, and 1 at very top of usb flap (look good).
Now slide the side piece starting at the usb flap then apply pressure to top and away from unit.
now look for 1 silver and three black screws (facing back and front, look good).
Remember to replace battery door first if it fell off during process.
*TEST NOTE: You can place batteries in and place a penny across the bottom to test before you put it back together.

Posted on Jan 19, 2008

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

When i turn on the camera the screen is pitch black but i can still take a picture but nothing shows up the lens is open and clean. wat do i do?

Could be a couple of things.
Hopefully, you accidentally configured the camera to not provide an instant review.

To set the instant review time:
In Capture mode, Press the menu button
use the 4-way controller (up/down arrows) to select [instant review]
press the 4-way controller (right arrow)
Use the 4-way controller (up/down arrows) to change the display time
press the OK button.
Press the menu button to return to capture status.

Mar 10, 2011 | Pentax Optio E20 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera not displaying images as seen through viewfinder. The screen is black. Image controls and info can be seen but the picture is just black. Takes photos which are also black; but previous photos...

A stuck shutter is another common failure mode for digital cameras, particularly for the SD1000. The symptoms of a stuck or "sticky" shutter are very similar to CCD image sensor failure. The camera may take black pictures (for shutter stuck closed), or the pictures may be very bright and overexposed, sometimes with lines, especially when taken outdoors (for shutter stuck open). To confirm a stuck shutter, put the camera in any mode other than "Auto", and turn the flash OFF (you don't want to blind yourself for the next step). Next look down the lens and take a picture. You should see a tiny flicker in the center of the lens as the shutter opens and closes. If no movement is seen, then you likely have a stuck shutter. If so, please see this link for further info and a simple fix that may help.

By the way, my wife's SD1000 also has this problem every once in a while. I easily fix it by using the following steps from the link: powering on the camera, opening and closing the battery door, and flicking the end of the lens barrel with my fingertip (or you can tap it with a pencil as discussed in the link).

Feb 06, 2011 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

2 Answers

I have a Cannon SD1000 stuck in revie mode. My daughter pulled it

If this was indeed dropped STOP! take it to a camera shop so they can do the repairs as you could damage other parts in the camera.

What could have happend when she dropped the camera the sensor inside got stuck into position to protect it from further damage. My advice is spend a couple bucks and take it in you be glad you did!

Sep 17, 2009 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer


The camera is stuck in picture review mode. Try sliding the mode switch back and forth a couple times, and leave it in camera mode to see if this corrects the problem.

Apr 02, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A70 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Panasonic Lumix DMC5 record/review button

j ai une camera lumix panasonic dmc zs5 j ai prit des photo sur mode bloc notes je ne peut pas les tranferes dans mon ordinateur comment faire merci

Oct 23, 2008 | Panasonic Lumix DMC-LC5 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon powershot a70 take apart help

Useful link:
Good luck!

Jun 23, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A70 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Can't switch from photo taking to photo review

Assuming your LCD still works, go to the camera settings and reset the entire camera to the default factory settings. This will help you determine if it is a hardware or software problem. If you are still unable to get into the photo review, you may have a hardware problem.

Dec 24, 2007 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

2 Answers

I can review, but not take pictures or video

Well, I have the same problem. Looks like the mighty SONY has created a turd and now I need to spend another 300 plus dollars for another one. Thanks Sony!

Oct 13, 2007 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S90 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Review switch

it seems that the switch to toggle between camera mode and playback is broken, as it happens in most of the cases. the replacement of the switch will do the job.

Sep 27, 2006 | Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
HP Photosmart M425 Digital Camera Logo

172 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top HP Digital Cameras Experts

Fred Sops

Level 2 Expert

271 Answers


Level 2 Expert

371 Answers

Lawrence Oravetz

Level 3 Expert

7159 Answers

Are you a HP Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides