Question about Canon PowerShot G10 Digital Camera

Open Question

Camera switches off when you press the preview button, leaving the lens out.

Posted by on

Ad

2 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of.(from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones)
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad
t00nz
  • 4738 Answers

SOURCE: Delayed preview image

Sounds like you accidentally pressed the DISP button on the back (it manually turns the LCD screen on and off to save batteries). Turn the camera on and press the DISP button once. Hopefully that should fix it.

Posted on Mar 24, 2008

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Hy guys. I am having a problem with my Canon S5 IS. Before pressing the trigger button the picture I see on the display looks ok (bright and sharp) but after taking the picture (or even when pressing...


This is a very odd problem. I wonder if you've got the depth of field preview button activated. As you look at the camera from the front there is a button on the left below where the lens meets the body roughly at 7 'o'clock That is usually the the DOF preview button. Try a little fiddle with that.

Oct 12, 2013 | Canon PowerShot S5 IS Digital Camera

Tip

Manual Aperture Video For Canon Eos Rebel 500D T1i


Unfortunately the Canon T1i shoots video in full automatic mode. This means that if you want to change the depth of field...well, you can't. There are many angry T1i owners trying to get Canon to release a firmware update to have it perform like the T2i, but so far that has been fruitless.

So what can a budding videographer do get some artsy-looking footage with his or her T1i? The Band-Aid solution involves fooling the camera into thinking there is a manual lens attached so that the camera will relinquish control. To do this, the communication between the camera and lens has to be severed (don't worry - it doesn't involve modifying anything).

Step 1.
Put the camera into Av or Manual mode.

Step 2.
Select the desired aperture (if the aperture is "wide open" - e.g. F1.8 on the 50mm F1.8 II lens, then skip Step 3).

Step 3.
Press the depth of field preview button on the side of the camera (above the T1i or 500D logo on the curved part of the camera body).

Step 4.
With the DOF preview button still depressed, push the button as if to remove the lens, and turn it very slightly until "F00" shows up on the back display. You may now release the buttons.

Step 5.
Switch the camera to video mode. There will be a warning message, but just do as it says and shoot anyway.

You're now ready shoot some nice shallow DOF shots. Use the manual focus ring on your lens to shift the shallow depth of field around in your shot. Please note that since the camera is no longer communicating with the lens, autofocus will not be available to you. Put the lens in manual mode on the barrel to be safe - many lenses do NOT have manual override and forcing the focus ring while in AF mode can damage the lens.
Good luck and happy film-making!

on Jul 24, 2010 | Canon EOS 500D / Digital Rebel T1i Digital...

1 Answer

Err 99 with lens attached


sorry to hear about your problem. What I would test first is the diaphragm of the lens.
Set the camera to the AV mode, install the lens then set the camera to a diaphragm setting around F-22.
Press the depth of field preview button while you're looking through the front of the lens. you should see the diaphragm open and close each time you press the depth of field preview button. If the diaphragm fails to open and close or if it opens and closes erratically that would indicate a diaphragm failure and could result in the error code and the mirror flopping. if the diaphragm proves to work properly the problem can be with your image stabilizing unit. Does have a three year warranty on all of their lenses if you haven't dropped the lens and it hasn't been subjected to moisture and is within the three-year time. For the warranty you may be eligible to have Canon repair it for free I would suggest contacting can directly have your serial number ready and proof of purchase. Contact me directly if I can be of any help. Thank you Dave@ advance camera.com

Jan 13, 2010 | Canon EF-S 17-85MM F/4-5.6 IS USM Lens

1 Answer

Pictures are appear blurry when reviewing them. I focus the camera object appears clear after I snap the picture it becomes blurry as it is being save for review.


Question : Why are my pictures out of focus (blurry)? Answer : This problem can occur for one or more reasons. Here are some common causes and suggested solutions.
  • The lens is dirty. Use a soft brush to remove dust and dirt. Wipe the lens gently with a soft, lint-free cloth or an untreated lens-cleaning tissue. Do not use cleaning solution unless it is designed specifically for camera lenses.
  • The subject was too close to the camera. Make sure that you are far enough away from your subject. Each camera has a recommended distance for normal, telephoto (zoom), wide-angle, and close-up pictures.
  • The subject was not within the effective range of the flash. Each camera has an effective flash range.
  • The camera did not focus or expose the picture correctly. For the best possible pictures, press the shutter button halfway and hold. When the Ready light or framing marks turn green, press the shutter button completely down to take the picture.
  • The LCD screen Preview feature was not used to take a picture in Close-Up mode. Always use the Preview feature in Close-Up mode to confirm focus and to frame the subject properly. If the Preview feature is not used, the LCD will not display an accurate view of the subject.
  • The subject or camera moved. Hold the camera very steady when taking a picture, or place the camera on a flat, stable surface. You may want to consider using a tripod or monopod.

Dec 08, 2009 | Kodak EasyShare Z740 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Dsc p73 wont switch on when in green camera mode. Tone is short, swiches on in photo preview only with normal tone battery is fully charged.


I'm sorry that the camera is not turning ON. Please make sure that the battery is fully charged.
Please reset the camera by pressing the reset button located near the DC IN jack. if the issue still persists, please power reset the camera by removing the battery and press n hold the power button for 1 minute continuously. After that leave the button and insert the battery and check if it helps. If the issue still persists, your camera will require service.

Sep 26, 2009 | Sony Cameras

1 Answer

Sony Cybershot DSC-H2 will not turn on.


I have this problem too. The bad news is that so far, I have tried all the prescribed remedies. I called Sony. Hector had me press the preview button to see if I could get the camera to show pictures on file. It did. Hector then told me to press the preview button again, to see if it would switch to camera. It did not. I also set the camera to ISO and got a message to turn off the camera and turn it back on which did not work. All of this said, Hector determined that the problem was in the lens mechanism, and I could mail the camera to Laredo TX or find a dealer local that can fix it. Laredo will const me 149.00 American Pesos. I have yet to determine how to remove the lens my self, as it may just need cleaned out. If I find out how, I will post it here.

Sorry.

Jun 05, 2009 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H2 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Lens error


This can work with CoolPix S10
1) Remove battery.
2) Replace Battery (Insure it is fully charged)
3) Press the Shooting/Preview button and keep pressing it while you press the power on button. This tells the camera to go into PREVIEW MODE without checking the lens. See if you can preview a few photos and that it works in preview - If it does NOT I cannot help you here.
4) If the Camera Works in Preview mode then press the Shooting/Preview button to put it back into "Take Photo Mode".
5) There can be a delay but it starts up without the lens error.
6) Make sure the ZOOM IN and OUT works and in most cases if the lens operates then you can take a photo. If the Zoom in and Out does not work you have a jammed lens.
7) If the LENS is Jammed AND it is OUT of warranty you 'might' want to tap the lens barrel against your palm. I have found when you remove the battery you can gently tap the lens into telephoto mode by tapping the back of lens assembly into your palm.

May 28, 2008 | Nikon COOLPIX S10 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Delayed preview image


Sounds like you accidentally pressed the DISP button on the back (it manually turns the LCD screen on and off to save batteries). Turn the camera on and press the DISP button once. Hopefully that should fix it.

Mar 24, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A550 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Depth of field preeview button


That's a really good question, Denise.

One problem is that a D70 viewfinder is dark to start with. I don't notice this when shooting with mine unless I pick up my old Pentax Spotmatic for some reason, and then I am reminded how bright an optical viewfinder can be. So, in many cases, you will find the DOF preview useless not because it isn't working, but because the scene is simply too dark for you to see the differences.

Second thing is to notice what DOF you are seeing when you DON'T have DOF pressed. I think all modern cameras give you viewfinder at wide open aperatures -- so until you press DOF, you are seeing the focal depth produced by your lens' widest aperature. So don't expect to see much difference if you hit DOF with the aperture set at 2.2 on a F/1.8 lens -- you're comparing very similar lens apertures.

In fact, I notice that with my F/1.8 lens, I don't see any differences in where my focus lies until I have closed the lens down to maybe F/8. But beyond there, I can clearly see that more and more of the scene is in focus.

If you're still curious but not seeing it, try some test shots. Change the aperture and using shutter time to compensate, and see if your photo DOF matches the preview.

Hope that makes sense!
-- eastpole

Nov 28, 2007 | Nikon D70 Digital Camera with 18-70mm Lens

1 Answer

Switches off whenever I try put it into photo mode


This is the lens motor not responding Nothing for you to do there any repair is likely to be expensive Contact Panasonic for further advise a New camera perhaps

Aug 02, 2007 | Panasonic Lumix DMC-LZ2 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot G10 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

83 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

TC CAMERA REPAIR.Com...

Level 2 Expert

169 Answers

old marine
old marine

Level 3 Expert

2005 Answers

Are you a Canon Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...