Question about Umax Astra 3400 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

On preview & scanning I get total red colour image

When I put colour photograph to scan, on preview & scanning I get total red colour image. What shoul I do to remove this problem?

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer
Re: on preview & scanning I get total red colour image

If you have loaded Adobe 8.X Reader, then unload it, and go to Adobe site and load Adobe 7.02 Reader. Problem will probably go away. Mine did, I can now scan in color again.

Posted on Mar 20, 2008

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

4 Answers

I have installed scanner and disc but cannot find how to use it.I found the test box and that works but now how do I scan?thanks

Canon and other Scanners have both hardware and software buttons to scan documents and photographs.
Scanning with a computer is done with a destination in mind. So the buttons and the software are associated with destinations.
Typical destinations are File, email, Application, and print.
In a simple scan process for copy or print, the item is placed face down on the scanner, then the print button is pressed on the front of the scanner.
The software for the scanner pops up on the screen and the scanner moves the imaging light across the scanner under the glass, reading the item on the scanner. The software sends the image to the default printer and it prints a copy.

You will need to setup your preferences in the software so that a photograph is scanned properly and a newspaper article is scanned to come out clear black and white.
Documents are best saved as PDF files and photographs as TIFF files.
The software will have an expert mode where you can change all the settings and a beginner mode where you let the software decide.
Canon has a great document for your scanner. If it is not on the disk, here is the link. It is called CanoScan 4200F Scanning Guide. I think it will help you to use the scanner for any task.

Apr 24, 2010 | Canon CanoScan 4200F Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

When scanning old photo, scanner stretches the image. how do i get it to scan image to same proportion as original?

Open Epson Scan and select Professional mode. Turn off the Auto Thumbnail option. Leave the target size As Original and then do a preview. Once the preveiw is complete in the preview windows draw a marquee around the area you want to scan and select scan.

Dec 24, 2009 | Epson Perfection 4490 Film / Flatbed...

1 Answer

Hp scanjet 8250. I want to set my scanner to default to PDF when I am trying to email. That is the way we do most of our scanning and right now it defaults to RTF.

Have you considered simply scanning from within Adobe Acrobat or similar software that produces .pdf and then use the email feature within Acrobat?

As I look over the HP User Manual, I can't see any method to set the default output. It simply says...

Use the E-MAIL button() to scan documents or pictures and insert them in an e-mail message as an attachment. You must have an Internet connection and a supported e-mail application.
1. Place the original face down on the scanner glass or face up in the ADF. If you are scanning two-sided originals from an ADF, slide the DUPLEX switch to two-sided mode.
2.Press the E-MAIL button().A message appears asking if the original is a document or a picture.
3.Select Document or Picture, and click OK.Note:A preview image will not appear when scanning from the ADF. To change this preview setting, see the HP Photo & Imaging software Help.
4. Select the final scan area (the area inside the dotted lines) in the preview image.
5. Make adjustments to the preview image if needed.
6. Click Accept.The final scan area is scanned and your e-mail application is opened. The scanned image is added as an attachment to the e-mail message.
7. The Save As dialog box appears. Type a file name and choose a file type, and click OK.
8. Complete the e-mail as usual.

Aug 07, 2009 | HP Scanners

1 Answer

Hp 5400c scans blue images

sounds like a faulty scanning head to me......
when images are scanned they are normally imaged in 3 colours red blue and green these are then combined to give a full colour scan. sounds like you are only getting the blue pass.

not alot that can be done here, if it is in warranty (check with manufacturer for duration of warranty as sometimes this can be more than a year) they should repair or replace this for you

Apr 23, 2009 | HP Scanjet 5400c Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Using epson v500 and can't get it to change the document size under image type in professional mode according to manual. scanning old B&W negatives 2 x 2 in size and it cuts off the image most of the time...

I had the same problem and have found my answer. I don't know if it's the technically correct one but it works.
When you open the scan page and it shows you the mode, setting, original document type, destination, adjustments, and then the preview and scan buttons. Under the Preview button you will see a box check marked for thumbnail. Remove the check and then do a preview scan. You should end up with a complete scan showing the slide (if you only scanned one), the open side and the surrounding blackened area too. Click on the picture in the preview and then draw an outline around the part of the picture that you want to use. Do this just like it you were going to do cropping of the photo. Once you have the box around the part you want click on zoom. Your next preview will be the picture that you want. I haven't figured out how to remove the remaining blackened area with out going into a photo edit program but it must be able to be done. Then you can scan to where ever you save them to and have the whole slide. I hope that this gets you at least some what further along.

Mar 12, 2009 | Epson Perfection V500 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Negative Scanning Problem Using Epson Scan Software

Make sure the rectangular slots at either end of the film frame are not obstructed or covered in any way. When I attempted to scan color negatives I had the same darkness problem in the scanned image. When I cleared those rectangular slots, everything was fine. I hope this helps.

Sep 28, 2008 | Epson Perfection 1670 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Scanned image only prints in black and white

it's tricky / annoying:

you have a preview ...
you have some of the (3) images checked
but also you have some of these images selected (blue outline)

when you select (I don't mean the checking) an image you'll have to set the scanning params
again - or check them ...

if you select an image, and then set the params (like "color"), your scanned image will be in color

also resolution is the same way ..
especially after crating preview .. it'll be set to 300 Dpi
so after seecting one for scanning - check the resolution too :)


Sep 03, 2008 | Canon CanoScan 5000F Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

Canoscan 9950f red line on scan

Try running a calibration. This is done thorugh ScanGear in Advanced mode. Once in Advanced Mode, in the Image Settings section there should be an option for Calibration (you may have to scroll down in this section to see it). After running the calibration, try performing a preview scan with nothing on the scanner glass. If the red line shows up on the preview now, then most likely the scanner needs to be serviced.

Mar 12, 2008 | Canon CanoScan 9950F Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Epson 3490 does not find the slide I put in the correctly positioned provided frame

Please do the following to scan slides or negatives in manual mode of the Epson TWAIN:
For scanning transparencies in HOME mode - for EPSON SCAN models, not Epson Twain/Manual mode models.
1) In the program you are working from, begin the scanning process. If working in FULL AUTO MODE as the scan begins click PAUSE or CANCEL, then change "Full Auto Mode" to "Home Mode".
2) You will now see all Epson Scan settings displayed. If the scanner has not previewed automatically, click the large preview button to get a visual of what is on the scanner.
3) Ensure the settings on the Epson Scan are correct for what you wish to scan. For example, the DOCUMENT TYPE for transparencies must be either "Color negative film", "B&W Negative Film" or "Positive film"*.
* FILM here indicates that the item being scanned is transparent to light; this setting is also used for slide scanning. Positive indicates that the image is in true colors (ie the grass is green and sky is blue), whereas negative indicates reversed colors, as produced in some photo finishing processes.)
If the DOCUMENT SOURCE is set for a flatbed related option, ie PHOTO, the scanner is looking for reflective items and will not activate the backlight in the transparency unit. If the DOCUMENT TYPES for "FILM" are greyed out or cannot be selected, close the Epson Scan, reseat the power/communication cable connecting the base of the scanner to the transparency unit, then reopen Epson Scan and try again.
NOTE for PROFESSIONAL MODE users: DOCUMENT TYPE should read TRANSPARENCY for film scans.
4) Ensure the other scanner settings are correct for the type of scan you are doing. For example:
IMAGE TYPE should be color photo for all positive or negative color transparencies, or BLACK AND WHITE PHOTO for monochrome transparencies.
DESTINATION is unimportant, however you should select a RESOLUTION appropriate to what you plan to do with the scans. (There are no hard and fast rules for DPI. As a general guideline, if you are saving scans at original size, a resolution ranging from 400-600 DPI should capture enough information to faithfully record the image. If the slide or negative will be enlarged, you will need to increase this DPI accordingly. We have no means to calculate what your exact needs will be in this situation; you will need to experiment and view the output to gauge the appropriate input DPI from the scanner.)
PREVIEW. If your scanner is doing a THUMBNAIL PREVIEW, the slides will automatically preview and appear in boxes on the left side. Here, you can select or deselect the slides you wish to scan.
If you recieve a message that the scanner could not find the film, or you see in the preview that part of the scan is cut off, click the down arrow next to the large PREVIEW button and click NORMAL, then PREVIEW again. In NORMAL PREVIEW mode, the scanner will capture all information on the flatbed; you will then have to manually marquee or crop the slides you wish to scan. Use the left mouse button (click, hold, drag) to lasso one slide inside a box made of dotted lines, then click scan. Only the selected area will scan. Repeat this process for as many slides or filmstrips are on the bed.
5) Click CLOSE once scanning is complete. The images will now transfer to the application in use.

Dec 28, 2007 | Epson Perfection 3490 PHOTO Flatbed...

Not finding what you are looking for?
Umax Astra 3400 Flatbed Scanner Logo

Related Topics:

83 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Umax Scanners Experts

Cindy Wells

Level 3 Expert

4719 Answers

Mohan Sriraman
Mohan Sriraman

Level 2 Expert

490 Answers


Level 3 Expert

18258 Answers

Are you an Umax Scanner Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides