Question about Canon PowerShot A400 Digital Camera

1 Answer

I cannot review pictures on my Canon PowerShot A400

Everytime I take a picture the image will be displayed on the monitor and then I will receive a "Memory Card Error" message and the orange light will start blinking above the monitor. The camera no longer functions when I switch it to review mode-all I get is a dark screen on the monitor. So I cannot review or delete any of my pics on the memory card. Do I need a new memory card? I'm traveling abroad w/out my laptop and the USB cable for the camera so I cannot try and download the images onto a PC.

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Canon Master
  • 4,738 Answers

Yes, the first thing to try is a new memory card. They do go bad. As for the current card, hang onto it. You still may be able to retrieve the photos once you get back to your computer using retrieval software. See this link.

Posted on Jul 25, 2009

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

When i turn on my camera the monitor remains black and does not show anything that it is aimed at.If I try to take a picture it will take but shows up black on review. Although when I switch it to review...


It is ccd imager chip failure in your Canon A85 camera and ccd imager chip willbe replace to get live view to take pictures.
Canon offers free of cost repair for A85 model for same problem. Click Canon CCD Imager Advisory for details and check your camera model number in that list.
Thanks.

Oct 02, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Display is black


Enable the forced Flash option and try

Jul 28, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A460 Digital Camera

2 Answers

LCD screen doen't display the view


So camera doesn't give live view to take picture? and you can view old / stored  pictures OK, is it?
If yes, then it is problem of CCD imager in Canon A80 and this part needs to be replaced.
Canon will repair your A80 free of cost as per announced scheme of CCD imager support.
Click Canon CCD Advisory to know how to get free repair facility.

Jan 07, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A80 Digital Camera

1 Answer

SOFTWARE FOR PHOTOS OF CANON POWERSHOT A400


Just download the free image software 'irfanview' . this small software got tremendous power of batch-processing. U can easily stamp date on each shot with it. Just go through its 'help' menu

siddhartha Basu

Nov 14, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A400 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera will take picture, but the picture is coming out black!!!! Help Please!!!


Dear vera11:

The symptoms you're describing sound like a classic case of having a faiiled CCD image sensor.

First try pressing the display (DISP) button on the back of your camera several times to see if your image returns at any time. One of the three display modes is "off" to preserve battery life. Your problem may be as simple as inadvertently pressing this button into the off mode.

If that doesn't work, try doing a reset and then removing your batteries from the camera for a few minutes, reinstalling them and turning the camera on to test the LCD screen.

If your screen is still black, but you can clearly see pictures taken previous to the problem, and you can clearly see the menu system when you press the MENU button, then you likely have a CCD sensor problem. Contact Canon Tech Support at 1-800-828-4040 to have the camera repaired.

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,
HeavyDLB

Jun 01, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A520 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Cannon PowerShot A85


This sounds like it might be a defective CCD imager. If so, Canon should fix this for you for free, including free shipping both ways. This is regardless of your camera's warranty status. Please check the following two links for more info:

http://camerarepair.blogspot.com/2007/11/canon-digital-cameras-showing-black.html

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=PgComSmModDisplayAct&fcategoryid=225&modelid=13390&keycode=2112&id=29819

Applicable cameras include:
A40, A60, A70, A75, A80, A85, A95, A300, A310, S1 IS, S60, S200, S230, S330, S400, S410, S500, SD100, SD110, IXUS V2/300/400/430/500, IXY Digital 200a/300a/400/450/500

Feb 18, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot A400 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

182 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

TC CAMERA REPAIR.Com...

Level 2 Expert

168 Answers

old marine
old marine

Level 3 Expert

1924 Answers

Are you a Canon Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...