Scenario 2: Both Balls on Putting Green
"Both balls on putting green" means on the putting green prior
to the stroke in question.
The ruling here is covered in Rule 19-5a
From the green, Player A hits his putt, but the ball strikes the ball of Player B, who was also on the green. In match play there is no penalty. In stroke play, it's a 2-stroke penalty to the player whose ball was in motion when the balls collided.
Repeat: It's not a penalty against the player whose ball was at rest; the penalty is against the player who struck the putt.
The player whose ball was at rest replaces it to its original position; the player whose ball was in motion plays it as it lies.
Return to Golf Rules FAQ