Question about Oracle Database Enterprise Named User Plus

2 Answers

Ms Access Delete LDB file

Posted by on

  • praveeng Oct 24, 2007

    Nope..

    Actually I have a website using MDB file so how can I boot user out. I have got full permission on respective folder but cant delete LDB file.

    Pls suggest some other alternative.
    I cant make sever restart frequently.

  • praveeng Oct 25, 2007

    Thanks for the reply Philip but I have already mention that I can not restart the server frequently as it is not in my control.

×

Ad

2 Answers

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Novelist:

    An expert who has written 50 answers of more than 400 characters.

    Champion:

    An expert who has answered 200 questions.

  • Expert
  • 244 Answers

Hi praveeng,

Try to rename the ldb file the restart the server then goto the folder again and delete.

Hope this will be helpful for you.

Best regards,

Philip

Posted on Oct 24, 2007

  • Cheater Cheater Nov 02, 2007

    BusyDelete (BDel)



    Description

    BusyDelete will delete files even if they are busy. The file(s) you specify will be marked for deletion. Then the next time you reboot your system the Operating System will delete the file(s). For example BDEL ATL.DLL will delete the file during the next reboot.



    Requirements






    DOS
    Win
    3.x
    Win
    95
    Win
    98
    Win
    ME
    NT
    3.x
    NT
    4.0
    Win
    2000
    Win
    XP

    32-bit
    no
    no
    yes
    yes
    yes
    yes
    yes
    yes
    yesClick here for the key



    Download

    Download the 32-bit version of BusyDelete (17K)

  • Cheater Cheater Nov 02, 2007

    Try to explore this resourceful website huge of information file utilities http://www.csc.calpoly.edu/~bfriesen/sof...



    Thank you for making my solution healty.



    Best regards,





    Philip

×

Ad
  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Genius:

    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 1,601 Answers

Do you have permission to do so?

If so:

It is likely that your network administrator has some tool to either delete
the file or, else, boot users out of it so that you can delete it.

Posted on Oct 23, 2007

  • 1 more comment 
  • Thomas Christopher
    Thomas Christopher Oct 23, 2007

    this didnt work for you?

  • Thomas Christopher
    Thomas Christopher Oct 24, 2007

    Here is what Microsoft says.
    Delete the .ldb file if it is present. You must close the corresponding .mdb file before you delete the .ldb file.

    The .ldb file is used to determine which records are locked in a shared database and by whom. If a database is opened for shared use, the .ldb file is created with the same name as the corresponding database (.mdb). For example, if you open the Northwind.mdb sample database for shared use in the C:\Msoffice\Access folder, a file named Northwind.ldb is automatically created in the same folder. The .ldb file is automatically deleted after the last user has exited the database with these two exceptions -- when the last user does not have delete permissions to the folder containing the .mdb file or when the database is corrupted. The .ldb file contains a list of users who have the database open.
    Automatic .ldb file creation and deletion

    loadTOCNode(2, 'moreinformation');
    For every database that is opened for shared use, an .ldb file is created to store computer and security names and to place extended byte range locks. The .ldb file always has the same name as the opened database (.mdb), and it is located in the same folder as the opened database. For example, if you open (for shared use) the Northwind.mdb sample database in the C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office 10\Samples folder, a file named Northwind.ldb is automatically created in the same folder.

    Whenever the last user closes a shared database, the .ldb file is deleted. The only exceptions are when a user does not have delete rights or when the database is marked as corrupted. Then, the .ldb file is not deleted because it contains information about who was using the database at the time the database was marked as corrupted.



    Required folder privileges

    loadTOCNode(2, 'moreinformation');
    If you plan to share a database, the .mdb file should be located in a folder where users have read, write, create, and delete privileges. Even if you want users to have different file privileges (for example, some read-only and some read-write), all users sharing a database must have read, write, and create permissions to the folder. You can, however, assign read-only permissions to the .mdb file for individual users while still allowing full permissions to the folder.

    Note If a user opens a database with exclusive access (by clicking the arrow to the right of the Open button, and then clicking Open Exclusive), record locking is not used; therefore, Microsoft Access does not attempt to open or create an .ldb file. If the database is always opened for exclusive use, a user needs to have only read and write privileges to the folder.

    Back to the top

    The .ldb file contents

    loadTOCNode(2, 'moreinformation');
    For each person who opens a shared database, the Jet database engine writes an entry in the .ldb file of the database. The size of each .ldb entry is 64 bytes. The first 32 bytes contain the computer name (such as JohnDoe). The second 32 bytes contain the security name (such as Admin). The maximum number of concurrent users that the Jet database engine supports is 255. Therefore, the .ldb file size is never larger than 16 kilobytes.

    Note Although a file-server solution can support up to 255 simultaneous users, if the users of your solution will be frequently adding data and updating data, it is a good idea for an Access file-server solution to support no more than 25 to 50 users. For more information, visit the following Microsoft Web site:

    http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library... http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library...


    When a user closes a shared database, the user's entry is not removed from the .ldb file. However, the user's entry may be overwritten when another user opens the database. This means that you cannot use the .ldb file alone to determine who is currently using the database.

    Back to the top

    The .ldb file usage

    loadTOCNode(2, 'moreinformation');
    The Jet database engine uses .ldb file information to prevent users from writing data to pages or records that other users have locked and to determine who has other pages or records locked. If the Jet database engine detects a lock conflict with another user, it reads the .ldb file to get the computer and security name of the user who has the file or record locked.

    In most lock conflict situations, you receive a generic "Write conflict" message that allows you to save the record, copy it to the Clipboard, or drop the changes that you made. In some circumstances, however, you receive the following error message:

    Couldn't lock table

    ; currently in use by user on computer .
    Note The state of the information in the .ldb file has no bearing on the state of the database. If an .ldb file becomes corrupted, everything in the database should still work correctly. However, you may see scrambled text instead of user names in any lock conflict messages.