Question about Kenmore 5553 / 655532 / 55534 / 55539 Side by Side Refrigerator

1 Answer

What if there are no reviews??? Kenmore 57906 side by side

We want to buy a new Kenmore & like the looks of the 57906. We bought a GE Profile less than 3 years ago and HATE it & don't want to make the same mistake twice. Can you refer us to reviews specific to the Kenmore (25.4 cu. ft) PUR Ultimate II with water filtration system? THANKS!

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points


    An expert that got 10 achievements.


    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Vice President:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 100 times.

  • Master
  • 473 Answers
Re: What if there are no reviews??? Kenmore 57906 side by...

I'm not sure where you can go for reviews so I will give my own.  I work on all brands of refrigerators and this one is a great model.  It is made by Whirlpool who in my opinion make the best refrigerators.  Whirlpool uses the best quality compressor as well as other parts.  Most models have what would be considered a "common problem" and this one doesn't have any that I can think of.  The brands I would stay away from are Samsung and LG.  Whirlpool now owns Maytag, Amana, Kitchenaid, & Jenn-air and they can do this because they make great products.  You might look for reviews on Whirlpool if your not having luck finding anything on this particular model.  Would appreciate a solved rating for expert advice.

Posted on Oct 21, 2007

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

How can I fix my fridge?

think twice. You replace this, but it still is a 14 year old fridge. Next week something else can go down. The newer ones use less power to cool the same amount.
Buy a new one, you have warranty, and in its lifetime it will save you money on the electricity bills.

Jul 17, 2014 | GE Profile PSW26P Stainless Steel Side by...

1 Answer

Out of oreder. very appeciated to have the exact address of ge workshop in jakarta, indonesia

GE Profile Side by Side Refrigerator Reviews The one thing to keep in mind when reading any refrigerator reviews is you will always see more negative reviews written than positive. Sadly this is due to the fact that someone happy with their fridge wouldn't be online to write about it, let alone consider it at all. Here's some of the refrigerator issues/problems we've heard in our reviews:
  1. Water Leaks: These have been found in the produce drawer as well as around the water dispenser and ended up causing both the water dispenser as well as the main drain to stop working.
  2. Motherboard Issues: Quite often we've heard about motherboards not working and burning out. The outcome tends to be temperature fluctuations in the fridge as well as very costly repair bills.
    Typically this problems only happens once in the lifetime of a fridge if at all though we have heard from one person who had to change their motherboard 3 times in 4 years of owning their GE Profile side by side.
  3. Ice Maker Problems: Either it didn't work or the ice went all over the freezer and kitchen floor
  4. Door Alignment: This was not a function issue but something more aesthetic
  5. Repeated Service Calls: We've heard from many people who needed more than one visit to get the fridge

Jan 16, 2011 | GE (PSS26MSRSS) Side by Side Refrigerator

1 Answer

Where is the water filter located we bought this a few years ago and have been getting an outside water filter because we could never find it we have a side by side GE profile with ice maker Thank you for...

The water filter is usually located in the rear of the fridge behind the plastic panel. Looks like a oval cylinder. Sometimes when you buy a new one it will have a diagram on it to assist in chanigng

Aug 28, 2009 | GE Profile PSI23NCR Side by Side...

1 Answer

Ge Profile Stainless Steel Refrigerator panel replacement

You can replace the doors but you will think you bought a new frig when you see what they cost. Most come as an assembly and are very expensive.

Jun 29, 2009 | GE Profile 26.6 cu. ft. Side-by-Side...

1 Answer

Need your opinion on buying a new GE Profile refrigerator.

no dont do it GE is just bad news . if you must by ge make suer you buy the extended warr .and keep it current YOU WILL NEED IT ! ....... what one should buy? it does not matter , there all the same refrig inside ,just just STYLE you pick DONT FORGET EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN !

Jan 12, 2009 | GE Profile PSW26P Stainless Steel Side by...

1 Answer

My ge profile ice machine on off light is blinking and not making

Blinking light indicates a fault with the icemaker. Look for a blockage preventing the ejector from making a complete revolution, such as a cube that was not cleared, or some other mechanical blockage. All other faults are icemaker component, which are not available as separate repair parts, which would require replacement of the entire icemaker assembly. Please don't rate this if you need a new icemaker, as anything less than a Fix-Ya lowers my score. Thanks.

Jan 12, 2009 | GE Profile PSW26P Stainless Steel Side by...

2 Answers

GE side by side refrigerator has stopped working...

sound to me that the unit may be stuck in defrost. look for the time clock and or if it is a newer unit check your condenser coil it may be dirty. the unit may also have a leak on the refrigeration side of it.

Dec 21, 2008 | GE Profile PSW26P Stainless Steel Side by...

1 Answer

TFX24PRXBWW GE Profile Refrigerator - energy use?

I dont know how to locate these specs for you, modern refrigerators are much more efficient for a couple of reasons. Most new units have a Computer that controls the defrost cycle whereas older units have timers that defrost every 8 hours of on comp run time regardless of whether it needs defrosting. The new ADC (adaptive defrost control) can better monitor the frost on the coils to defrost less (in the defrost cycle it consumes 5x as many watts as when its cooling. Also most new refrigs, especially new GE units have much more efficient fan motors now also, however they too are computer controlled and when they fail they are expensive. Also the very high end new Counter depth models (in the $2500+ range) have a new variable speed compressor. This gives the compressor the ability to run at a low, med, and high speed, reducing even more the watts that will be drawn in normal operation when the fan motors are on low and the compressor too. If you have any other questions let me know ill be glad to advise.

P.S. Buy an extended warranty with any new appliance you purchase! Trust me!

Dec 05, 2007 | GE Profile PSW26P Stainless Steel Side by...

Not finding what you are looking for?
Kenmore 5553 / 655532 / 55534 / 55539 Side by Side Refrigerator Logo

182 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Kenmore Refrigerators Experts

Fred Sops

Level 2 Expert

271 Answers

John Tripp
John Tripp

Level 3 Expert

4625 Answers

mike cooper

Level 3 Expert

864 Answers

Are you a Kenmore Refrigerator Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides