Question about Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S90 Digital Camera

2 Answers

I can review, but not take pictures or video

My CyberShot S-90 will only turn on when the camera is in "Review" mode. When in this mode, I have full battery power, and can review, zoom and delete pictures just fine. However, the second I try to use another mode, picture or video, the camera turns off, and I can still see the mode select screen faintly.

If I try to turn the camera on in any mode other than "Review", it won't turn on, rather it acknowledges my attempt with the light, but turns right off as if the battery were dead.

I haven't dropped the camera, and while I did walk in the rain the other day, the camera was safe inside my bag with no signs of having gotten wet - no clamminess, no change in temperature, nothing - and the review works fine.


Posted by on

2 Answers

Re: i can review, but not take pictures or video

Replace your batteries with fully charged ones, and your problem will be resolved.

Posted on Feb 28, 2008

Re: i can review, but not take pictures or video

Well, I have the same problem. Looks like the mighty SONY has created a turd and now I need to spend another 300 plus dollars for another one. Thanks Sony!

Posted on Feb 05, 2008

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Canon s2IS when I turn the camera on in review mode the LCD screen displays pictures one after another. Cannot stop the picture review except to turn off the camera. In camera mode the menu button and...

Please do the followings.

1. Turn off the camera.
2. Remove the memory card.
3. Remove the batteries.
4. Wait at least 3-5 minutes.
5. Place the memory card and batteries.
6. Turn on the camera in any mode except review mode.
7. Take any ordinary picture.
8. Change the camera mode to review.
9. What happened now. Is everything normal. if not please write a comment to explain the situation.

Jun 03, 2010 | Canon PowerShot S2 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

Hi, I have a sony cybershot, 5.0 and I cannot change modes from review to take additional pictures, what should I do?

Remove the card and all the buttons...leave it alone for 20 minutes...insert the card and then the battery...turn it on.

Nov 25, 2009 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S40 Digital Camera

1 Answer

No sound with video on sony cybershot dsc-p8 camer

Have you made sure that the spekers are pluged in? if not, PLUG THEM IN! if they are, make sure the volume is ALL THE WAY UP. If its not, then TURN IT UP!!! if it is, then i have no idea. =) lol (sorry)

Oct 10, 2009 | Digital Cameras

1 Answer

Similar problems as other readers. camera turns on but no real time image on LCD screen. LCD contiues to show settings i.e. full auto mode etc. But I can view pictures already taken. Thanks

The XTi and prior EOS models have not capability to see the live image to be shoot on the screen. Only the image after taken can see on the screen. Other images also using the view mode.

If you can't review the images, eve if the display is turned off, just after they are taken, maybe the "Review time" is set to "off". Go to settings, 3th tab, Review time and set the desired setting.

Aug 03, 2009 | Canon EOS 400D / Rebel XTi Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera turns off after reviewing two pictures

I suspect this a battery problem which has been described by many Sony users. The camera reads the battery charge wrong
and shut downs down.

For what its worth I had this same problem with both rechargeables and alkcalines. Fresh batteries were rejected after just a few shots and were clearly NOT dead. Solution seems to be either use Sony's NP-NH25 cybershot battery which is made of two AA batteries jointed at the hip or use generic rechargeable NiMh batteries with a capacity superior to Sony's battery (>2500mAh).


Dec 10, 2008 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S90 Digital Camera

1 Answer

DSC W70 Cybershot was dropped

My DSC-W70 is problem de turn off ,what im doing

Dec 08, 2008 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W70 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Sony cybershot dsc-s90

Hey Gregorious03,
You could try removing the batteries for at least one minute and then reinserting them, or you could try initializing the camera back to the factory settings under the setup menu. I hope this helps!

Go Ahead. Use Us.

May 14, 2008 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S90 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Sony cybershot dsc-s600

Hi, here is a temporary solution that might work for you as it did for me:

1: turn on the camera in picture/movie review mode
2: turn the screen off (not the camera)
3: change from review picture/movie mode to take picture/movie mode
4: turn the screen back on.

You should now be able to take pictures and record.

Hope this is of some help.

Apr 09, 2007 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-S600 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-S90 Digital Camera Logo

127 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Sony Digital Cameras Experts

Larry Spears
Larry Spears

Level 3 Expert

625 Answers

Vish Iyer
Vish Iyer

Level 2 Expert

74 Answers

Rick Johnson
Rick Johnson

Level 2 Expert

84 Answers

Are you a Sony Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides