Question about Canon PowerShot A630 Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD screen won't show preview except in C mode

My LCD screen shows settings, menu etc, but won't show me preview unless I'm in C mode. Just black. Takes photos just fine. But I need to see the LCD screen. I've only had this camera for a month!

Posted by on

  • 2 more comments 
  • jbkay Oct 11, 2007

    It's a Canon Powershot A630 

  • Pattykin Nov 17, 2007

    My LCD screen only shows a preview in C mode. It will show me after I take the picture, just not before.

  • jcrillz Jan 05, 2008

    The same thing just happened to me. I've had this camera for just over a year. I turned it on to take a picture, then the LCD went black. I also can only view the preview in C mode...

  • Anonymous Mar 17, 2014

    LCD monitor is black but will show menu and photos

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer got voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Well, after a little more googling, I'm embarrassed to say I've found the solution. I must have somehow pressed the display button which turned the preview display off. I tried pressing all of the buttons before I made my previous post, but apparently i didn't press it. :(

Posted on Jan 05, 2008

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

LCD Display is Black


the image in the LCD monitor will darken in strong sunlight or bright light. This is normal occurrrence in device CCDs and does not contitute a malfunction. This image will not be recoded when shooting still photos, but it will be recorded wihen shooting movies.Read you owner manual and adjust the MENU, according with your o. manual.Otherwise you must go the repair shop
God bless you
8_1_2012_6_43_07_am.jpg

Jul 31, 2012 | Canon Cameras

1 Answer

Canon EOS 450D Can only get the Shooting Setting Screen no image


In picture taking mode, press the "set" button for "live view".

Feb 27, 2010 | Canon EOS 450D Digital Camera

2 Answers

Got a used Ricoh CX1 from ebay today. Everything is good except when I preview the pictures I had taken, if I preview at 1X, (normal mode), I can some black shadow like lighting happening inside my...


Looks like the LCD screen in damaged... If you can tolerate the "blob" and it doesn't show up in your images when they're downloaded, then it's not an issue, but if you want to change the LCD, go back to ebay and type in your camera model and "LCD". There are a few camera dismantlers that sell on ebay and you'll find a good deal.

Dec 07, 2009 | Ricoh CX1 Digital Camera

2 Answers

No display powershot a75


Did you get a solution to your problem? I am experiencing the exact same thing with my A75. Still takes pictures and displays them for the 2 second preview, then back to black. And they download fine, too. But I get the same black screen in every mode except stitch assist and movie mode. Thanks.

Jun 06, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A75 Digital Camera

1 Answer

No preview image. Black screen LCD


The problem is not with the LCD or the camera - You have got it set to ecomony / power save mode. Fixable through camera settings.

May 10, 2009 | Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX2 Digital Camera

1 Answer

A630 clicks and wont take picture. Stays in preview mode.


Do you mean you are expecting it to show the photo that you just took for a few seconds before it goes back to preview mode? There's a menu setting which I think is called "Picture Review" and you can set it for something like 0, 2 seconds, 5 seconds, something like that.

I hope that was it.

-Vince

Oct 01, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A630 Digital Camera

2 Answers

LCD Display Blank


I have a sony cybershot DSC-S650, the LCD was very dark and could not see anything except if I pointed it at a bright object, everything else worked ok. I could take pictures but could barely see them in playback as well.

I took it to Sony authorised repair outlet and was told the CCD was damaged, they charged me USD $55 to repair it (in Quito, Ecuador)

Jul 31, 2008 | HP Photosmart R607 Digital Camera

1 Answer

I can't get the lcd screen to show me what I am shooting. I have the canon xsi.


For the XSI, go into menu. It will be the second tools menu (setup). Go to I believe it's called live communications settings to enable the live preview. Choose enable and hit menu to get out of the menu. Next, hit the set button and your live preview will appear.
Note...this is only going to work in your creative modes such as M, TV, AV and P...it will not work in basic modes like portrait, landscape, etc.

Hope this helps!

May 27, 2008 | Cameras

2 Answers

LCD Display Blank


CCD malfunction, common with Sony manufactured CCD chips. You are in luck, its a free repair regardless of warranty date.
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&tabact=SupportDetailTabAct&fcategoryid=223&modelid=8044#

Feb 12, 2008 | Cameras

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot A630 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

172 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Cameras Experts

TC CAMERA REPAIR.Com...

Level 2 Expert

176 Answers

old marine
old marine

Level 3 Expert

2170 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Are you a Canon Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...