Deactivating & Deleting Accounts
What's the difference between deactivating and deleting my account?
How do I deactivate my account?
You can deactivate your account temporarily and choose to come back whenever you want.
To deactivate your account:
- Click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page
- Select Settings
- Click Security in the left column
- Choose Deactivate your account then follow the steps to confirm
If you deactivate your account your profile won't be visible to other people on Facebook and people won't be able to search for you, though some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others.
If you'd like to come back to Facebook anytime after you've deactivated your account, you canreactivate
your account by logging in with your email and password. Your profile will be restored in its entirety (ex: friends, photos and interests). Remember that you will need to have access to the login email address for your account in order to reactivate it.
If you can't get into your account, you can reset your password
To permanently delete your account:
Permanently deleting your account means you will not ever be able to reactivate or retrieve any of the content or information you've added. If you would like to permanently delete your account with no option for recovery, please contact us