Question about Computers & Internet

1 Answer

Can't play AVIs.

I bought an external hard drive where I've put a bunch of AVI files on it. When I try to watch them I only get the audio part of the file. When I hook up the hard drive to my desk top, the AVI files play fine. How do I get the AVIs to play on my Acer Aspire 5570?

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.

    Governor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 20 times.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 59 Answers

Dear friend

you are missing a codec

just download klite codec pack from link below

klite



thanks

Posted on Apr 12, 2009

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I have a LCDV2257DVR AND WAS WONDERING IF ITS POSSIBLE TO UPGRADE SOFTWARE TO ENABLE AVI PLAYBACK ON A USB DRIVE?


I have the same TV and can play most AVIs that are DivX or XviD encoded, though it seems to crash on files > 1gb. The USB must be a thumb drive of 4gb or less as far as i can tell.
Id still like a firmware update to support larger drives, more formats, fix above avi issue and a progress bar like on recorded TV.

May 09, 2011 | Televison & Video

1 Answer

I have a WD 1tb external hard drive that is a few months old. I use it mostly for storing video footage of holidays, movies from friends and family or downloaded, pictures and tv shows that I have...


Try copying one episode of your tv shows to your computer's internal hard drive (lets say put it on your desktop) and see if it is the same result. By the way, what is the extension of those tv show files? are they avi, mp4 or mkv? Are the extension of the those files the same with your movie files? Normally, movie files are avi ( divx or xvid) which can be easily played by wndws media player or vlc. If it plays after copying one to your internal hard drive, then erase the one from your WD and recopy it from your internal hard drive. If that works, then just do the same on the othe tv show files. If it still the same result after copying onto your desktop, then just uninstall and reinstall vlc/divx and the codecs. Let me know if these procedures works.

Oct 07, 2010 | Western Digital My Book Essential 1TB...

1 Answer

Buffalo 500gb external hard drive not working on dvd player


Many DVD players cannot play just any video files. You can look online at the website for your DVD manufacturer and see if there is a codec pack for your DVD player. If you install a codec pack on your DVD player then you should be able to watch more video formats. Look for one that can do avi, mpeg, mp4, etc files
please rate my solution!

Jul 17, 2010 | Buffalo Technology 1TB DRIVESTATION COMBO...

2 Answers

Can't play mp4?


You could try a piece of software called mp4cam2avi. It turns a .mp4 file into an xvid/divx .avi file, without actually needing to recode the data, so the quality is just the same!

http://sourceforge.net/projects/mp4cam2avi/

(If you enjoyed this solution and want to do me a favour - can you confirm if your Nikkai A99HR device works okay with external hard-drives? :)

Dec 08, 2009 | Televison & Video

1 Answer

Video will not play on sony vegas


if it's a .avi file this site will maybe help: http://learnsonyvegas.blogspot.com/2007/08/using-avis-on-vegas.html if it's an another file, just go to google and search. search on sony vegas <file name> example: sony vegas avi.

Aug 08, 2009 | Sony Vegas Pro 8 Professional Video ,...

2 Answers

I cant watch an avi file on my laptop which is a mac book pro


Hi,

You need to have a converter or software to run .avi file.

http://www.tucows.com/preview/161270

Download the above mentioned software that i found for you.Once downloaded, you would be able to run files/movies with .avi extension.

Thanks.

Jun 23, 2009 | Apple QuickTime VR Authoring Studio 1.0

3 Answers

Playing movies from external hard drive


Hi rox09
Well you can rip your DVD to any external drive using and third party DVD ripping software ,once you do that you will get a AVI,MPEG and any common fomats your DVD player supports

Inorder to play those files in your DVD player ,you need the check whether your DVD has a USB input port or else if you laptop or computer has a S-video out put and your TV has S-Video input ;you can play directly from your laptop/computer to the TV using a S-video Cable which is available in any Computer shop.
I hope this helps 
VJ

Mar 15, 2009 | ASUS Eee PC 900 Notebook

1 Answer

My psp won't play movies from the computer


You can do the other stuff just AVI files work best I think. You can either convert the iso file to AVI or mpeg4 if it will let you or you can download the avis through file sharing.

Feb 11, 2009 | Sony PlayStation Portable (PSP) Console

3 Answers

USB Hard Drive


You cannot run a External Hard Disks (...that's what the User Manual say) It only reads Flash Drives, I have tried 8GB.

Oct 01, 2008 | JVC KW-AVX800 CD Player

Not finding what you are looking for?
Computers & Internet Logo

Related Topics:

59 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Computers & Internet Experts

Doctor PC
Doctor PC

Level 3 Expert

7733 Answers

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

David Payne
David Payne

Level 3 Expert

14161 Answers

Are you a Computer and Internet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...