Question about Sony DCR-PC55 Mini DV Digital Camcorder

1 Answer

Gray lines on clips while previewing

Hi, I bought my sony dcr pc55 in 2005 and have been really happy with it. I have been using it every now and then (vacations, Bdays etc). While previewing what I have recorded a month ago - three gray lines now appear all accross the images. The gray lines are still there even if I use a different tape that I have recorded 1 year ago. I know the tape is fine since I have transferred it to my computer and the movie is OK, no gray lines. When I record on a new tape and try to preview - gray lines again. If I transfer the clip to imovie for example - the transfered images have 3 lines conatining multicolored pixels instead of the gray lines. Should I be looking for a new camcorder or is this fixable? thanks Nick

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points


    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.


    An expert that hasĀ over 500 points.


    An expert who has answered 200 questions.

  • Expert
  • 326 Answers
Re: gray lines on clips while previewing

Hello Nick, please purchase special mini DV tape for head cleaning. After a treatment with this tape you can check if there is an improvement with other tapes. If you need more info please advice. Arpi

Posted on Aug 12, 2007

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I have DCR HC 40 i want to sale it

please advertise on ebay or olx depending on which country you are in and which provider is in your region. Fixya is really for repair/bug fix etc not sale.

May 18, 2014 | Sony Handycam DCR-SR42 Camcorder

1 Answer

Hi i have a sony dcr-pc3 my wife bought it in 2000 and it never holds a charge the longest we get is about 10 minutes we bought a new battery and have just bought a new charger same old...

Well if you have bought the right battery and the proper charger this sounds very odd, did the amp hr and every say the same details on the battery & charger as the old one? when you charge the camera how long was it till you used the camera? as Sony cameras lose around 30% charge per week, I know because I have a Sony still camera and movie, both lose charge, my still camera goes flat in 3 weeks after a full charge with no use at all, so they are never good bits of equipment with batterys.

Jun 20, 2010 | Sony Handycam DCR-PC3 Mini DV Digital...

1 Answer

Grey lines during playback.

Camcorder video head required cleaning because gray lines come in playback when video head got clogged/ dirty.
Put video head cleaning tape and playback it as per instructions.
hope this will help you.

Apr 03, 2010 | Sony DCR-HC38 Mini DV Digital Camcorder

2 Answers

Gray horizontal lines in playback mode

Gray horizontal lines across the screen in playback is symptom of dirty / clogged video head and you need to use good quality mini-dv video head cleaning tape to clean video head.

Mar 16, 2009 | Sony Handycam DCR-TRV33 Mini DV Digital...

1 Answer

Horizontal grey lines running whe camcorder in play mode

Its symptoms of dirty / clogged video head. Please use Sony video head cleaning tape to clean video head.

Jan 28, 2009 | Sony Handycam DCR-TRV140E Digital...

1 Answer

How do I upload video clips from my Sony DCR-DVD 108

I understand that you tube uses a different format to the camcorder.
What I do is copy the clip to memory card then plug memory card into a USB card reader & copy movie / photos to your hard disk drive.
then upload them to you tube later.
any problems just email me

Jan 20, 2009 | Sony Handycam DCR-PC9E Mini DV Digital...

1 Answer


Hi Mountainsoul I have found the manual for you to download at Sony's site HERE
Please rate my answer ,happy recording.

Aug 17, 2008 | Sony Handycam DCR-DVD103 DVD Camcorder

2 Answers

Sony dcr-hc21 download tapes

Please when u record some thing record in one file and try to copy in your hard disc.It will be ok.

Dec 30, 2007 | Sony Handycam DCR-HC21 Mini DV Digital...

1 Answer

Sony Camcoder DCR-TRV330

Hello, there should be no relation between I-link and the above mentioned problem. Anyway, contact your nearest Sony Service for the repair price estimate. If you need more info please advice.

Mar 09, 2007 | Sony Handycam DCR-TRV330 Digital Camcorder

Not finding what you are looking for?
Sony DCR-PC55 Mini DV Digital Camcorder Logo

Related Topics:

203 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Sony Video Cameras Experts

Larry Stiles
Larry Stiles

Level 2 Expert

286 Answers


Level 3 Expert

94198 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17129 Answers

Are you a Sony Video Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides