Question about Sony DCR-PC55 Mini DV Digital Camcorder

1 Answer

Gray lines on clips while previewing

Hi, I bought my sony dcr pc55 in 2005 and have been really happy with it. I have been using it every now and then (vacations, Bdays etc). While previewing what I have recorded a month ago - three gray lines now appear all accross the images. The gray lines are still there even if I use a different tape that I have recorded 1 year ago. I know the tape is fine since I have transferred it to my computer and the movie is OK, no gray lines. When I record on a new tape and try to preview - gray lines again. If I transfer the clip to imovie for example - the transfered images have 3 lines conatining multicolored pixels instead of the gray lines. Should I be looking for a new camcorder or is this fixable? thanks Nick

Posted by on

  • LAtemplar Jan 08, 2008

    Arpi-
    I have the same problem with the same device (Sony DCR-pc55). I have also used the Dynex head cleaner with no results. Is it an issue that can only be solved with another head cleaner? By the way, the link in your response is no longer valid. Thanks for your time.
    Kind regards,
    James

  • beetlejud Feb 05, 2008

    Hey,



    I have the same problem with my DCR-PC55. I'm very curious if there's a solution for the problem.

    Let me know.

    Thanks!!

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    MVP:

    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.

    Sergeant:

    An expert that hasĀ over 500 points.

    Champion:

    An expert who has answered 200 questions.

  • Expert
  • 326 Answers

Hello Nick, please purchase special mini DV tape for head cleaning. After a treatment with this tape you can check if there is an improvement with other tapes. If you need more info please advice. Arpi

Posted on Aug 12, 2007

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
A 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
The service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I have DCR HC 40 i want to sale it


please advertise on ebay or olx depending on which country you are in and which provider is in your region. Fixya is really for repair/bug fix etc not sale.

May 18, 2014 | Sony Handycam DCR-SR42 Camcorder

1 Answer

Hi i have a sony dcr-pc3 my wife bought it in 2000 and it never holds a charge the longest we get is about 10 minutes we bought a new battery and have just bought a new charger same old...


Well if you have bought the right battery and the proper charger this sounds very odd, did the amp hr and every say the same details on the battery & charger as the old one? when you charge the camera how long was it till you used the camera? as Sony cameras lose around 30% charge per week, I know because I have a Sony still camera and movie, both lose charge, my still camera goes flat in 3 weeks after a full charge with no use at all, so they are never good bits of equipment with batterys.


Jun 20, 2010 | Sony Handycam DCR-PC3 Mini DV Digital...

1 Answer

Grey lines during playback.


Hi,
Camcorder video head required cleaning because gray lines come in playback when video head got clogged/ dirty.
Put video head cleaning tape and playback it as per instructions.
hope this will help you.
Thanks.

Apr 03, 2010 | Sony DCR-HC38 Mini DV Digital Camcorder

2 Answers

Gray horizontal lines in playback mode


Gray horizontal lines across the screen in playback is symptom of dirty / clogged video head and you need to use good quality mini-dv video head cleaning tape to clean video head.

Mar 16, 2009 | Sony Handycam DCR-TRV33 Mini DV Digital...

1 Answer

Horizontal grey lines running whe camcorder in play mode


Its symptoms of dirty / clogged video head. Please use Sony video head cleaning tape to clean video head.

Jan 28, 2009 | Sony Handycam DCR-TRV140E Digital...

1 Answer

How do I upload video clips from my Sony DCR-DVD 108


I understand that you tube uses a different format to the camcorder.
What I do is copy the clip to memory card then plug memory card into a USB card reader & copy movie / photos to your hard disk drive.
then upload them to you tube later.
any problems just email me rward88@hotmail.com

Jan 20, 2009 | Sony Handycam DCR-PC9E Mini DV Digital...

1 Answer

Image issue on Sony DCR HC62 Handycam


This actually occurs on playback here is a snapshot of the screen and the gray bars.

b63ba56.jpg

Nov 14, 2008 | Cameras

1 Answer

Manual


Hi Mountainsoul I have found the manual for you to download at Sony's site HERE
Please rate my answer ,happy recording.

Aug 17, 2008 | Sony Handycam DCR-DVD103 DVD Camcorder

1 Answer

Sony DCR-HC38E Exporting miniDV video to computer


I had a similar problem with my Sharp camorder.
The preview window on XP simply displays corrupted images.
At the end, I bought a different firewire card and it worked for me.

Good luck.
Alex
New Zealand

Jan 15, 2008 | Cameras

Not finding what you are looking for?
Sony DCR-PC55 Mini DV Digital Camcorder Logo

Related Topics:

205 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Sony Video Cameras Experts

Larry Stiles
Larry Stiles

Level 2 Expert

287 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Jerry Greenberg
Jerry Greenberg

Level 3 Expert

1689 Answers

Are you a Sony Video Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...