With more than 500 million active users, Facebook has an extremely wide range of content displayed on its site at any time. At times, Facebook may deem this content inappropriate or unsafe and choose to disable a user\'s account, blocking them from further access to it.
Effectively making the case to Facebook that inappropriate content was the result of a misunderstanding or error may result in permission to re-open an account, but that is not always the case.
Facebook\'s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities
To keep its members\' information and identities safe, Facebook established a Statement of Rights and Responsibilities in 2009.
These guidelines set the expectations for users\' behavior and give Facebook the authority to shut down violaters.
The Statement of Rights and Responsibilities covers a wide range of actions and behaviors.
For example, users agree that they will not bully or harass each other, send spam through the site or infringe on another user\'s copyright or intellectual property.
By accessing Facebook, users agree to the terms of the statement. https://www.facebook.com/help/?page=203265519710759 - !/communitystandards/ Deactivated vs. Disabled Accounts
A Facebook user has the option to deactivate or disable his account. Deleting an account removes it completely from Facebook, without the possibility of re-opening it.
Deactivating an account basically turns it off.
Wall posts, friends and other information remain, but are hidden from search results.
The user can then go back and turn it on when he wishes.
While the user has the choice to delete or deactivate his account, he does not have the choice when his account is disabled.
Facebook is responsible for disabling accounts.
When the user tries to log in after his account has been disabled, he will be greeted with a message telling him he can no longer access his information. Reasons for Disabling Accounts
Facebook may disable an account for a number of reasons.
Content of a sexual or violent nature can lead Facebook to disable an account as can behavior that constitutes harassment, inappropriate advertising or promotion or other unsolicited contact.
Accounts created with fake names or false or misleading identities also violate Facebook\'s guidelines and standards and can be disabled.
Facebook may also disable an account that it believes has been the target of phishing or another scam that puts the user\'s security at risk. Re-Opening Disabled Accounts
When a user finds his account has been disabled, he can send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or use Facebook\'s online form (see Resources) to find out more information. https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=disabled
Facebook cannot show the user the content that caused his account to be disabled, but if the action was taken as the result of a clerical error, misunderstanding or security concerns, the account is more likely to be re-opened by Facebook staff.
It may take Facebook a few weeks to respond to the user and re-open the account.
If the user clearly violated Facebook\'s guidelines and standards, the account will not be re-opened.