Question about Epson Expression 1640XL Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Scanner not responding to preview scan

I have an epson expression 1640 xl scanner. when i turn it one - no problem at first . the operate light and ready light both boot up and stay green. then i open the epson scan wear and press the preview button. The scanner starts to scan - idincted by a bar that moves accros with message saying 'peview scan in process' but a second or so later i get the following message No Response from the scanner. Make sure the scanner is on and properly connected. If using the transparency Unit, remove the reflective document mat. At the same time the RED ERROR LIGHT on the scanner starts to flash. I have tried checking all the cables are in properly. I have switched the scanner machine off and rebooted the computor but this does not help. I have tried looking at trouble shooting on linee and only got the following information in relation to red flashing lights. That is to make sure the transport lock on the scanner is in the unlock position. I did this but no help. I have tried phoning epson scneer technical team who say the red flashing light indicates a mechanical fault. Has anyone else experienced this problem. Is there anything else i can try before spendoing a fortune on repair or replacment. I purchased the machine in 2001. THANKS

Posted by on

  • Anonymous Mar 19, 2014

    Scanner won't open for use through computer but status check shows 'scanner ready'. Will copy and print OK.

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Genius:

    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 2,985 Answers

Try this as a last ditch effort. Remove the software. Reboot the computer and come off line. Disable the Anti Virus program. Now install the soft ware. Then try. If the red light still flashes then assume it is new scanner time.

Posted on Aug 02, 2007

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi there,
Save hours of searching online or wasting money on unnecessary repairs by talking to a 6YA Expert who can help you resolve this issue over the phone in a minute or two.

Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.

Here's a link to this great service

Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

When scanning old photo, scanner stretches the image. how do i get it to scan image to same proportion as original?


Open Epson Scan and select Professional mode. Turn off the Auto Thumbnail option. Leave the target size As Original and then do a preview. Once the preveiw is complete in the preview windows draw a marquee around the area you want to scan and select scan.

Dec 24, 2009 | Epson Perfection 4490 Film / Flatbed...

1 Answer

Scanner stopped working in mid scan. Now freezes when asked to preview or scan.


reinstall the driver... if that does not work then your scanner is broken and needs to be looked at by a service technician...

I’m happy to assist further over the phone at https://www.6ya.com/expert/norman_d2fa496dce30c65d

Dec 23, 2009 | Epson Expression 836XL Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

How can i replace the software for my epson flatbead scanner 1640


Perfection 1640 software available here:

http://www.epson.co.uk/Scanners/Epson-Perfection-1640/Drivers-Support?supportLandingPage=true

Oct 02, 2009 | Epson Perfection 1640SU Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Stopped at start-up after months of no problems


Please trash the twain driver completely.
- Trash epson scan and epson scanner monitor from applications.
- Go to hd. Go to library, then application support. Trash epson scanner module.
- Go back to library. Click on image capture. Trash twain data sources.
- Go to the hd. Click on users. Click on your computer name. Click on Library. Click on preferences. Click on the epson folder. Trash epson scan.
- Empty the trash and restart your mac.
Log on to epson.com. Install the epson11926.dmg.

Apr 28, 2009 | Epson Expression 1640XL Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Lines through negative scans


Clean the glass surface with Iso propyl alcohol (Industrial grade is enough). Dont use any solvent. Just for immediate usage, you can use your aftershave and clean. Clen with a soft cloth.

S. Mohan, Chennai. India

Nov 28, 2008 | Epson Expression 1680 Professional Flatbed...

1 Answer

Epson 1640SU scanner, red line in all previews and scans


Most likely it is a spec of dust on the scanning sensor.  I recommend cleaning with a soft cloth and isopropyl alcohol.  More info here -  http://www.willshak.com/scanner/

Apr 29, 2008 | Epson Expression 1640XL Pro Flatbed...

1 Answer

No picture in preview box


Here's what Epson tech support sent me about this problem:


Thank you for contacting the Epson Connection.

The error you are receiving may be from the twain driver but also the
Scanner itself. Please have your scanner checked with a technician. You
may
find the neares one by clicking on the link below.

http://www.epson.ca/cgi-bin/ceStore/support/SupportIndex.jsp?BV_UseBVCookie=yes


If you require further assistance with this particular issue, please
ensure
all of our previous correspondence is contained in your reply, so we
can
better track the history of this issue.

If you have a different issue, please submit another E-form via our
website
(http://www.epson.com), and we will respond in a timely manner. Thank
you
again for contacting Epson.


Patrick H
Epson Connection

Oct 06, 2007 | Epson Perfection 1670 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Error message on Epson 1640 XL scanner


try to fix the usb cable or just replace it and reinstall the drive software disk. bye.

Sep 28, 2007 | Epson Expression 1640XL Pro Flatbed...

Not finding what you are looking for?
Epson Expression 1640XL Flatbed Scanner Logo

1,130 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Epson Office Equipment & Supplies Experts

Alun Cox

Level 3 Expert

2678 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Les Dickinson
Les Dickinson

Level 3 Expert

18425 Answers

Are you an Epson Office Equipment and Supply Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...