Question about Epson Expression 1640XL Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Scanner not responding to preview scan

I have an epson expression 1640 xl scanner. when i turn it one - no problem at first . the operate light and ready light both boot up and stay green. then i open the epson scan wear and press the preview button. The scanner starts to scan - idincted by a bar that moves accros with message saying 'peview scan in process' but a second or so later i get the following message No Response from the scanner. Make sure the scanner is on and properly connected. If using the transparency Unit, remove the reflective document mat. At the same time the RED ERROR LIGHT on the scanner starts to flash. I have tried checking all the cables are in properly. I have switched the scanner machine off and rebooted the computor but this does not help. I have tried looking at trouble shooting on linee and only got the following information in relation to red flashing lights. That is to make sure the transport lock on the scanner is in the unlock position. I did this but no help. I have tried phoning epson scneer technical team who say the red flashing light indicates a mechanical fault. Has anyone else experienced this problem. Is there anything else i can try before spendoing a fortune on repair or replacment. I purchased the machine in 2001. THANKS

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points


    An expert that got 10 achievements.


    An expert that got 5 achievements.


    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 2,985 Answers
Re: scanner not responding to preview scan

Try this as a last ditch effort. Remove the software. Reboot the computer and come off line. Disable the Anti Virus program. Now install the soft ware. Then try. If the red light still flashes then assume it is new scanner time.

Posted on Aug 02, 2007

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

When scanning old photo, scanner stretches the image. how do i get it to scan image to same proportion as original?

Open Epson Scan and select Professional mode. Turn off the Auto Thumbnail option. Leave the target size As Original and then do a preview. Once the preveiw is complete in the preview windows draw a marquee around the area you want to scan and select scan.

Dec 24, 2009 | Epson Perfection 4490 Film / Flatbed...

1 Answer

Scanner stopped working in mid scan. Now freezes when asked to preview or scan.

reinstall the driver... if that does not work then your scanner is broken and needs to be looked at by a service technician...

Dec 23, 2009 | Epson Expression 836XL Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

How can i replace the software for my epson flatbead scanner 1640

Perfection 1640 software available here:

Oct 02, 2009 | Epson Perfection 1640SU Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Stopped at start-up after months of no problems

Please trash the twain driver completely.
- Trash epson scan and epson scanner monitor from applications.
- Go to hd. Go to library, then application support. Trash epson scanner module.
- Go back to library. Click on image capture. Trash twain data sources.
- Go to the hd. Click on users. Click on your computer name. Click on Library. Click on preferences. Click on the epson folder. Trash epson scan.
- Empty the trash and restart your mac.
Log on to Install the epson11926.dmg.

Apr 28, 2009 | Epson Expression 1640XL Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Lines through negative scans

Clean the glass surface with Iso propyl alcohol (Industrial grade is enough). Dont use any solvent. Just for immediate usage, you can use your aftershave and clean. Clen with a soft cloth.

S. Mohan, Chennai. India

Nov 28, 2008 | Epson Expression 1680 Professional Flatbed...

1 Answer

Epson 1640SU scanner, red line in all previews and scans

Most likely it is a spec of dust on the scanning sensor.  I recommend cleaning with a soft cloth and isopropyl alcohol.  More info here -

Apr 29, 2008 | Epson Expression 1640XL Pro Flatbed...

1 Answer

No picture in preview box

Here's what Epson tech support sent me about this problem:

Thank you for contacting the Epson Connection.

The error you are receiving may be from the twain driver but also the
Scanner itself. Please have your scanner checked with a technician. You
find the neares one by clicking on the link below.

If you require further assistance with this particular issue, please
all of our previous correspondence is contained in your reply, so we
better track the history of this issue.

If you have a different issue, please submit another E-form via our
(, and we will respond in a timely manner. Thank
again for contacting Epson.

Patrick H
Epson Connection

Oct 06, 2007 | Epson Perfection 1670 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Error message on Epson 1640 XL scanner

try to fix the usb cable or just replace it and reinstall the drive software disk. bye.

Sep 28, 2007 | Epson Expression 1640XL Pro Flatbed...

Not finding what you are looking for?
Epson Expression 1640XL Flatbed Scanner Logo

1,085 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Epson Scanners Experts


Level 3 Expert

2963 Answers


Level 2 Expert

68 Answers


Level 3 Expert

436 Answers

Are you an Epson Scanner Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides