Question about Visioneer OneTouch 8920 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Preview OK but scan button not available...importing from PS CS2

New to here, but have been with the computer age since the mid-70's writing Cobol, Fortran and Basic, but long forgotten and had my first "PC" in early 80's, a Kaypro with no hard drive and hanged with the BBS back then and have created digial art since you had to do it pixel by pixel and ascii art. Later art can be seen here, My first scanner was a small hand-held B&W scanner, can't remember the co.? OK, have been around the block a time or two, and built over 500 PCs from scratch and refurbished at least 500 more with donated PC's with OPS from Win 98 to XP Pro for under-privileged kids. So, I am not a newbie at 54 years old... BUT this 8920 has me puzzled right now. It has been amazing since purchased. I haven't used it several months and now when I try to import into PS CS2, I get the preview option which works correctly and shows the image, but the scan "button" is not available? I have uninstalled the the 8920 software/drivers and re-installed the latest drivers..including disconnecting the scanner, blah, blah as per the usual instructions. perhaps I am just getting old and tired, but just can't quite figure this one out. probably simple as most I find for other folks..."a plumbers pipes always leak".... Any help greatly appreciated. thanks, woodro2 S

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points


    An expert that got 10 achievements.


    An expert that got 5 achievements.


    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 2,985 Answers
Re: Preview OK but scan button not available...importing...

Very verbose and you have lots of experience - just like me except I can give you 25 years- But to get on. You did not say what operating system you are working. Or the age of the Scanner It is important. Scanners made during the 95/8/ME era were set up for DOS commands from the computer. Now we are in the NT age The computer sends out NTFS commands and scanner cant figure it out. Some scanners were dual system. And you could fool around with the program compatibility facility. But by and large old scanners should be buried.

Posted on Aug 02, 2007

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Preview window wrong size

At the bottom of the Epson Scan software is a 'Configuration' button, click it and a new window opens.

It defaults to the Preview tab, and at the top it asks the Preview Window size. On the right is a drop down list - Large, Medium, Small. Select your choice and click OK. Done.

Dec 30, 2013 | Epson Perfection V500 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

How to scan in hp scanjet g2410

First install the required drivers for the HP Scanjet G2410 Flatbed Scanner.
Simple way is to scan is use PICASA

Download picasa 3.8
  1. Make sure everything is connected and turned on!
  2. Put the photo on the glass of the scanner - face down
  3. In Picasa, click 'Import'
  4. Click the arrow for the drop down list of devices. You should see your scanner listed ... select it
  5. Now you will see a screen that depends on your scanner. There should be an option to 'Preview'. Click that.
  6. You should now see your picture, there may be some settings you want to change here, but if it looks OK then
  7. Click the button to Scan
  8. When it's done scanning, you're back at the standard Picasa Import screen. Click Import all.
  9. Select a folder to put it in. I made a folder called 'Old Photos' for the first one, then, for each subsequent scanned photo, I selected that existing folder from the drop-down list.
If you satisfy with my solution please rate/vote for me.
Rating/Voting will encourage me to help others

Jun 09, 2011 | HP Scanjet G2410 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Epson 3170 scanner - have been scanning fine for over 2 years now suddenly says 'unable to write to file' ?! Actually seems to scan OK in preview just will not write file....... any ideas ? Scott

Check to see where it is writing to (which directory) and make sure the directory exists and you do not have duplicate filenames. Check the free space on the drive you are writing to. Run an error check on the drive. If it is a shared folder/directory then check your permissions.

Mar 24, 2011 | Epson Perfection 3170 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Where is the power button on a canoscan lide 70 scanner?

There is no power button on mine. It gets its power from the high speed usb so it is always ready. Every time I boot up my mac I hear the scanner go thru a warm up scan. I have downloaded the twain plugin for photoshop and access it that way. The lamp will go on when you preview scan something.

Feb 19, 2011 | Canon CanoScan LiDE 70 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

I own a PowerLook 2100XL-USB scanner . I was doing some scans and it was working fine . I got to the 3rd scan and it would not do the scan. It powered up fine and even did the preview image fine of the...

This is a general solution for all IT products. ( I dont have PowerLook2100XL). Uninstall the scanner and disconnect. Start the computer and run scandisk/chkdisk and eliminate any errors in the OS. Restart the computer and load the scanner driver and scanning software. Normally this hsould work. Good Luck
S. Mohan

Oct 17, 2009 | Umax PowerLook 2100XL Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Hp scanjet 8250. I want to set my scanner to default to PDF when I am trying to email. That is the way we do most of our scanning and right now it defaults to RTF.

Have you considered simply scanning from within Adobe Acrobat or similar software that produces .pdf and then use the email feature within Acrobat?

As I look over the HP User Manual, I can't see any method to set the default output. It simply says...

Use the E-MAIL button() to scan documents or pictures and insert them in an e-mail message as an attachment. You must have an Internet connection and a supported e-mail application.
1. Place the original face down on the scanner glass or face up in the ADF. If you are scanning two-sided originals from an ADF, slide the DUPLEX switch to two-sided mode.
2.Press the E-MAIL button().A message appears asking if the original is a document or a picture.
3.Select Document or Picture, and click OK.Note:A preview image will not appear when scanning from the ADF. To change this preview setting, see the HP Photo & Imaging software Help.
4. Select the final scan area (the area inside the dotted lines) in the preview image.
5. Make adjustments to the preview image if needed.
6. Click Accept.The final scan area is scanned and your e-mail application is opened. The scanned image is added as an attachment to the e-mail message.
7. The Save As dialog box appears. Type a file name and choose a file type, and click OK.
8. Complete the e-mail as usual.

Aug 07, 2009 | HP Scanners

1 Answer

Will not do final scan

What version of windows are you using? Which software are you using to do the scan, and what version? It sounds like either the version of scanning software is incompatible with the version of windows, The USB connection (Assuming it is connected via USB) is a older USB connect (1.0 or 1.1) and a update to the firmware is causing a fault in the final scan, or finally the scanner has gone defunk... time to get a new one.

Jun 19, 2009 | Visioneer OneTouch 9000 Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

An error message when i try to scan

On the CanoScan Toolbox program bar, select settings. Then hit the Browse button next to "Select Folder where Temporary Files are Saved" and go up one level to Canon from TB50. Then hit OK. This fixed the problem for me after Microsoft Updateinstalled updated Canon drivers. It looks like the geniuses at Canon are either having you write to a write-protect folder or one that only has system permissions and then giving you a disk-full error.

Mar 25, 2009 | Canon CanoScan LiDE 70 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer


I have a scanner Vuegen scan brisa 620 st
The change computers and operating system I do not support this model
What can I do?

Jan 28, 2008 | AcerScan 620ST Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Coolscan 8000 Program Buttons not functioning

Have you changed computers -to say VISTA? Tell us more about your computer

Aug 08, 2007 | Nikon Super Coolscan 8000 ED Film Scanner

Not finding what you are looking for?
Visioneer OneTouch 8920 Flatbed Scanner Logo

Related Topics:

43 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Visioneer Scanners Experts

Cindy Wells

Level 3 Expert

4719 Answers

Mohan Sriraman
Mohan Sriraman

Level 2 Expert

490 Answers

Sanath Kumar V

Level 3 Expert

684 Answers

Are you a Visioneer Scanner Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides