Question about Microtek ScanMaker 6800 Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

No image obtained on preview scanning or actual scanning

Operating system: Windows XP Scanwizard 5 version 6.30 (on Microtek site for ScanMaker 6800) The Scanwizard software recognizes the 6800 scanner (USB connection to computer). When you use the interface to begin a preview scan or a full scan you can hear sounds of the stepper motors carrying out the scan. However, when the scan is reported to be complete no image is displayed in the scan window (or a null image). The same results have been seen with different versions of Scanwizard as well as with different computers (Windows 2000). Is there a hardware problem with the 6800? Is this a fixable problem? Are there any hardware diagnostics that can be carried out? Microtek never even replied to my support email query on this problem.

Posted by on

  • 1 more comment 
  • Anonymous Jul 16, 2008

    There's a setting in the software that is preventing you from getting the image. All of the hardware is fine and there is no conflicting software. We had this problem and found the magic checkbox, clicked it, and everything was perfect.



    But we've now reinstalled on a new computer and we can't remember the setting!



    You can see the image in a special preview mode, by the way, just to assure you that it's all working properly.

  • palmerhart Mar 21, 2009

    I have the i800 but experience the same problem. Scanner works fine with photoshop or other applications but I like the features of Scanwizard. When I click "Overview" I get a blank screen. Scanner works fine but just not with this software. Need help!

  • dotenduser Apr 10, 2009

    with scanmaker pro and XP, I had to install the CMS (monitor gamma correction) before the preview would work.

×

Ad

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

I'm trying to hook up a Microtek 4800 USB scanner to my 64 bit HP p6710f PC?

I'm needing a 64bit driver I think?

I know of Vuescan, and most other known drivers, but it seems like I need to some type of 'unknown' driver?

I had my Dell Vostro 200 XP/64 running this 4800 scanner with a couple M$ hotfixes, but I can't find any way to get it operating with my p6710f? HELP?

Jeff jrstrong@aol.com

Posted on Feb 11, 2012

Ad
  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Genius:

    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 2,985 Answers

First thing to do is un install and reinstall the software. Then consider - what other software could be running the could conflict[A graphics program for example]is to try another software for scanning if available. The other thing to consider is the age of the scanner- if it is from the DOS era-95/8/ME- then it will like as not not run- there is a firmware problem. Scanners have a controller chip - DOS era devices are looking for DOS commands - and they are getting NTFS commands- various makers like Microtek tried driver fudges- but they did not work. It has to be a NTFS scanner for NTFS commands.

Posted on Jul 11, 2007

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
A 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
The service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

2 Answers

Scanmaker 3830 driver for windows 7


this helped me with my scanmaker 3830 on windows 7 and windows 8 64bit too
You can download: ScanWizard 5 version 6.63 Here: ftp://microtek:microtek@files165.cyberlynk.net/microtek/pcfiles/drv_sw5_v6_63_ad.exe
Extract to folder on desktop. 1. Plug in your Scanner 2. Go to Control Panel (Windows 7,8 - 64 and 32 bit) 3. Go to Device Manager 4. Go to Imaging devices (or Other devices) 5. Find what windows have installed Right Click 6. Update Driver Software.. 7. Click - Browse my computer for driver software 8. Click - Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer 9. Click - Have Disk 10. Browse to your desktop or position where you extracted 6.63, point to "....drv_sw5_v6_63_ad\Disk1\Vista\AMD64\..." Pick any of INF files I picked first 11. You will see 4800 Scanner and USB 2.0 Scanner, I picked first 4800 then USB 2.0 and both works., install the scan wizard, restart the computer

Jun 25, 2012 | Microtek scanmaker 3840

2 Answers

I cant use my scanner..i need to install it.how?????????


Step 1. Install Microtek ScanWizard 5
Install the ScanWizard 5 scanner driver (included in your Microtek CD-ROM) as instructed in the Installing and Getting Started booklet(a separate document that came with your scanner package).
For ScanWizard 5 to work properly after installation, the correct scanner model should be properly connected to your host beforehand and it needs to be "powered on" before launching the software.

Jul 12, 2010 | Microtek scanmaker 3840

3 Answers

Microtek scanmaker 3800 windows 7 compatible


You can download: ScanWizard 5 version 6.63 Here: ftp://microtek:microtek@files165.cyberlynk.net/microtek/pcfiles/drv_sw5_v6_63_ad.exe
Extract to folder on desktop. 1. Plug in your Scanner 2. Go to Control Panel (Windows 7 - 64 and 32 bit) 3. Go to Device Manager 4. Go to Imaging devices (or Other devices) 5. Find what windows have installed Right Click 6. Update Driver Software.. 7. Click - Browse my computer for driver software 8. Click - Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer 9. Click - Have Disk 10. Browse to your desktop or position where you extracted 6.63, point to "....drv_sw5_v6_63_ad\Disk1\Vista\AMD64\..." Pick any of INF files I picked first 11. You will see 4800 Scanner and USB 2.0 Scanner, I picked first 4800 then USB 2.0 and both works.
I managed before to do it with simple install but well, it works .. ;)

Apr 02, 2010 | Microtek ScanMaker 3800 Flatbed Scanner

3 Answers

I need driver for microtek scanmaker 3840


you can download it from

http://www.driverskit.com/freedownload/Scanner/Microtek/ScanMaker_3840_3830_3800_ScanWizard_5_5_93/14515.html

Feb 26, 2010 | Microtek scanmaker 3840

1 Answer

Scanmaker 3800 works perfectly with XP. Vista reports : scanner not readt check connections. Would appreciate a so;ution. Device Manager also reports device is working, No conflicts.


This works for Windows 7 I think it works for vista too:
You can download: ScanWizard 5 version 6.63 Here: ftp://microtek:microtek@files165.cyberlynk.net/microtek/pcfiles/drv_sw5_v6_63_ad.exe
Extract to folder on desktop. 1. Plug in your Scanner 2. Go to Control Panel (Windows 7 - 64 and 32 bit) 3. Go to Device Manager 4. Go to Imaging devices (or Other devices) 5. Find what windows have installed Right Click 6. Update Driver Software.. 7. Click - Browse my computer for driver software 8. Click - Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer 9. Click - Have Disk 10. Browse to your desktop or position where you extracted 6.63, point to "....drv_sw5_v6_63_ad\Disk1\Vista\AMD64\..." Pick any of INF files I picked first 11. You will see 4800 Scanner and USB 2.0 Scanner, I picked first 4800 then USB 2.0 and both works.
I managed before to do it with simple install but well, it works .. ;)

Sep 07, 2009 | Microtek ScanMaker 3800 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Scan maker 3860


Dear Taher_jaru ,
you can download the driver for your Scanner , from here:

http://www.opendrivers.com/driver/264635/microtek-scanmaker-3860-scanner-scanwizard-5-v6.520-windows-98-me-2000-xp-vista-multilanguage-free-download.html

Be Happy Always

Regards

Oct 25, 2008 | Microtek scanmaker 3840

1 Answer

Scan maker 3840 using with scanwizard 5


microtek sanmaker 3840 setup software

Aug 28, 2008 | Microtek scanmaker 3840

4 Answers

Installer or microteck scanmaker 3840


  • I need
    Driver
Microtek ScanMaker 3840 Scanner ScanWizard 5 v6.310 Windows 98/ME/2000/XP Multilanguage

May 20, 2008 | Microtek scanmaker 3840

1 Answer

Can't uninstall microtek 5900 scanner


This is a funny problem. Try & locate SCanwizard 5 files and delete them. Complete the registry deletion as suggested. Run scandisk. Install and uninstall Scanwizard 5.

Mar 07, 2008 | Microtek SCANMAKER 5900 Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

How do I find instructions on How to download and install ScanWizard 5 software to my computer?


I found it here.. and there .. http://www.opendrivers.com/driver/233289/microtek-scanmaker-series-scanwizard-5-v6.11-windows-98-me-2000-xp-free-download.html http://kmkm.dk/scanner/MicroTek/33289/Microtek-ScanMaker-Series-ScanWizard-5-v6.11-Windows-98-ME-2000-XP.html

Dec 26, 2006 | Microtek ScanMaker V6UPL Flatbed Scanner

Not finding what you are looking for?
Microtek ScanMaker 6800 Flatbed Scanner Logo

457 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Microtek Office Equipment & Supplies Experts

Cindy Wells

Level 3 Expert

5341 Answers

Alun Cox

Level 3 Expert

2678 Answers

Tony

Level 3 Expert

2600 Answers

Are you a Microtek Office Equipment and Supply Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...