Question about Cameras

1 Answer

Is there a depth of field preview on the nikon em?

Posted by on

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    One Above All:

    The expert with highest point at the last day of the past 12 weeks.

    Top Expert:

    An expert who has finished #1 on the weekly Top 10 Fixya Experts Leaderboard.

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

  • Cameras Master
  • 102,366 Answers

Sorry, no.

Posted on Nov 30, 2012

  • 9 more comments 
  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

  • kakima Nov 30, 2012

    Sorry, no.

×

Ad

5 Suggested Answers

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
New users get to try the service completely Free afterwhich it costs $6 per call and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad
eastpole
  • 22 Answers

SOURCE: depth of field preeview button

That's a really good question, Denise.

One problem is that a D70 viewfinder is dark to start with. I don't notice this when shooting with mine unless I pick up my old Pentax Spotmatic for some reason, and then I am reminded how bright an optical viewfinder can be. So, in many cases, you will find the DOF preview useless not because it isn't working, but because the scene is simply too dark for you to see the differences.

Second thing is to notice what DOF you are seeing when you DON'T have DOF pressed. I think all modern cameras give you viewfinder at wide open aperatures -- so until you press DOF, you are seeing the focal depth produced by your lens' widest aperature. So don't expect to see much difference if you hit DOF with the aperture set at 2.2 on a F/1.8 lens -- you're comparing very similar lens apertures.

In fact, I notice that with my F/1.8 lens, I don't see any differences in where my focus lies until I have closed the lens down to maybe F/8. But beyond there, I can clearly see that more and more of the scene is in focus.

If you're still curious but not seeing it, try some test shots. Change the aperture and using shutter time to compensate, and see if your photo DOF matches the preview.

Hope that makes sense!
-- eastpole

Posted on Dec 07, 2007

  • 5 Answers

SOURCE: nikon d300 depth of field button cover replacement

I think the factory repair service is the best choice for this type repair. The El Segundo location worked well for me. You may be able to contact them by phone (number on the Nikon web site) and ask about cost, but if you ship the camera to them they will give you a quote before starting work.

Posted on Dec 02, 2009

  • 102366 Answers

SOURCE: why doesn't f2.8 show depth of field?

Yes. But the operative word is "bit." Because of the small sensor size of the P90, you have a short lens. Zoomed all the way out, it's 4.6mm. A 4.6mm lens is going to give you quite a bit of depth-of-field, no matter what aperture you use. Even zoomed in, it's 110.4mm.

Compact cameras simply can't give you narrow depth of field. Not without altering the laws of physics.

Posted on Dec 22, 2009

  • 11967 Answers

SOURCE: Depth of Field Preview Buttom

Your D60 does not have a depth-of-field preview.

Posted on Jul 13, 2010

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Is there a way to check the depth of field on the Nikon N2020?


Other than consulting a depth of field chart or calculator, no, unfortunately.

Mar 09, 2012 | Nikon N2020 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

I hae a Canon AE-1. Holding the camera so that one if facing the lens: at the bottom right, at the 5:00 position, up against the lens assembly, is a black switch or button or whatever you want to call...


It's normally referred to as a depth of field preview. It's used to stop down the lens to whatever aperture you've set it to, so you can preview the depth of field to see how much of your scene will be in focus at any given aperture. It's not often used, but can be important in macro and portrait photography when a shallow depth of field and critical point of focus are both necessary.

Sep 18, 2011 | Canon EOS-AE-1 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

How do i enhance the depth of field using a NIKON coolpix S8000. I can't get the background to blur


You want to narrow the depth of field. Unfortunately, compact cameras with their small sensors make this difficult. Below is a tip giving pointers to narrow the depth of field as much as possible.
http://www.fixya.com/support/r9564373-controlling_depth_field

Dec 30, 2010 | Nikon COOLPIX S8000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Depth of Field Preview Buttom


Your D60 does not have a depth-of-field preview.

Jul 13, 2010 | Nikon D60 Digital Camera with 18-55mm lens

1 Answer

The depth of field preview function of my Nikon F80 (N80)


needs repairing at a qualified shop, when was it last cleaned or serviced ?

Jun 21, 2010 | Nikon F80 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

I have a Nikon N60 w/all the original equipment and case. Hardly used. What is a good asking price to sell?


In the UK it would realistically go for between £40-£50 if complete and in the original box, and prices are still falling. An excellent unboxed example will be £20-£30. Expect prices to be even lower in North America.

My last one was boxed and virtually unused with the kit zoom lens for free on FreeCycle.

It's not a popular model, and the lack of a depth of field preview button on that model means that even photography students tend to shun it. The kit 28-80mm lens is OK and although it can be used on digital Nikons it's not popular as the effective zoom range magnifies up on their smaller image sensors to become a not-very-useful 42-120mm

Jan 20, 2010 | Nikon N60 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

Nikon FA depth of field preview lever sticky


The small lever on the inside of the mirror box is what controls the aperture. If the lever on the outside is sticking, it would only hold the lever on the inside down so you would be stopped down all the time. You can try a small amount of lighter fluid at the base of the outside lever and work it back and forth to see if it would free up.

Jan 19, 2010 | Nikon FA 35mm SLR Camera

1 Answer

Why doesn't f2.8 show depth of field?


Yes. But the operative word is "bit." Because of the small sensor size of the P90, you have a short lens. Zoomed all the way out, it's 4.6mm. A 4.6mm lens is going to give you quite a bit of depth-of-field, no matter what aperture you use. Even zoomed in, it's 110.4mm.

Compact cameras simply can't give you narrow depth of field. Not without altering the laws of physics.

Jul 01, 2009 | Nikon COOLPIX P90 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Nikon d70


Check the depth of field preview with the lens on and the camera on. If the aperture does not react, it may be a problem with the lens rather than the camera. Check the camera with another lens if you have one.

Dec 26, 2007 | Nikon D70s Digital Camera

1 Answer

Depth of field preeview button


That's a really good question, Denise.

One problem is that a D70 viewfinder is dark to start with. I don't notice this when shooting with mine unless I pick up my old Pentax Spotmatic for some reason, and then I am reminded how bright an optical viewfinder can be. So, in many cases, you will find the DOF preview useless not because it isn't working, but because the scene is simply too dark for you to see the differences.

Second thing is to notice what DOF you are seeing when you DON'T have DOF pressed. I think all modern cameras give you viewfinder at wide open aperatures -- so until you press DOF, you are seeing the focal depth produced by your lens' widest aperature. So don't expect to see much difference if you hit DOF with the aperture set at 2.2 on a F/1.8 lens -- you're comparing very similar lens apertures.

In fact, I notice that with my F/1.8 lens, I don't see any differences in where my focus lies until I have closed the lens down to maybe F/8. But beyond there, I can clearly see that more and more of the scene is in focus.

If you're still curious but not seeing it, try some test shots. Change the aperture and using shutter time to compensate, and see if your photo DOF matches the preview.

Hope that makes sense!
-- eastpole

Nov 28, 2007 | Nikon D70 Digital Camera with 18-70mm Lens

Not finding what you are looking for?
Cameras Logo

Related Topics:

19 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

yadayada
yadayada

Level 3 Expert

76630 Answers

Are you a Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...