Re: Entourage crashes when I try to delete "sent...
If you suspect that something is corrupted at the end of the message, you might need to recreate the messsage. if you're sending a message with an attachment, the attachment might be too large. Try sending the message by deleting the images on your signature.
a 6ya Technician can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repair professionals here in the US. click here to Talk to a Technician (only for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need. Goodluck!
- If you need clarification, ask it in the comment box above.
- Better answers use proper spelling and grammar.
- Provide details, support with references or personal experience.
Tell us some more! Your answer needs to include more details to help people.You can't post answers that contain an email address.Please enter a valid email address.The email address entered is already associated to an account.Login to postPlease use English characters only.
Tip: The max point reward for answering a question is 15.
I've been through something like that and researched it thoroughly. I'm afraid you won't like the answer. Unlike facebook posts, which you are free to delete and it will no longer be available, facebook messages are more like email, in the sense that all you can delete is the copy you can see. If the message has already been "delivered", you can not remove or delete the copy (or copies) at the receiver end. Best you can do is follow up with an explanation or apology, or do whatever damage control you can come up with. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.
If you cannot delete email in Outlook Express and the program crashes frequently the problem might be because of corrupt storage folders - typically, the Inbox and the Deleted Items. As you may know, the email program uses the Inbox to store all incoming email, Sent Items for the messages you have sent and Delete Items for the messages that have been discarded. Now if you cannot delete an email in Outlook Express the cause of your troubles might be faultly or corrupt Inbox or Delete Items folders.
Fixing these two folders is not difficult and for that we need to find out where these folders reside on the hard disk. In the Outlook Express program, go to "Tools" -> "Options" and move to the "Maintenance" tab. You'll find a "Store Folder..." button; click on it. This brings up a small window with the path to the storage folders directory. Use the left mouse button and click to select the entire path. Now right-click and choose the "Copy" option. Close the Outlook Express program.
Open the "Run" program from the "Start" menu and paste the full path (CONTROL-V or right-click -> Paste). The Outlook Express storage folders are hidden files. You may need to force Windows to show them. From the top menu, select "Tools" -> "Folder Options" and then from the "View" tab, check "Show Hidden Files and Folders". Now simply select the Deleted Items.dbx file and send it to the recycle bin. Don't worry; Outlook Express will create a new one when you start it again.
If you still cannot delete the email after manually removing the Deleted Items.dbx file, I suggest you do the same for the inbox storage folder. However, deleting that will also remove all of your store email messages. So first select and drag all the messages in a temporary folder (create on the Desktop); you can then drag them back to the inbox when you open Outlook Express again and it creates the inbox afresh.
Connection Doctor would help here, but unfortunately Apple did not add this feature until 10.4. :-(
If I understand your problem correctly, you can send mail successfully, but trying later to access those messages in your Sent mailbox results in this error message. If you are using an IMAP account, you may need to visit Preferences / Accounts / Mailbox Behaviors and uncheck the box for "Store sent messages on the server." If you are using a POP account, it's possible the mailbox (or a Mail preference file) is simply corrupt and will need to be deleted and recreated. Unfortunately, the Panther and Tiger mail systems are known to be susceptible to certain types of corruption.
This may be due to the means of authentication being used -- by the STMP server you are sending to and/or the authentication options selected in your Entourage setup. Mail servers commonly establish restrictions based on authentication to restrict who can send mail through them as a means of preventing spam.
Cable companies for example, and possibly your campus network, often restrict the sending of Mail to those computers that have a local connection to their network based on the IP address they are using -- i.e. where you plugged in or which wireless adapter you are connected to. Alternatively, many others require your mail client to present your user name and password to authenticate... or possibly to authenticate only in those cases when you are not connected locally.
So... to get an iron clad answer, you need to find out from the Mail server administrators what type of authentication is required. This information is often listed on "help" web pages describing how to set up your mail client... or call them if you can. Alternatively, check your Entourage setup to see how it is contacting the server for outgoing mail. Try changing the authentication method to use Password authentication if it is not already. Ultimately, the mail administrator for your Mail server is likely your best help resource.
I don't think this is related to your Quicktime upgrade. What you are describing sounds like a Finder crash and reboot. This would cause all Finder windows (folders, icons, etc.) to disappear from the screen, but would not affect any other open application such as Safari or Entourage.
In Applications/Utilities there is a tool called Console. Launch it. Click the icon "Show Log List." Click the flippy triangle next to ~/Library/Logs. Click the triangle for CrashReporter. Click on Finder.crash.log. Yeah, it's a lot of gobbledygook, but see if the crash times correlate with the times you saw your screen refresh.
The source of crashes like this could be a startup item (System Preferences / Accounts), a third-party System Preference, a corrupt preference file, or a dozen other things.
Create a new temporary user account. Log out and log in to that account. Work from it for a while. Do you still get the resets? If not, the problem is not in the OS, and is not a public System Preference. You may have to remove your startup items and deinstall any additional System Preferences you have added to see if the problem goes away; then install new versions of each of them until the problem comes back (if it ever does -- the problem might have been an old version).