Question about Visioneer PaperPort 6100 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Previewing or scanning

When I hooked my scanner up and performed a test preview, it worked fine, and the next time I went to do a preview scan, it scanned completely black... I cannot get it to scan the page in the scanner

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points


    An expert that got 10 achievements.


    An expert that got 5 achievements.


    An expert who has answered 1,000 questions.

  • Master
  • 2,985 Answers
Re: Previewing or scanning

Is the lamp on? Try uninstalling the software and re install If the lamp remains out check your connections. Try the Visoneer Web site Tech support But I feer is the lamp is out , may mean a new scanner Often the price of lamps and labor preclude repair.

Posted on May 28, 2007

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

2 Answers

Scanjet 4600 is stuck halfway through scan

About 2,970 results (0.68 seconds) Search Results

    HP Scanjet Scanners - Scanning Stops at the Preview ...

    Hewlett?PackardWhen attempting to scan from the front panel of the device, the Scan Preview window displays normally but does not show the document or picture being ...Missing: 4600

    Scan stalls half way through and never finishes - HP ... > ... > Scanning / Faxing

    Jan 11, 2011 - 7 posts
    More times than not, the scan stops part way through (example attached) and then (after several minutes) displays the messages below:.Missing: scanjet ‎4600

    issue Scanjet 5590 windows 7 Business 64 bits - stop during > ... > Scanning / Faxing

    Jan 19, 2010 - 10 posts

Feb 05, 2016 | Scanners

1 Answer

How can I save a scan to my computer? I just got a printer/scanner and there are no Save, or Save As options in the HP scan software?? Help!!!

I would like to know the following, please get back to me
* HP Printer model
* Operating System
* Is the HP Software installed..

as a work around you can perform the steps below to save a scan in the computer.

Try to scan using one of the two methods below:

1. Scanning from Microsoft Paint:

Click Start, click All Programs, click Accessories, and then click Paint.
Click File and then click From Scanner or Camera.
If this option is not available, Please let me know.
If more than one image source is connected, select the
HP all-in-one product and click Next. The scanning software will appear.
Preview the image by selecting Preview, or click "Scan" to scan the image directly into Paint.
The image will open in paint for editing and/or saving.

2. Using Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)

Verify that the all-in-one product power is turned on and the printer cable is properly connected.

Click Start.

Click Control panel.

Click Scanner and Camera Wizard.

Follow the Scanner and Camera Wizard instructions to scan images to the computer.

May 20, 2010 | HP Scanners

1 Answer

Hi, I have 2 computers one laptop Sony Vaio and a

If the windows7 operating system is 32 bit on one computer and, 64 bit on the other the drivers will not work on both computers. check this and, if this is right; download the correct drivers for each machine and, install them.

May 09, 2010 | HP Scanjet G4010 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Hi, I have 2 computers one laptop Sony Vaio and a regular desktop both with windows 7 running for a while now. The drivers from HP that i downloaded worked fine on the laptop, but on the desktop they are...

My first though is that these two computers are running different versions of Windows 7. The scanner will run on Windows 7, but, HP states "some features may not be available." Did you get Windows 7 drivers from this link? If one computer is running Windows 7 Home and One is running Windows 7 professional, there would be a difference in hardware support. Professional has more compatibility than Home Premium. I suggest that you: 1. COMPLETELY Uninstall the scanner from the computer that is not working. This includes running a registry cleaner following the standard uninstall. 2. Download the correct Windows 7 software for your version of Windows 7 3. Test the product.
HP posted the driver in January 2010. I hope this helps you.

Mar 21, 2010 | HP Scanjet G4010 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

Scanning 110 negative film

I just finished scanning many 110 film strips. You need to lay the strip along the inside edge of slot A and scan in normal preview mode. On the preview strip, put a marquee around each individual photo and scan each one separately. Worked fine for me.

Sep 27, 2009 | Epson Perfection 3490 PHOTO Flatbed...

1 Answer

Same problem scanning blank help! Appears to work fine then scan comes out blank.

Hi crb,

Initiate a scan using the preview option. It should show the scanned item and should allow you to select the area to be scanned for output using the click and drag method.

Start by selecting the whole page and click preview again. The results should be different this time.

Reselect the area you want and click scan

Hope this helps,

Aug 17, 2009 | Scanners

2 Answers

Scanner not working

Do you mean to say that while previewing the light moves and you are able to seek the preview, but the light not moving while you give a scan command?

If this is true this is something unusual. May be you have some hardware problem.

S. Mohan Chennai

Mar 07, 2008 | HP ScanJet 2400 Flatbed Scanner

1 Answer

No Scan Job Checked?

On my scanner 'microtek i 410' when working in Advanced programme, when i go to 'SCAN TO...' I get this message "No scan Job checked". How can this be remedied?

Feb 13, 2008 | Microtek ScanMaker s400

1 Answer

Epson perfection 4990 photo scanner

Please do the following to scan slides or negatives in manual mode of the Epson TWAIN:
For scanning transparencies in HOME mode - for EPSON SCAN models, not Epson Twain/Manual mode models.
1) In the program you are working from, begin the scanning process. If working in FULL AUTO MODE as the scan begins click PAUSE or CANCEL, then change "Full Auto Mode" to "Home Mode".
2) You will now see all Epson Scan settings displayed. If the scanner has not previewed automatically, click the large preview button to get a visual of what is on the scanner.
3) Ensure the settings on the Epson Scan are correct for what you wish to scan. For example, the DOCUMENT TYPE for transparencies must be either "Color negative film", "B&W Negative Film" or "Positive film"*.
* FILM here indicates that the item being scanned is transparent to light; this setting is also used for slide scanning. Positive indicates that the image is in true colors (ie the grass is green and sky is blue), whereas negative indicates reversed colors, as produced in some photo finishing processes.)
If the DOCUMENT SOURCE is set for a flatbed related option, ie PHOTO, the scanner is looking for reflective items and will not activate the backlight in the transparency unit. If the DOCUMENT TYPES for "FILM" are greyed out or cannot be selected, close the Epson Scan, reseat the power/communication cable connecting the base of the scanner to the transparency unit, then reopen Epson Scan and try again.
NOTE for PROFESSIONAL MODE users: DOCUMENT TYPE should read TRANSPARENCY for film scans.
4) Ensure the other scanner settings are correct for the type of scan you are doing. For example:
IMAGE TYPE should be color photo for all positive or negative color transparencies, or BLACK AND WHITE PHOTO for monochrome transparencies.
DESTINATION is unimportant, however you should select a RESOLUTION appropriate to what you plan to do with the scans. (There are no hard and fast rules for DPI. As a general guideline, if you are saving scans at original size, a resolution ranging from 400-600 DPI should capture enough information to faithfully record the image. If the slide or negative will be enlarged, you will need to increase this DPI accordingly. We have no means to calculate what your exact needs will be in this situation; you will need to experiment and view the output to gauge the appropriate input DPI from the scanner.)
PREVIEW. If your scanner is doing a THUMBNAIL PREVIEW, the slides will automatically preview and appear in boxes on the left side. Here, you can select or deselect the slides you wish to scan.
If you recieve a message that the scanner could not find the film, or you see in the preview that part of the scan is cut off, click the down arrow next to the large PREVIEW button and click NORMAL, then PREVIEW again. In NORMAL PREVIEW mode, the scanner will capture all information on the flatbed; you will then have to manually marquee or crop the slides you wish to scan. Use the left mouse button (click, hold, drag) to lasso one slide inside a box made of dotted lines, then click scan. Only the selected area will scan. Repeat this process for as many slides or filmstrips are on the bed.
5) Click CLOSE once scanning is complete. The images will now transfer to the application in use.

Sep 25, 2007 | Epson Perfection 4990 Flatbed Scanner

2 Answers

Canoscan Won't Scan

You have to reinstall drivers of your scanner. Thank you.

Aug 11, 2007 | Canon CanoScan 8400F Flatbed Scanner

Not finding what you are looking for?
Visioneer PaperPort 6100 Flatbed Scanner Logo

Related Topics:

185 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Visioneer Scanners Experts

Cindy Wells

Level 3 Expert

4719 Answers

Mohan Sriraman
Mohan Sriraman

Level 2 Expert

490 Answers

Sanath Kumar V

Level 3 Expert

684 Answers

Are you a Visioneer Scanner Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides