Question about Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Video Preview Thumbnails no longer show

Existing video files show thumbnails, but new ones don't. I've tried everybody's fix but nothing's worked yet. I have vista home premium now the only codec package installed is the new vista codec pac.5.5 and I've never had nero installed. Does anyone have a clue?

Posted by on

  • Anonymous Dec 22, 2008

    Existing video files show thumbnails, but new ones don't. I've tried
    everybody's fix but nothing's worked yet. I have vista home premium now
    the only codec package installed is the new vista codec pac.5.5 and
    I've never had nero installed. Does anyone have a clue?

×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Monty mourya 90@gmaill.com

Posted on Dec 19, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Cannot preview pdf file in outlook


Which version of Outlook are you using.
kIt could be an issue with the pdf preview handler. Download the fix from link provided


Fixes for 64 bit Adobe Reader preview handler and thumbnails

Jun 06, 2014 | Microsoft Operating Systems

Tip

How to convert thumbnail into ICONS in windows 8 interface


First time I installed windows 8 i faced that problem that in place of icon it was showing only thumbnail. So here goes the solution to convert thumbnail into icons in windows 8 interface-

Open up the folder with the pictures and click on the View tab
Next click on Options to the far right
Then Click on Change folder and search options
This opens up an options menu
Navigate to the view tab
uncheck the box that says Always show icons, never thumbnails
And Check the box that says Display file icon on thumbnails.

This should solve the problem. It worked for me.

on Apr 13, 2015 | Microsoft Windows 8.1 - Windows

Tip

How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista Clearing the thumbnail...


How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista pdf_button.png printbutton.png Clearing the thumbnail cache:
Windows keeps a copy of all of your picture, video, and document thumbnails so they can be displayed quickly when you open a folder. If you delete the thumbnail cache, they will be automatically created when needed. The thumbnail preview problems can be resolved by clearing the thumbnail database and let the system rebuild it as and when required.
To do so, use these steps:
Click Start, type cleanmgr and press ENTER

Click My files only

Select the system drive letter from the drop-down list

Uncheck all the entries except Thumbnails

Click OK

The thumbnail database is stored globally in Windows Vista, unlike Windows XP, where the thumbnail database is stored on a per-folder basis. In Windows Vista, the default Thumbnail cache location is mentioned below:
%LocalAppData%MicrosoftWindowsExplorer

on May 25, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium with...

4 Answers

Dropbox flashing


Quote from TIA James... it works!

Very recently, possibly after update to 1.0.10, I have noticed a peculiar effect, more so with XP than with Vista.
On opening any folder inside my Dropbox, the window constantly refreshed and flashed for some time, longer if more files. Attempting to scroll down caused the scrollbar to flick back to the top. After some attempts, everything settled down. The folder would then not behave this way again. The effect stopped if View was set to list or details i.e. not thumbnails.
I guessed that Dropbox was attempting to sync the thumbs.db file, but this file was being updated by windows at the same time and a conflict occurred.
I have unchecked "Cache thumbnails" (Tools/Folder Options/View tab for XP) for the Dropbox folder and the effect has ceased.
Query... is the new version incorrectly handling something here? This effect has only recently occurred. But it has occurred on all computers, some XP some Vista. All have updated recently.
TIA James :)

May 16, 2012 | Operating Systems

2 Answers

How can i remove duplicate photos in Windows photo gallery?


Hi There! The easiest way to remove duplicate photos is to go through and delete one by one.

Dec 10, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic for PC

1 Answer

No Video Thumbnails in Windows XP


Open folder containg files then click view and select thumbnails

Jul 30, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Viewing pictures..


press the view button itself to change views

May 09, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic Edition

1 Answer

No thumbnail Preview of video files in VISTA Ultimate


You will not get video previews on files for which you lack the proper video codex. Furthermore, that codex needs to be accessible to Windows media player. If it is application specific, only available to Nero, etc. it won't work.

Aug 30, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

4 Answers

Thumbnails not showing in Explorer in Windows Vista


In the Advanced System Properties when you right click on (My) Computer, you probably set the Performance Settings to "Adjust for best performance". In there you will see a Custom List of options and "Show thumbnails instead of icons" needs to be checked.

Jun 10, 2008 | Operating Systems

3 Answers

Thumbnail generation


There is no known software compatibility with adobe premiere and vista. The problem will be that you might have changed any setting in vista for thumbnails. I know vista is much different than windows. So, have a look around at the settings.

Feb 18, 2008 | Operating Systems

Not finding what you are looking for?
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition Logo

101 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Microsoft Operating Systems Experts

Brian Sullivan
Brian Sullivan

Level 3 Expert

27725 Answers

Scott Fryer

Level 2 Expert

80 Answers

Carlos L. Burgos
Carlos L. Burgos

Level 2 Expert

508 Answers

Are you a Microsoft Operating System Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...