Question about Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Video Preview Thumbnails no longer show

Existing video files show thumbnails, but new ones don't. I've tried everybody's fix but nothing's worked yet. I have vista home premium now the only codec package installed is the new vista codec pac.5.5 and I've never had nero installed. Does anyone have a clue?

Posted by on

  • Anonymous Dec 22, 2008

    Existing video files show thumbnails, but new ones don't. I've tried
    everybody's fix but nothing's worked yet. I have vista home premium now
    the only codec package installed is the new vista codec pac.5.5 and
    I've never had nero installed. Does anyone have a clue?

×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Monty mourya 90@gmaill.com

Posted on Dec 19, 2008

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Duplication of video thumbnails on a SD external card on a coby Kyros


im guessing your on a mac, that usually what adds thumbnails. you can use a file explorer that comes with the unit, navigate to the file folder and delete them. or when you copy from a mac, do it from a finder window and not from a program and it will not do that.

Apr 20, 2013 | Coby kyros Tablets & eReaders

Tip

How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista Clearing the thumbnail...


How to clear the thumbnail cache in Windows Vista pdf_button.png printbutton.png Clearing the thumbnail cache:
Windows keeps a copy of all of your picture, video, and document thumbnails so they can be displayed quickly when you open a folder. If you delete the thumbnail cache, they will be automatically created when needed. The thumbnail preview problems can be resolved by clearing the thumbnail database and let the system rebuild it as and when required.
To do so, use these steps:
Click Start, type cleanmgr and press ENTER

Click My files only

Select the system drive letter from the drop-down list

Uncheck all the entries except Thumbnails

Click OK

The thumbnail database is stored globally in Windows Vista, unlike Windows XP, where the thumbnail database is stored on a per-folder basis. In Windows Vista, the default Thumbnail cache location is mentioned below:
%LocalAppData%MicrosoftWindowsExplorer

on May 25, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium with...

1 Answer

Video thumbnails on my computer wont show up on laptop. The exact files on my PC show thumbnails of videos fine. Is there any software I have to download for my laptop to show the thumbnails?


Open the folder where the files are stored.
Click on 'Tools'
Click on 'Folder Options'
Click on the 'View' tab.
Check the box that says "Do not cache thumbnails"
Click ok.

I hope that fixes it.

Sep 28, 2009 | Gateway FX4710-UB003A Core 2 Quad Q9300...

1 Answer

No Video Thumbnails in Windows XP


Open folder containg files then click view and select thumbnails

Jul 30, 2009 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Windows Explorer sends continuously error messages


Turning off thumbnails will probably stop you getting that error

DO:
Open Control Panel > Folder Options > Always show Icons, Never Thumbnails

However, this isn't actually fixing the problem.

Do you have Nero installed by any chance?

If so try:
Open Computer > System Drive > Program files > Common Files > Ahead > DSfilter.
Rename "NeroVideoProc.ax" to "1NeroVideoProc.ax"
Also rename "NeVideo.ax" to "1NeVideo.ax"

And then reboot.

Nov 11, 2008 | Computers & Internet

1 Answer

No thumbnail preview


Sorry , I don't know the answer to your problem , But I am experiencing sort of the same problem. When I place an image in the scanner , I do not see any preview thumbnails at all. I also do not see any of the preliminary questions as to the film format size or single or batch scanning. Nothing like that at all. I have called the tech's at Nikon and the scanner passes their over the phone examination. It appears my scanner is not been recognized by my computer ( I have tried both ) . Nikon suggested replacing the firewire cable which I did and still no preview thumbnails. I believe the problem is in the firewire interface panel ( where you plug the scanner in ) and I think this is where your problem lies also. It is a simple fix 5 maybe 6 screws. Getting the part number has been my problem. Nikon wants you to send in the entire scanner and have a flat $400 service charge . I'm sure the part is less than $400. Any ideas as to where to get the parts catologue ?? Let me know.

Sep 11, 2008 | Nikon LS-9000 Film Scanner

1 Answer

No thumbnail Preview of video files in VISTA Ultimate


You will not get video previews on files for which you lack the proper video codex. Furthermore, that codex needs to be accessible to Windows media player. If it is application specific, only available to Nero, etc. it won't work.

Aug 30, 2008 | Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

1 Answer

Video Preview


try reflash the phone that can fix the issue www.topsony.com

Apr 06, 2008 | Sony Ericsson W850i Cellular Phone

3 Answers

Thumbnail generation


There is no known software compatibility with adobe premiere and vista. The problem will be that you might have changed any setting in vista for thumbnails. I know vista is much different than windows. So, have a look around at the settings.

Feb 18, 2008 | Computers & Internet

1 Answer

Windows previews(thumbnails)


Garcia, I can help you, but you need to make your question clearer.

what do you mean by "windows preview"?

Dec 28, 2007 | HP Pavilion dv4000 Notebook

Not finding what you are looking for?
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition Logo

121 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Microsoft Computers & Internet Experts

micky dee

Level 3 Expert

2642 Answers

Les Dickinson
Les Dickinson

Level 3 Expert

18344 Answers

Brian Sullivan
Brian Sullivan

Level 3 Expert

27725 Answers

Are you a Microsoft Computer and Internet Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...