Question about Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-T3 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Unsatisfactory LCD preview display

When I try to focus on a shot there is no display on the LCD, just a very narrow distorted vertical band of colour. I have reset the camera to factory defaults but the problem persists. I can review previously taken pictures on the memory card without problem. The problem seemed to start when I altered the scene selection to firework mode to attempt to take a picture of some flashing Xmas lights. The resulting picture was just a blur of coloured vertical lines. When I returned the camera to normal mode, I found I had the problem with the LCD screen. I am now unable to see what I am attempting to photograph.

Posted by on

  • 1 more comment 
  • carol_newbol Dec 15, 2008

    Oooooops, sorry! Yes, it is a DSC-T3 Cybershot. I thought I had posted the query on the T3 specific forum.

  • carol_newbol Dec 15, 2008

    Thanks, welcomejee



    I am not good at this sort of things so I guess I will need to make a trip to my local repair shop. At least I know what the part should cost me now.



    Many thanks again.

  • Shahid Electronics
    Shahid Electronics May 11, 2010

    Is this DSC-T3 cyebrshot or some thing else?

×

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Master
  • 10,594 Answers

Some times user doesn't care product category thats why I asked model number.
Now, problem is bad CCD imager in DSC-T3 and this part will be replaced to bring camera in business.

Part number of CCD imager is as follows...

A-1075-408-A CCD BLOCK ASSY (Supplied with CD-535 board)

Its available in Part Store and if you have expertise in camera repair, you can do it yourself, it is easy job.

Posted on Dec 15, 2008

  • Shahid Electronics
    Shahid Electronics Dec 27, 2008

    Solution provided deserve 4 blue diamonds rating...what do you think?

×

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I have a D40, it dropped and broke the LCD so I can't see anything in it. if I try to take a picture I hear it focus but no picture. I checked the lens on a friends camera and it works fine. My question...


Take some shots, take your memory card out and insert into a card reader and see if the shots are there. If yes, then camera is taking shots. If not, then something else is wrong. Theoretically, if the LCD is cracked or broken, the camera should still work, just not the shot preview or getting to the menu system. Why waste time with the shot preview? I never use it. While someone is looking at the shot they just made, I'm busy taking the next shot, which might be the better.

Dec 20, 2010 | Nikon D40 Digital Camera with G-II 18-55mm...

1 Answer

Pic screen is fuzzy tried cleaning the lense still not clear


This may help you, try using the Preview feature on the LCD screen.
The LCD screen Preview feature was not used to take a picture in Close-Up mode. Always use the Preview feature in Close-Up mode to confirm focus and to frame the subject properly. If the Preview feature is not used, the LCD will not display an accurate view of the subject.

Apr 04, 2010 | Kodak Easyshare CD82 Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD screen purple and distorted in Shooting mode


There is recall on this model for this problem, Go to Canon USA web site, Look up Service advisory, CCD malfunction N/C to repair.

Feb 24, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A80 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Vertical lines and distorted colour on display screen


Just as I got on line to this site I saw your problem being typed in and it's the exact same issue I am having with my Finepix 5000. I've owned it for all of 4 plus years with no problems and really decent photos. I'm getting a blurred image with green/magenta colors when I look through the viewfinder. When I take a photo, it shows the same. It wasn't dropped or even barely touched between the last good photo taken and this. Attached is an example of above description. I would appreciate any advise. See below.7ccd05c.jpg

Feb 16, 2009 | Samsung NV10 Digital Camera

1 Answer

LCD image is greyscale and distorted image vertically


If the LCD and pictures are both bad, the CCD is most likely going south. It is an expensive repair via SONY but I may start doing these far cheaper myself if I get a few customers. pishta68 at hotmail.com

Jan 25, 2009 | Konica Minolta DiMAGE 7Hi Digital Camera

1 Answer

I have a Sony DSC-F88 5.1MP camera... When you switch it on to any of the program modes - image dispalyed on LCD and photographed is distorted. Image is skewed with the edges of the image flaring with...


Your DSC-F88 has problem with CCD Imager and needs to be replaced. Good news is Sony will replace it free of cost. Click Sony Official website to get further instructions. Hope this info will helpful for you.

Aug 12, 2008 | Digital Cameras

1 Answer

LCD - Focus


DSLR camera was not made to be used as a point and shoot camera and you cant preview the shot before taking a picture. You are to use the eye piece to focus right. Also before taking a picture, push the exposure button just a little to let the camera focus right.

Jul 04, 2008 | Sony Alpha DSLR-A100 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Rebel XT - LCD monitor.


The camera is a Single Lens Reflex (SLR). It is not possible to use the LCD display as a viewfinder. See Canon's answer here: CanonUSA

Jan 27, 2008 | Canon Rebel XT / EOS 350D Digital Camera

1 Answer

Reddish vertical lines on LCD & view finder


There is a CCD service advisory for the F717. They will repair it free of charge. Go here for more details: http://www.imaging-resource.com/badccds.html

Sep 06, 2006 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-F717 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Colour banding on 10D images


Shoot in RAW mode and convert to 16 bit images to reduce banding

Sep 14, 2005 | Canon EOS-10D Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-T3 Digital Camera Logo

92 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Sony Digital Cameras Experts

Larry Spears
Larry Spears

Level 3 Expert

625 Answers

Vish Iyer
Vish Iyer

Level 2 Expert

74 Answers

Rick Johnson
Rick Johnson

Level 2 Expert

84 Answers

Are you a Sony Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...