Question about Fuji FinePix E550 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Camera only half operates: preview mode OK, picture-taking mode not working

I have a Fujifilm FinePix E550. It's between 1 and 2 years old. I went to use it the other day, and had it set to take pictures. (The little selector was slide in the up posistion for this). I powered it on, and took a picture. The batteries were low, so it died right after I pushed the shutter button. The lens is stuck out at this point. I replaced the batteries with one set of brand new ones. Now, when I hit the power button, the light next to the view finder flashed quickly, and you can hear the normal noise from it trying to turn on. Nothing shows up on the screen or anything though. At first I thought it was a bad set of batteries, so I tried a 2nd set - same results. I flip it to preview mode. Everything in that mode seems to work fine - but it powers off automatically after roughly 30 seconds. I don't remember if this is normal, like a power-saving mode or not. The lens never closes though, and I know it should when in preview mode, after an amount of time. I tried going back to the picture mode, and it still is doing the exact same thing. It's out of warranty, and taking it to a repair shop is really not an option here. I'd rather just buy a newer dSLR. I just need to know if there's any home-brew solutions I can try to get my camera fully functional again. Thank you much!

Posted by on

Ad

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

My camera does the same thing. sadly, this looks to be a common probelm judging from the other power issues listed. I havent seen any solution for this anyplace. any help would be great.

Posted on Aug 14, 2012

Ad
  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 2 Answers

Mine shuts off when I press the shutter button. I put in new batteries and I can get the lens in then. But it shuts off when I try to take a picture. These cameras are notorious for having a zoom problem. They say the Zoom error appears and the camera dies. There is a fix of gently pulling the lens out all the way till the cover open then twisting it gently clock wise till it clicks. They say this fixes this problem but I don't think that is what is wrong with mine. Do a search on Fuji E550 zoom problem fix. It should show up.

Posted on Oct 29, 2007

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
A 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
The service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Fujifilm Finepix AX Flash Is Not Working/Turning On


If your camera is in "silent mode" the flash will not work. Press and hold the Disp/back button for a few seconds and the camera will toggle between "silent mode" and "normal mode"

Oct 09, 2014 | FUJIFILM Cameras

1 Answer

What settings should i use for my fujifilm FinePix S4250 camera


That depends on what you want the picture to say to the viewer. If there was one best setting for everything then there would be no need for any other setting.

If you're taking a picture of a countryside scene, you might consider the Landscape" mode. If you're taking a picture of a person, you might consider the "Portrait" mode. And so on.

However, those are only suggestions to the camera. They set things up to give generally good results for those types of scenes. There may be times when you want to override the camera, to make the picture come out the way YOU want it to, not the way the camera (or the camera designer) thinks it should be.

May 10, 2014 | Fujifilm FinePix S4250 Black 14MP Digital...

1 Answer

It started to show preview (before you take a photo) with yellowish colors. the photo itself is goood, but when you are trying to take it all you see on the preview screen is unnatually yellow.. pelase...


I hope you did not drop the camera. The display can be damaged and it will hinder you. But it looks you still can make good pictures, so the camera part works.
If you want to screen to be normal again, I think you should visit a repairstore or your dealer.

Nov 02, 2013 | FUJIFILM FinePix T500 16.0-Megapixel...

1 Answer

Need help taking action pictures with fujifilm finepix s2940.. any idea on what setting should the dial be?


If you are getting bad results from the SRAuto mode, select the SP mode. Then press MENU/OK Use the Up/Down selector to highlight Scene Position. Select the Sport Scene Position (icon of person running). Then press MENU/OK to select. This will remain the default setting each time you use the SP mode until you change it again.

Jan 06, 2012 | FUJIFILM S2940 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Can i take black and white pictures with a Fujifilm FinePix JV200 Digital Camera? If so please can you tell me how?


Yes. Press MENU/OK in shooting mode, highlight FINEPIX COLOR (looks like a film canister with leader coming out) and press selector-right. Highlight B for black-and-white and press MENU/OK.

Full instructions are in the "Using the Menus: Shooting Mode" section of the manual under "FinePix Color" (page 59 in my copy). If you need a manual, you can download one from
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digital_cameras/manuals/#j

Jul 18, 2011 | FUJIFILM FinePix JV200 / JV205 Digital...

1 Answer

My camera only works when plugged in to the battery charger when unplugged it does not turn on fujifilm finepix z35


Hi, I have a Z35 that wiont turn on I know the battery is good so I tried connecting USB to PC to see what happened---nothing, then I tried gentley pushing the USB at camera end very slowly into connector and about half way in the cais mera flashed up and I coud take pictures. However with the USB pushed full into camera socket the camera went dead again. I know this isnt a solution but it indicates camera will work , Im now lokking at battery comparment connectors to see if thweres a problem.

Jul 11, 2011 | FUJIFILM FinePix Z35 Digital Camera

1 Answer

My preview of pictures wont show then the camera wont shut off


Replace standard alkalines with rechargeable NiMH batteries Sony or Varta 2700 Ni-MH! It's works for me!
5a1d731.jpg

Jun 29, 2010 | Fuji FinePix A850 Digital Camera

1 Answer

My fujifilm finepix A205 digital aera has


if you took a picture from that object, first you must press a half down that shutterkey, for twice or third times
and after that you must press full down that shutterkey..
that is half press for arrange your focus from that object...

Aug 08, 2009 | Fuji FinePix A205 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Olympus Picture Card showing 'card error'


I rang Fujifilm and they said that the finepix A345 can only take up to 1gig cards. So have to take my 2gig back which sux. The say Olympus cards may not be able to be read by the camera. So will be taking my camera with me when i exchange my 2 gig.

Feb 01, 2009 | Fuji FinePix A345 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Blurry images


Still fairly you - try the makers support site a repair or replacement may not break the bank

Aug 16, 2007 | Fuji FinePix F10 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Fuji FinePix E550 Digital Camera Logo

150 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Fuji Cameras Experts

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Steven Wander
Steven Wander

Level 3 Expert

593 Answers

Parshiv Luthra

Level 3 Expert

383 Answers

Are you a Fuji Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...