Question about Sony BDP-S300 Blu-Ray Disc Player

1 Answer

Sony Blu-Ray plays preview but won't play the featured movie

Sony Blu-Ray will play all the previews but when the screen with Play Movie, Scene Selection, Languages etc.. comes on it will not activate the movie no matter if I press Play on the remote or directly on the machine

Posted by on

  • 2 more comments 
  • richartier Nov 28, 2008


    leecom72 Thank for your helpful suggestionto go to chapters or scene selection. That works most of the time but not always. Any other suggestions.

  • magic42 May 20, 2009

    My Blu Ray plays the preview but not the main movie. I used the enter button on the remote and it still does not work, used the play button, unplugged the machine but it still doesn't work. Any help out there would be appreciated

  • Anonymous Mar 17, 2014

    DISC PLAYS UP TO START OF MOVIE THEN BLU-RAY DOES NOT PLAY MOVIE

  • Tucker Collins
    Tucker Collins Jul 27, 2016

    I torn mine apart and put it back together not a thing was wrong with it and it still don't work but does the same exact thing as all yours does as well

×

Ad

1 Answer

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • Sony Master
  • 4,806 Answers

Try clicking on chapters to access the dvd
hope this helps

kind regards and don't forget to rate us please

Posted on Nov 28, 2008

  • Lee Hodgson
    Lee Hodgson Nov 28, 2008

    ok you may have to go into the play settings of the player and set the user settings back to defaualts

    let me know how you get on

    kind regards



  • Tucker Collins
    Tucker Collins Jul 27, 2016

    What if you don't have a remote?

×

Ad

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
A 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
Best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
The service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
Good luck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Ad

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

PLays movie previews will not play movie


You may need a firmware update, go online to Sony, contact customer support and the technical department for answers, they should be able give the information that is required to help get this problem resolved.

Apr 15, 2012 | Sony BDP-S300 Blu-Ray Disc Player

1 Answer

DVD player won't play new movies


Try this

1.While the previews are playing, press the Menu Button on your DVD player remote to access the DVD's Main Menu.
2.Go to Scene Selection and press your Enter or Ok button on your DVD player remote.
3.Highlight Scene 2 and press the Enter or Ok button. This will start the DVD in Scene 2.
4.Use your rewind or reverse button on your DVD player remote to rewind back to the beginning of Scene 1.

Walt Disney Home Entertainment Technical Support
1-800-723-4763, Monday's 9:30-7:30 and Tuesday through Friday 9:30-6:30 CST

Excerpt from email tech support Walt Disney

Dec 07, 2007 | RCA B27TF680 27 in. TV/VCR/DVD Combo

1 Answer

Plays disc up to point where the movie should start and just keep restarting over and over?


I had a similar issue a while back. It didn't do it every time, just on one DVD.
When given the choice, go to "scene selection" instead of "play", and select scene 1. This bypasses the loop that the "play DVD" is on, and takes you straight to the movie.
Hope this helps!
--W/D--

Jan 30, 2011 | Samsung BD-P1500 Blu-Ray Player

1 Answer

Predators blu ray disc wont play have the latest fimware update tried 2 disks now what???????


First, some long winded history and this may not be exactly the same problem you're having but I have an Oppo BDP-83 and I tried 2 different Predators blu-ray discs from Amazon.com, both of which would NOT play the actual movie. I could play the previews and get to the main menu but could not play the movie itself or jump to a scene select, etc. Any option that was selected would completely freeze the player at a black screen and I'd have to hold the power button down for a few seconds to reboot it. I tried it on the most recent Oppo firmware dated May 5th, 2010 AND the beta firmware date August 24th, 2010. Nothing. I read that some people had luck turning BD-Live OFF or disconnecting the player itself entirely from the network or by just waiting it out 5-10 minutes to see if it'd start....nothing worked. I disconnected the ethernet cable, let it stay at that frozen black screen for 30 minutes while I made dinner, fed the kid, etc. The thing that seemed to finally get the 2nd disc to play (1st disc I returned for an exchange via Amazon) was to select the BD Live Extras at the main menu, and download all of the extra previews, etc. After that, the movie played just fine. It could have been a fluke, but hell, I tried everything else and this was the only thing that didn't completely freeze up my player.

Oct 23, 2010 | Sony Playstation 3 (PS3) Console

1 Answer

Movies stop halfway through


please let the blu ray player load all of the movie if you haven't

Jul 24, 2017 | Sony Televison & Video

1 Answer

When I try to play a movie on my Sony S300 player, it will play the previews and then go to the menu as normal. When I hit "Play", it does nothing. The other features on the menu work fine. I can go to...


I had a similar problem and it was fixed by upgrading the firmware to the latest version. Go to the Sony site and it will give you full instructions on how to do this.

Apr 10, 2009 | Sony BDP-S300 Blu-Ray Disc Player

1 Answer

Problem with playing


Occasionally the software on most blu-ray players needs to be updated to the newest technology. The reason some discs play and some don't is because the discs that play are most-likely older movies or from a company that still used the "outdated" software. So the discs that don't play (most likely discs made with the updated software) won't play on your player until you've update the player's software. To do this visit, in your case, Sony's website for update info. There are a few ways you can get the info. You can download it directly to your player (if it has online accessibility) or you can request that they send you an update disc. Either way, most companies provide the update for free. Hope this helps, good luck!

Jan 14, 2009 | Sony BDP-S300 Blu-Ray Disc Player

2 Answers

New Wall-e won't play


It sounds like the disc is bad take it back to the store.

Jan 10, 2009 | Sony BDP-S300 Blu-Ray Disc Player

Not finding what you are looking for?
Sony BDP-S300 Blu-Ray Disc Player Logo

1,822 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Sony Televison & Video Experts

The Knight
The Knight

Level 3 Expert

75178 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17130 Answers

Jerry Greenberg
Jerry Greenberg

Level 3 Expert

1689 Answers

Are you a Sony Televison and Video Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...