Question about AMD PC Desktops

2 Answers

AMD Computer Reviews - Phenom 9850 Quad Core Processor - HD985ZXAGHBOX with biostar n750 motherboard sli ready nvidia 9500gt graphics card after putting vista on worked great, until i installed the latest graphics drivers for the nvidia graphics card it locked up halfway through the install, and now nothing shows up on the screen but power is on , cant hear anything booting up and there is no beeps .

Posted by on

  • scozzer1 Nov 20, 2008

    hi there, thanks for getting back to me, i pressed f8 and nothing happens, this is a brand new build
    has vista elite on and 2 gig ram too

    i moved the jumper for the cmos to 1 and to then after 5 seconds back to 2 and 3 , and still nothing


×

2 Answers

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

    Sergeant:

    An expert that has over 500 points.

  • Expert
  • 207 Answers

Scozzer1,

I looked up this motherboard and it has a Nvidia integrated video processor.

What I believed happened is that when you installed the driver it installed it for the the onboard card.
What we can do to confirm that is to switch your monitor cable to the VGA connector on the backplane of your motherboard right next to your mouse/keyboard ports. then boot up your PC. If you get a viewable screen, we've found the answer. Hit <Delete> to enter your bios then go to PCIPNP this is the tab that deals with your videocard options. Disable the onboard Videocard. then push <F10> to save and exit.

Shut down the PC and switch the cable back, and your back in business.
If you have any more problems please message back here and I'll be happy to help.

Thanks
Dave

Posted on Nov 20, 2008

  • Level 3:

    An expert who has achieved level 3 by getting 1000 points

    Superstar:

    An expert that got 20 achievements.

    All-Star:

    An expert that got 10 achievements.

    MVP:

    An expert that got 5 achievements.

  • AMD Master
  • 4,806 Answers

Reboot the computer and press F8, start in safe mode and unistall the graphics drivers using "device manager" reboot the pc and do a microsoft uptade to install the drivers for you
hope this helps
regards

Posted on Nov 20, 2008

  • Lee Hodgson
    Lee Hodgson Nov 20, 2008

    remove the graphics card and try the on-board graphics if it has one, if the pc boots you need a ne graphics card


    regards

×

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

I am trying to repair my Visionman PC WGMA-2A7810 and in the specifications paper work it doesn't appear to list the motherboard information, so I don't know what part to buy. Can you please help.


Every motherboard that has an AM2 socket will work - preferably one with an AMD 7xx chipset. One like
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5019773&CatId=2320

Sep 07, 2011 | Visionman AMD Spider Phenom Gaming PC -...

2 Answers

What i'm running


what is the real problem with the unit sir?

Jul 24, 2008 | PC Desktops

1 Answer

What is the best quad core for ax3400g-u4802


The best quad core for that computer would be the AMD Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition. It will fit in your computer's AM3 socket, and is outrageously fast. It will cost a pretty penny though, almost $200.

Here is a link for reviews and online purchase: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103934

Jun 19, 2011 | Acer Black AX3400G-U4802 Desktop PC with...

1 Answer

To upgrade to a newer and better CPU processors enabling me to play more quality games Min requirement CPU type and speed Intel 2 duo or equivalent What types and models and specs please. Have at...


You should get a quad core processor, with a minimum of 3 to 4 gigs of ram, and an asus SLI or crossfire Motherboard. This and a nice 1 terrabite drive can be done for under $500.00, unfoutunatelly, thats just the way they make it. I PLAY cod4, and I run a dual core with 2 gigs of ram and a $300.00 asus MB, with twin 7900 video cards in sli. and it just about runs it, the new games are processor and ram intense, let alone video cards. I would suggest a single card if cost is a factor, you can always add a second or even a third card later. But the you don't want to be the slowest guy playing, especially if you like first person multiplayer shooters

Jun 12, 2010 | Compaq PC Desktops

2 Answers

Computer upgrades


hard drive:http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Intellipower-WD20EADS-Frustration-Free/dp/B001RB1TIS/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1266265361&sr=1-1-fkmr0 processor: http://www.amazon.com/AMD-HD9750XAGHBOX-Phenom-Quad-Core-2-4GHz/dp/B0016HK7A4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1266265416&sr=1-3
graphics card:http://www.amazon.com/BFG-BFGE981024GTGE-GeForce-Graphics-EcoIntelligence/dp/B00288BH9K/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1266265506&sr=1-2
hope helps!!!! :D

Feb 15, 2010 | HP Compaq Presario 6016US PC Desktop

2 Answers

Acer Aspire E360, Need new Motherboard, cpu and powersupply


If you're going to replace the Mobo, Processor, and PSU, you may as well as replace the computer case, also.

Another $50 USD will buy you a decent computer case.

(Seen this? http://www.directron.com/cs888uvbl.html )

You can reuse your optical drive/s.

Mobo? Are you going to stick with AMD processors like what is used in your computer now, or are you going to go Intel?

AMD hardware is cheaper price wise, but not quality wise. Myself I prefer Intel.
Just a personal preference.

Dual core processor with DDR Sdram ram memory?
You're not going to like this answer, but this = No, for Intel processors.
DDR2 Sdram for dual core processors.

There are some older AMD processor based motherboards that do utilize DDR Sdram, and dual core processors.

It is IMHO this is going backwards.
Why?
Because using DDR Sdram will cause a 'bottleneck' of information. The dual core processor will be bottlenecked, by the slower DDR Sdram ram memory.

Also, I would imagine you would like to be able to buy a dual core processor now, and be able to use a Quad Core processor in the future, on that same motherboard.

Again, I'm more towards Intel than AMD, so forgive me if I'm talking to an AMD man.

I go for the 'Best Bang for the Buck' theory.
More performance for lesser money spent.

It is for the above reasons that I would recommend an XFX nForce 750i SLI Extreme mobo.
Why?

1) Supports Intel Pentium 4 processors, (With an 800MHz FSB, and fit into an LGA 775 processor socket), all the way up to an Intel Core2 Quad.

(Supports Intel - Pentium 4, Pentium D, Pentium Extreme Edition, Core2 Duo, Core2 Quad, and Core2 Extreme processors)

Supports Intel processors utilizing the 45nm architecture, and up to a 1333MHz FSB. (800MHz, 1066MHz, or 1333MHz)

2) Supports DDR2 Sdram at either 800MHz, or 1066MHz. (PC2-6400 and PC2-8500 respectively)

4GB's with a 32bit operating system, 8GB's with a 64bit O/S.

(A 32bit operating system has it's limitations. Only 3.2 to 3.5GB's, will be recognized of that 4GB's of ram memory)

3) Has Two PCI-Express x16 graphics slots, that use the PCI Express 2.0 technology. You can install two graphics cards, that utilize the SLI technology. (Scalable Link Interface)

With this motherboard, when you use two graphics cards, BOTH will operate at 16X.
Not 16X for one, and 8X for the other, like some motherboards.
(Things they don't tell you)

(Information about the Nvidia nForce 750i chipset, from Nvidia.com,

http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_nforce_750i_sli_us.html

Click on the Specifications tab)

Has 4 SATA headers on the motherboard, that utilize the SATA 3.0Gigabit per Second technology. (3.0Gb/s)

4) The MOSFET has a heatsink on it, as well as the Northbridge chip, and Southbridge chip. Plus there is a heatpipe in-between these heatsinks.
Helps keep everything nice, and cool!

5) Price is $70

2GB's of decent DDR2 Sdram at 800MHz, (PC2-6400), will set you back about $50.

You can buy a Motherboard/CPU combo with the Intel Core2 Duo E7500, for $190 USD.

(Intel Core2 Duo E7500:

Two processor cores operating at 2.93GHz Each.
3MB's of L2 cache.
1066MHz FSB
Based on the Wolfdale Core.

For the power supply, I would recommend an OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt.
Why?

Because if you keep the temperature of this PSU at 118 degrees Fahrenheit, (47.9 degrees Celsius), it can reliably put out 728.8 Watts.

(Remember, 80 percent of the rated maximum wattage, is the figure you should go by.
80 percent of the rated maximum wattage, when the PSU is operating at a 100 percent load)

Has Four 12 Volts power rails. EACH 12 Volt rail is capable of handling 18 Amps.
Total is 72 AMP's!

Has all the power cables you will need.
Has a 120mm fan.
A larger fan means it will turn slower, and still produce more air flow.
Also will make less noise. (Unless you are running an intense game at high settings. You won't hear it anyway, because of the game!)

Just my thoughts. If this is not what you had in mind, please state so in a comment.

(Additional comment. I think utilizing two graphics cards in an SLI configuration, is redundant. Basing this statement on price versus performance.

Again with the 'Best Bang for the Buck, theory, but I would recommend an EVGA Geforce GTX 260 Core 216 graphics card.

Graphics performance is VERY close to an Nvidia Geforce GTX 280, but at way less cost)

Jan 30, 2010 | Acer Aspire E360 PC Desktop

1 Answer

ATI Radeon HD 3200 conflict with NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT driver


To solve this problem, uninstall the old driver, the ATI Radeon, it will not cause a problem when you uninstall it. After the uninstall, restart the computer and then install the support cd for the NVIDIA Geforce 9500 GT.

Oct 28, 2009 | PC Desktops

1 Answer

AMD or Intel Processor for desktop gaming and animation purpose


when it comes to new processors i would definatly suggest any intel from the core 2 series. AMD is having problems with overheating and has all but abandoned thier quest for quad core glory.

Jan 25, 2009 | Intel PC Desktops

1 Answer

Having problem with new games


What is the Name and model number of your motherboard

The nforce 430 is an older chipset model and may not use the full capacity of the Phenom processor ...some boards won't even boot and there are Bios updates available for others ...etc

The onboard graphics (geforce 6150 se) is negated by the 8800 GTX ...good card......the problem isn't your video card

Your also running PC5300 ,,667mhz ram ....if board is capable of PC6400 ...800mhz ....there could be another speedup

The bottlenck seems to be with the board and possibly Ram

(Again MB model and name)

Also make sure you have all the latest drivers for Vcards ...chipsets BIOS etc......

May 27, 2008 | HP Pavilion Media Center TV Desktop with...

Not finding what you are looking for?
PC Desktops Logo

Related Topics:

75 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top AMD PC Desktops Experts

joecoolvette
joecoolvette

Level 3 Expert

5660 Answers

Carlos L. Burgos
Carlos L. Burgos

Level 2 Expert

508 Answers

Rudra Aradhya

Level 2 Expert

99 Answers

Are you an AMD PC Desktop Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...