Question about H&B DRX-430 DVD Recorder

Open Question

Complaint to H&B/JPF Entertainment

This is a message to let you all know not to buy any products from H&B, because first of all the quality of the products is bad and the service is even worse. Here is a letter I sent to the General manager (Fred) of the company and he never replied me at all. We bought a DVD recorder last year, it never fully worked, we sent it for repair to this company and now we don't receive it back at all !! Just so you all know this company cannot be trusted at all and we all should stop buying H&B products, so that this company will dissapear by itself within a matter of time. If there's someone who can help me with this issue, just contact me by E-mail as soon as possible. Today our lawyer sent an official letter to the company and they will have to pay a lot of extra costs because I am going to court with this !! If there are more consumers with this bad experience, just send me an E-mail and together we can achieve more against this company. JPF Entertainment Fax: +33 1 58 81 05 30 To: Fred Official Complaint Dear Fred, With this Fax message I hereby send an official complaint to your company. This message will also be sent to my lawyer and to some consumer companies in Belgium, the Netherlands and France and also to the Economic Inspection. I just spoke with you on the phone and explained my problem, you just told me that you aren?t responsible for this, but I think (as a Managing Director) you ARE responsible for all the company departments and also mistakes. I tried to contact the number you gave me (Rafael) but no one answered the phone. After more then 3 months of sending E-mail messages and receiving no satisfying answers at all, this maybe is the only way to get my product back. More then 4 months ago I asked for a RMA number, this already took more then a month (and a lot of E-mail messages) before I finally received it. 3 months ago I sent the defective H&B DRX430 DVD Recorder (in warranty) to your company for repair, this product was purchased in November 2005 and did never work. On the 21st of September I sent my last E-mail message, and (again) no one replied to this at all. The last news I heard from your Technical Department, was that there was a problem with the truck and therefore It took this long. This is my final message to you, because the next messages will be from my lawyer. I demand you one more (and last) time to solve this problem as soon as possible and make sure I will receive my product back (repaired, complete and fully working) within 5 business days. If not, my lawyer will do all the necessary steps to get my product back, all the extra costs are for your company. As an attachment to this fax message you will find several E-mail messages and the repair form (with RMA number) Regards, M. Fijneman Copy: - Lawyer M. Schildermans, Bree (Belgium) - Government, Economic Inspection (Belgium)

Posted by on

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


1 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

My Emerson Blu-Ray player will not play Blu-Ray discs from 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment. The 20th Century logo plays, then fades to black, then it just stops. I never have that problem with any

This is a new one on me. Does it happen on multiple discs or just one? Is the disc from the correct regional code for your player? May be a bad player, software glitch. Emerson is very low grade, throw away brand, and you always get what you pay for. Saving money can be important, but sometimes you need to spend a bit more to get a higher quality product.

Feb 08, 2015 | Emerson DVD & Blu-Ray Players


This message is regarding all Durabrand portable DVD players

The manufacturer of Durabrand portable DVD players went out of business in 2007. Walmart was aware of this and continued to do business with them. Several blogs have been posted at concerning the quality of the product line. Most store managers have been taking store credits on the merchandise.

Check with your nearest local Walmart for options. If they don't take care of it, try going to the next level. File a complaint at Once there is enough of them the media will get involved and talk to Walmart about them.

This one was pretty blatant for the company to get out of it.

on Jul 12, 2008 | Durabrand PDV-709

1 Answer

Error code E 4 54040990

I, too, was having this same problem, and as the last respondent suggested, try cleaning the lens. There are a number of kits out there (I got a Philips for about $12 at Walmart) and problem fixed. Works like new. I plan on running the disc on all my dvd players and PCs. Good luck!

May 27, 2009 | Philips Magnavox MWR20V6 DVD Recorder/VCR

2 Answers

Toshiba D-VR650 can't tape says canot record protected image


Feb 10, 2009 | Toshiba D-VR650

1 Answer

"loading" message appears several minutes, then "no disc" message

check another disk.
or your dvd lens is weak to read dvd
i think it can read cds now.

if not, try to update firm ware or your dvd.

Jan 17, 2009 | DVD & Blu-Ray Players

1 Answer

Duraband dvd player

Unfortunately this is not the fix you want to hear.......
go to this link and file a complaint
this company that made it is out of business and has been for a long while...long enough that WalMart was very well aware of it and continued to sell their stock at theire full markup price....if they really had any concern for consumers (and wanted to get the product out of their warehouse) they should have sold it at a very reduced price with a full statement from them to got to each consumer that the manufacture was out of business and the warranty could not be honored by WalMart or any other company That is, if they cared about the consumer, but unfortunately they don't. They also by research had to know there were some major problems with a large number of the items being defective, which makes since that the company manufacturing them did not care what quality since they knew they were going to sell to WalMart and close their doors (one wonders why they closed since many companies have gone belly up when WalMart made such harsh demands on the price they purchased the items at being many times less than or almost the cost of the manufacture. They manufactures fold due to the situation.

Anyway if enough persons can file complaints, started with the link above...maybe we all can have a class act suit and settle this problem! The money spent has been lost and I am a disabled (100%) Grandmom that is raising a 10 yr old Grandson by myself, on a very limited income and to me Walmart robbed me as well as others. (also has a very upset little boy that his portable dvd does not work).

File a complaint to your own Atty General also.

Sorry to give such bad news....I sincerely know how you feel.

God Bless

Merry Christmas! Remember Jesus is the Reason for the Season!

Dec 17, 2008 | Durabrand DUR7 Portable DVD Player

1 Answer

Cheap and wal-mart does not want to deal with problem....

I agree.

One thing you can do is report it to and take some pictures of it. The media gets involved on that site from time to time. I know I was talking to them about a product line a few months ago and spoke with a consumer reported in Ohio. If you Google it by make and model number, you might be able to find out who the manufacturer is and see what the complaint area is like.

I see 9 blogs on so far.

Jul 04, 2008 | Durabrand DVD-1002 DVD Player

1 Answer


The 1002 DVD player isn't supported anymore because the supplier that was making them for Walmart went out of business in 2007. You should return the product to you nearest store and file a complaint on

Several blogs have been posted on the product line already.

Jun 29, 2008 | Durabrand DVD-1002 DVD Player

2 Answers

Toshiba DVD SD-3980SU2 or SC2 player loads every disc as "bad disc"

Toshiba says:
Information for Owners of Toshiba SD-3980 and SD-K750 DVD Players spacer.gif To ensure the satisfaction of our customers and to maintain the integrity and quality of our products, Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is issuing an important product update. This is not a safety issue.
Toshiba is committed to customer service and to continuously improving the quality of its products. It has come to our attention that certain DVD players bearing the model numbers SD-3980 and SD-K750 may at some point in their life stop playing discs due to a component part failure. In such case, the error message "bad" will be shown on the unit's display. Affected units will have "SU2" at the end of the model name (e.g., SD-3980-SU2), which can be found on the back of the unit.
If you own either of these models and experience the issue described above, please contact Toshiba Customer Solutions at 1-800-631-3811 for information on how to obtain a replacement unit.

Mar 29, 2008 | Toshiba SD-3980 DVD Player

2 Answers

Disc Error

Simple issue, the lead laser cannot read any data, for better result please try to check with the DVD shop.

Hope you like my solution please rate me solved.

Best regards,


Nov 17, 2007 | Toshiba SD-3980 DVD Player

Not finding what you are looking for?
H&B DRX-430 DVD Recorder Logo

Related Topics:

139 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top H&B DVD & Blu-Ray Players Experts


Level 3 Expert

94117 Answers

The Knight
The Knight

Level 3 Expert

66587 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17129 Answers

Are you a H&B DVD and Blu-Ray Player Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides