Question about Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Review switch Having had no problems since new 18 months ago, my A85 is stuck in review mode leaving me unable to take any pictures. The switch now has no effect. The unit has been very well looked after and not subjected to any shocks or damage. Is this a return to Canon to fix it or would it be economical simply to buy a new one? (not under warranty)

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 2:

    An expert who has achieved level 2 by getting 100 points


    An expert that got 5 achievements.


    An expert whose answer got voted for 20 times.


    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Expert
  • 188 Answers
Re: Review switch

It seems that the switch to toggle between camera mode and playback is broken, as it happens in most of the cases. the replacement of the switch will do the job.

Posted on Sep 27, 2006

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

When i turn on my camera the monitor remains black and does not show anything that it is aimed at.If I try to take a picture it will take but shows up black on review. Although when I switch it to review...

It is ccd imager chip failure in your Canon A85 camera and ccd imager chip willbe replace to get live view to take pictures.
Canon offers free of cost repair for A85 model for same problem. Click Canon CCD Imager Advisory for details and check your camera model number in that list.

Oct 02, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon Powershot S2IS black screen can't take pictures

A stuck shutter is another common failure mode for digital cameras. The symptoms of a stuck or "sticky" shutter are very similar to CCD image sensor failure. The camera may take black pictures (for shutter stuck closed), or the pictures may be very bright and overexposed, especially when taken outdoors (for shutter stuck open). Not sure what causes this issue, but some say it's heat, others say it's dust.

But anyways, to confirm a stuck shutter, put the camera in any mode other than "Auto", and turn the flash OFF (you don't want to blind yourself for the next step). Next look down the lens and take a picture. You should see a tiny flicker in the center of the lens as the shutter opens and closes. If no movement is seen, then you likely have a stuck shutter. If so, please see the following for further info and a simple fix that may help:

Jun 24, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

Our camera when you turn it on has a blank screen and you cannot take pictures. You can review pictures and see the different menu modes, but the screen is otherwise black. We have had it repaired once for...

See this link: camera is one of those listed, and your symptoms indicate this is the problem. Canon should repair your camera at no cost. Keep trying! You have a valid case.

Jun 16, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer


The camera is stuck in picture review mode. Try sliding the mode switch back and forth a couple times, and leave it in camera mode to see if this corrects the problem.

Apr 02, 2009 | Canon PowerShot A70 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Can't turn off/disable optimize image screen- nikon d80

Ok, all you need to do is:

1.Hold the camera normally like you would take a picture.

2.Turn it on and review a picture.

3. While looking at a picture, take your index (pointer) finger and rotate the front "wheel" right under the shutter release button. This switches the viewing mode, and should solve your problem.

Jan 12, 2009 | Nikon D80 Digital Camera with 18-135mm...

6 Answers

Lens is stuck open

We had the same problem with a Casio Exilim. Had been stuck for months...had nearly given up until I saw another post about banging the camera pretty forcefully to get the lens unstuck. I hit it once on the bottom onto my desk(w/ paper and blotter on the desk-so soft), then twice with the back of the camera against the desk. I turned it on and the lens was unstuck!! Immediately took a couple pictures and it seems to be working fine! If the camera may be lost, you've got nothing to lose to try this out...Good luck!

Apr 26, 2008 | Casio Exilim EX-S500 Digital Camera

1 Answer

How to delete a picture

Slide the upper-right slide switch down to put the camera in picture review mode. Press right or left on the circular switch to find the particular picture you want to delete. Then press the upper left "trashcan" button to delete.

To erase ALL the pictures, leave the camera in picture review mode and press the menu button. The erase command should be around the fourth item listed in the menu that pops up.

When done, don't forget to slide the upper-right switch up to put the camera back in picture taking mode.

Apr 21, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A570 IS Digital Camera

2 Answers

HP Digital Camera - M425 - Stuck in review mode, won't switch to capture mode

I just fixed my daughters camera with this problem. First go to the capture mode and see if the reason you are in review mode is because the camera thinks it is docked. If so, look at the dock port on the bottom of the camera. ( May need to magnify it to see in there ) Look for any green corrosion between the contacts. Her's has this corossion between two pairs of the contacts. I took a jewelers screw driver and scraped out the corrosion and then blew canned air in there to remove it. Turned it on and now it works fine. I have a feeling that the battery compartment is venting through this port and the small amount of acid vapor produced as the batteries discharge is causing the contacts to get this corrosion.

Jan 13, 2008 | HP Photosmart M425 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Can't switch from photo taking to photo review

Assuming your LCD still works, go to the camera settings and reset the entire camera to the default factory settings. This will help you determine if it is a hardware or software problem. If you are still unable to get into the photo review, you may have a hardware problem.

Dec 24, 2007 | Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera

1 Answer

S5000 - camera does not display images in 'review' mode - still stays in photo shoot mode

Defective ccd imager!! company will replace this ccd imager free of charge. Year 2002 up to 2005 released unit has a factry defect ccd imager. the company recalled these unit and replaced with a stronger version of ccd imager( they are still doing it). check it out.

Dec 24, 2006 | Fuji FinePix S5000 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot A85 Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

82 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Digital Cameras Experts


Level 2 Expert

246 Answers


Level 3 Expert

2598 Answers


Level 2 Expert

68 Answers

Are you a Canon Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides