Question about Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

2 Answers

Black screen, yet able to review past pictures

I have two Canon cameras. One is a PowerShot S1 IS and the other is a PowerShot A520; both are having the same problem. They are able to be turned on and I can review past pictures taken; however, I cannot take any new pictures because the screen is black. Any suggestions?

Posted by on

  • 3 more comments 
  • babytheface Nov 08, 2008

    I am having the same problem i get a black screen and can not take any new pictures. i think maybe my shutter is stuck. how could i fix a stuck shutter?



  • peanut85 Nov 08, 2008

    I have the same problem. The camera will turn on, I can view previous pictures, I can even scroll through options, but I get nothing in the viewfinder or screen, and the pictures I take come out black, the same as I see through the viewfinder.

    The display button does nothing.


  • alexandrescu Nov 19, 2008

    The solution posted don't work.
    The camera actualy take black pictures.
    Anything else work.

  • annoyed 2008 Nov 25, 2008

    Thanks for the help. I actually called Canon and they are sending out a shipping label within 48 hours so it can be fixed!!

  • evonluz Mar 23, 2009

    jammed lens occasionally will turn off when zoom lens is used

    manual zoom does not wrk

×

2 Answers

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

There is a recall on these cameras.  Canon will fix for free and pay for all shipping costs.  They have been very helpful.
Service Notice: CCD Image Sensor Advisory (Updated 10/31/2006)

PowerShot S1 IS

This Service Notice will update Canon U.S.A., Inc.'s previous CCD Image Sensor Advisory, dated October 6, 2005.

It has come to our attention that the vendor-supplied CCD image sensor used in certain Canon digital cameras and digital video camcorders may cause the following malfunction: When the product is used in recording or playback mode, the LCD screen and/or electronic viewfinder may exhibit either a distorted image or no image at all. While reports of this malfunction have been rare in the United States, we have determined that it may occur if the product is exposed to hot and humid environments.

Notice of Additional Affected Products:
As a result of our continuing investigation of this malfunction, we have determined that the 11 models listed below, in addition to the 16 models listed in our Service Notice concerning this malfunction, dated October 6, 2005, may be affected.

Affected products:
- Camcorders: ZR60, ZR65 MC, ZR70 MC, ZR80, ZR85, ZR90, ELURA 40 MC, ELURA 50
- Digital Cameras A60, A70, A75, A300, A310, S230, SD100, SD110, A40(*), A80(*), A85(*), A95(*), S1 IS(*), S60(*), S200(*), S330(*), S400(*), S410(*), S500(*)
*Models added as of Oct.31, 2006

Malfunction:
It has been confirmed that the connecting parts of the internal wiring of the CCD used in affected products may become disconnected, especially if the affected products are stored or used in high-temperature and high-humidity environments. If this occurs, the signal is not output from the CCD normally in Shooting Mode, which may cause a distorted image or the absence of an image. This malfunction can be confirmed on the LCD monitor screen during shooting. The same malfunction also appears on the recorded image.

Canon's Response:
Effective immediately, and regardless of warranty status, Canon will repair, free of charge, the products listed above exhibiting the above-mentioned malfunction if Canon determines that the malfunction is caused by the CCD image sensor. Canon will also cover the cost of shipping and handling in connection with this repair.

Canon Customer Support Center for further assistance at 1-800-828-4040. Support hours are Monday thru Friday - 8:00 AM to 12:00 midnight; and Saturday 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM (all times EST). Alternatively, if electronic support is preferred, please send your email to carecenter@cits.canon.com 

Posted on Nov 22, 2008

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

    Hot-Shot:

    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

    Corporal:

    An expert that hasĀ over 10 points.

    Mayor:

    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 2 times.

  • Contributor
  • 50 Answers

If you can take photo but can't see any thing in shooting mode, your display is turned off. just find a key on your camera which labled Disp. or something like that and press it to turn the display ON. I hope this helps...

Posted on Oct 31, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Our camera when you turn it on has a blank screen and you cannot take pictures. You can review pictures and see the different menu modes, but the screen is otherwise black.


This sounds like it might be a defective CCD imager. If so, Canon should fix this for you for free, including free shipping both ways. This is regardless of your camera's warranty status. Please check the following two links for more info:
 
http://camerarepair.blogspot.com/2007/11/canon-digital-cameras-showing-black.html
 
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=PgComSmModDisplayAct&fcategoryid=225&modelid=13390&keycode=2112&id=29819

Applicable cameras include:
A40, A60, A70, A75, A80, A85, A95, A300, A310, S1 IS, S60, S200, S230, S330, S400, S410, S500, SD100, SD110, IXUS V2/300/400/430/500, IXY Digital 200a/300a/400/450/500

Jul 03, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

Same problem. screen is black when turned on. where can i repair?


Our camera when you turn it on has a blank screen and you cannot take pictures. You can review pictures and see the different menu modes, but the screen is otherwise black

Jun 21, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

Black screen on Canon S1 IS camera


If Canon S1 IS does not show picture in camera mode and show memory card stored pictures in playback then its CCD Imgaer problem and ccd imager will be replaced.
Canon will repair it free of cost, click Canon CCD Imager Advisory for details.

Jun 11, 2009 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

2 Answers

I bet you can't solve this.


We have a Canon A520 and it was having all the symptoms noted. Searched for a resolution on numerous sites including the Canon Support site. While on the Canon Support site, I found an FAQ on "How to RESET the A520". Turn camera on, find and hold MENU button for 5+ seconds until "Reset settings to default?" screen appears. Arrow over to OK and press the SET button. When we did this the battery low indicator showed, replaced batteries with standard alkaline batteries. Everything functions properly, with no additional problems for the past 5 days. I guess the camera just lost its mind and had to be defaulted and rebooted, hope this helps.

Oct 01, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A520 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Canon powershot a520 problem


Try to see if you can connect the cable to a TV and see if it will do the same thing.

Example: camera - cable plug - to Input of TV.

Jul 23, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A520 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Black lcd screen


1) Try pressing the DISP button
2) If this does not work, this signals the machine is in need of service.

Feb 08, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A520 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Camera problem canon A520


Did you accidentally hit the "Disp." button (lower left corner)?

Jan 21, 2008 | Canon PowerShot A520 Digital Camera

2 Answers

Black picture screen


Defective ccd imager!! company will replace this ccd imager free of charge. Year 2002 up to 2005 released unit has a factory defect ccd imager. the company recalled those units and replaced with a stronger version of ccd imager ( they are still doing it). check it out.

Nov 12, 2007 | Canon PowerShot A520 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon powershot s1 is


looks like a lot of us have this same problem, Danielle. Consensus is it's a problem with the CCD chip. I'm contacting Canon about ours. Hopefully they'll fix for free as one guest posted. Let's be optimistic!!

http://www.fixya.com/support/t224203-black_screen

Nov 08, 2007 | Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera Logo

305 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Canon Digital Cameras Experts

Doberman

Level 2 Expert

246 Answers

Tony

Level 3 Expert

2598 Answers

halotheracer
halotheracer

Level 2 Expert

68 Answers

Are you a Canon Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...