Question about Pentax Optio S4i Digital Camera

1 Answer

Shutter locked up while reviewing stored pics

Shutter lock up. Power will only stay on for a few seconds then powers off. Shutter extended will not move. When Menu button depressed as well as the power on button the message ver 1.0 appears on the display for three seconds then powers off.
I have opened the case looking for any signs of trash it appears clear.
I visited the Optio web site and found a firmware update to prevent shutter lock up. I have attempted to download the update however the camera powers off in three seconds. Any ideas short of the service center?
Txlingo

Posted by on

  • Anonymous Feb 06, 2009

    Yes, I have the same problem with my camera.

    I need help please, as this is my business camera.

    YIKES


  • Anonymous Feb 06, 2009

    I have the same problem

    Sheree in New Jersey. SO frustrating.



×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Problem not solved at this time. However the Optio web site offers live chat. M-F 9:30 am to 6:30 pm. I will contact them to discuss later today. I will post their recommendations. Thanks Txlingo

Posted on Sep 29, 2008

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Kodak m522 turns off with lens extended


Here are some troubleshooting steps that you can try:

Dec 09, 2012 | Kodak M522 Digital Camera

3 Answers

Does not see image, when lens cover is open.


To return to the shooting mode press
shutter release button halfway page 50
of the manual
8dcdf4f.jpg

Link to manual

Dec 23, 2007 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

1 Answer

Why does my Nikon D60 while on auto focus or quick shutter speed either not focus and take the pic or focus and not take pics?


I have a 5D Mark II that has acted up like this. 99% of the time it will reset itself it you power off, remove the lense and allow them to sync up. Try this, it may work for you too!

Apr 22, 2012 | Nikon D60 Digital Camera with 18-55mm lens

1 Answer

Regardless of lenses,and batteries, cf cards, flash and exposure settings, when the fire button is pressed there is a small "click" and the camera freezes-no picture none of the exposure settings...


A few suggestions: The mirror lock up function has been activated. The sensor cleaning mode has been activated, doing this the camera as soon as you trip the shutter the mirror will come up and all other functions of the camera are inoperable. the mirror will stay in that position until it runs out of battery or you turn it off. The part you said about having to removing the battery doesn't make scents for this function though. Sensor cleaning is in the Custom Functions.
I know you said regardless of lenses and batteries how long do you wait before shutting the camera off and removing the battery? I know that's a question and we aren't suppose to answer a question with a question but the reason I'm asking is that the Canon 40D has a long 30 second shutter speed and a "bulb" setting. It is possible that the camera has been set to "AV" and the shutter is timing out, OR it's been turned to BULB and that mirror will stay there until the camera battery is dead before it drops. Couple things to check out before the next thing I'd think about is the amount of shutter actuation. The Canon 40D has a shutter good for 100,000 clicks/actuation. Sounds like a lot but if you are doing time laps or extended video it's very possible to blow the shutter out of these.

Dec 10, 2010 | Canon EOS 40D Digital Camera

1 Answer

JUST CAME BACK FROM A VACATION TO AZ. IT WORKED FINE ,TOOK 600+ PICS, GET HOME AND IT WILL GO TO 1.1 ZOOM THEN IT LOCKS UP AND TELLS YOU TO TURN THE POWER OFF THEN ON AGAIN.I JUST DID A FEW TIMES AND IT...


Seems to me like the mechanism to drive the lens is having issues. My daughters did the same, after a while it would power on and attempt to extend the lens, then power off. If it's under warranty i would have the manufacture look at it, and if it's a sony, good luck.

Nov 17, 2009 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W80 Digital Camera

1 Answer

How to get manual focus on Olympus Camedia C-750 ultra zoom digital camera


TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTITf correct focus cannot be obtained
When the subject to be focused is not on the AF target mark (not positioned
in the center of the composition), you can use the following steps to obtain the
correct focus on the subject. This operation is referred to as "focus lock".
Determine the position of the subject after focusing (Focus Lock)
1 Press the power switch.
• The camera turns on in the shooting
mode.
• The lens extends and the monitor turns
on.
• The orange lamp lights.
2 Turn the mode dial and select a
shooting mode.
"Shooting mode" (P.36)
3 Position the AF target mark on
the subject you want to focus on.
• When shooting a hard-to-focus
subject, point the camera at an object
about the same distance away as the
subject.
Press the shutter button halfway
until the green lamp lights.
• When the green lamp lights steadily,
the focus and the exposure are locked.
• When the green lamp blinks, the focus
and exposure are not locked. Release
your finger from the shutter button, reposition
your subject and press the
shutter button halfway again.
5 Keeping the shutter button
pressed halfway, recompose
your shot.
6 Press the shutter button fully.
Try the above, info from D-535, C-370 and X-450.
I can email you the complete manual if this works.
Regards
Phillip

Sep 12, 2009 | Digital Cameras

1 Answer

Viewfinder and LED display both black.


Try pressing the power ON and when the lens has retracted, remove the batteries. Wait a few minutes. Press the power ON again. Now replace the batteries and try the camera again.

Aug 20, 2009 | Nikon COOLPIX P60 Digital Camera

3 Answers

Camera powers off after seconds


Make sure that batteries are fresh and battery compartment is clean.

Mar 16, 2008 | Samsung Digimax S500 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Pic taken stays on lcd screen too long


In the auto review section (under the setup menu) change from 5 seconds to 1 second.

Dec 26, 2007 | Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ5 Digital Camera

2 Answers

505 - max MPEG length ??


The MPEG capture is 15 seconds at the larger size and 60 seconds with the smaller both with sound.

Sep 11, 2005 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-F505 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Pentax Optio S4i Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

95 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Pentax Digital Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

96627 Answers

Donald DCruz
Donald DCruz

Level 3 Expert

17129 Answers

halotheracer
halotheracer

Level 2 Expert

68 Answers

Are you a Pentax Digital Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...