Question about Pentax Optio S4i Digital Camera

1 Answer

Shutter locked up while reviewing stored pics

Shutter lock up. Power will only stay on for a few seconds then powers off. Shutter extended will not move. When Menu button depressed as well as the power on button the message ver 1.0 appears on the display for three seconds then powers off.
I have opened the case looking for any signs of trash it appears clear.
I visited the Optio web site and found a firmware update to prevent shutter lock up. I have attempted to download the update however the camera powers off in three seconds. Any ideas short of the service center?
Txlingo

Posted by on

  • Anonymous Feb 06, 2009

    Yes, I have the same problem with my camera.

    I need help please, as this is my business camera.

    YIKES


  • Anonymous Feb 06, 2009

    I have the same problem

    Sheree in New Jersey. SO frustrating.



×

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Problem not solved at this time. However the Optio web site offers live chat. M-F 9:30 am to 6:30 pm. I will contact them to discuss later today. I will post their recommendations. Thanks Txlingo

Posted on Sep 29, 2008

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

My LG Ku 3700 is locked...i forget my account and password. ...how can i unlock this patten by hard reset. ...pls help me...


Hold the home button, power button, and volume down for few seconds. Should reboot, release volume down at that time and an android should pop up. This is booting into recovery. Use volume key to navigate to reset option and power button to select that option. THIS WILL RESET PHONE TO ORIGINAL STATE.. ERASING EVERYTHING! it will be as if u just walked out of the store. You will lose anything u have saved, pics, music etc. But it will also rest the pw..

Aug 06, 2016 | LG Cell Phones

1 Answer

Kodak m522 turns off with lens extended


Here are some troubleshooting steps that you can try:

Dec 09, 2012 | Kodak M522 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Why does my Nikon D60 while on auto focus or quick shutter speed either not focus and take the pic or focus and not take pics?


I have a 5D Mark II that has acted up like this. 99% of the time it will reset itself it you power off, remove the lense and allow them to sync up. Try this, it may work for you too!

Apr 22, 2012 | Nikon D60 Digital Camera with 18-55mm lens

1 Answer

Who do i unlock nexxtech tv model # 1613016 there is a blue screen and pic of a lock in the left hand corner Thanks Ed


Most electronics can be reset by unlplugging and holding down the power button for a few seconds. Atleast worth a try right?

Jun 20, 2011 | Televison & Video

1 Answer

Touch screen is locked up can't type anything


Do a hard reset by holding down the power button for a few second and powering down. If that is not an option, remove the back covering and take out the batter for a few seconds. After a few second, replace the battery, and power up the phone. You should be able to type what you need provided you have your lock code if the phone is locked by your pass code. If it is locked by your pass code and you do not remember it, then you will have to contact your service provider.

Nov 22, 2009 | HTC Touch Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Soft...

1 Answer

JUST CAME BACK FROM A VACATION TO AZ. IT WORKED FINE ,TOOK 600+ PICS, GET HOME AND IT WILL GO TO 1.1 ZOOM THEN IT LOCKS UP AND TELLS YOU TO TURN THE POWER OFF THEN ON AGAIN.I JUST DID A FEW TIMES AND IT...


Seems to me like the mechanism to drive the lens is having issues. My daughters did the same, after a while it would power on and attempt to extend the lens, then power off. If it's under warranty i would have the manufacture look at it, and if it's a sony, good luck.

Nov 17, 2009 | Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W80 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Viewfinder and LED display both black.


Try pressing the power ON and when the lens has retracted, remove the batteries. Wait a few minutes. Press the power ON again. Now replace the batteries and try the camera again.

Aug 20, 2009 | Nikon COOLPIX P60 Digital Camera

3 Answers

Camera powers off after seconds


Make sure that batteries are fresh and battery compartment is clean.

Mar 16, 2008 | Samsung Digimax S500 Digital Camera

1 Answer

Pic taken stays on lcd screen too long


In the auto review section (under the setup menu) change from 5 seconds to 1 second.

Dec 26, 2007 | Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ5 Digital Camera

2 Answers

505 - max MPEG length ??


The MPEG capture is 15 seconds at the larger size and 60 seconds with the smaller both with sound.

Sep 11, 2005 | Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-F505 Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Pentax Optio S4i Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

95 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Pentax Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

halotheracer
halotheracer

Level 2 Expert

68 Answers

Jerry Greenberg
Jerry Greenberg

Level 3 Expert

1667 Answers

Are you a Pentax Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...