Question about Nikon D40x Digital Camera

2 Answers

Review isn't working

I had my D40x in a camera bag that got a little wet. Cleaned everything off & replaced the battery. Everything is ok except when I review the photos on the camera, anything that is light (like the sky or anything that is white) flashes. Because of this, you can't really look back at your photos as its very distracting. When I download the photos to my computer they are fine. Any ideas?

Posted by on

2 Answers

Hi - I wrote the other day about my camera that got a little wet and now the image review flashes. You responded (thanks!) that it wasn't broken just a function of the "burn" area. I looked up on pg 75 of my manual & saw the info about the image review but it only gives you the option of having it on & off. I also looked in the index under burn but nothing listed. Could you please give me a little more detail as to how to turn this function off.
Thanks so much!

Posted on Sep 24, 2008

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.

  • Contributor
  • 1 Answer

Hi,
This is not a problem. This is a function that shows you the "burn" area at the photo. If you wishes to drop it just rotate the command dial at rear of the camera. You can change the option by changing the menu as shown at page 75 in the manual.
Guy

Posted on Sep 24, 2008

1 Suggested Answer

6ya6ya
  • 2 Answers

SOURCE: I have freestanding Series 8 dishwasher. Lately during the filling cycle water hammer is occurring. How can this be resolved

Hi,
a 6ya expert can help you resolve that issue over the phone in a minute or two.
best thing about this new service is that you are never placed on hold and get to talk to real repairmen in the US.
the service is completely free and covers almost anything you can think of (from cars to computers, handyman, and even drones).
click here to download the app (for users in the US for now) and get all the help you need.
goodluck!

Posted on Jan 02, 2017

Add Your Answer

Uploading: 0%

my-video-file.mp4

Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add

×

Loading...
Loading...

Related Questions:

1 Answer

Rebel xsi review time doesn't show


Let the camera in the zip bag reach the same cold temperature outside before you take a picture. You may need to warm the battery in your hands/pocket for the battery to operating temperature.
After you have taken your photos, place the camera back in the zip bag so when you return inside a warm house you won't get condensation on the camera/lens. You need to let the camera reach room temperature before you take photos inside the house.

Jan 30, 2013 | Canon Digital Rebel XSi Digital Camera

1 Answer

Lcd screen doesnt work


check lcd connection & clean.if ok flash software.

May 30, 2012 | Canon PowerShot SX20 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

My camera got wet when we were at the beach. is it just t he battery dead now or the camera got messed up too


the battery is rarely the primary problem when water is involved. unfortunately, when the water contacts the electronics and theyre on it fries everything and is generally irreparable. for future reference if you remove the battery when you get something wet, and let it dry overnight it is far more likely to work.
You can also stick it in a bag of rice to absorb the moisture.
unfortunately your camera is probably not going to make it if its not already turning on. :(

Jun 13, 2011 | Canon PowerShot SD750 / IXUS 75 Digital...

1 Answer

Why the screen on my Nikon Dx40 doesnt go on- so you cant see wha yo are pictring - so I should see only through the little lense.


The D40x works as SLRs have worked for half a century. You have to compose the picture through the viewfinder. The LCD screen is for menus, settings, and reviewing pictures after they've been taken. The LiveView capability allowing you to compose on the screen is a relatively new development, which Nikon introduced into their cameras with the D3 and D300, introduced years after the D40x.

Sorry if that wasn't the answer you wanted to see, but that's the way the D40x works.

Apr 12, 2011 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

1 Answer

When I turn the camera on and look through the viewfinder, it's black. Also, if I flip open the little screen, it is black. It does show the little icons, but it's as if the lens cover is still on (which...


I have the exact same problem.
It started with the recurring "change batteries" problem - which was solved by using non-rechargeable batteries.
Now everything is working fine except there seems to be no light coming through the lense. Everything except reviewing mode is black and all my pictures are completely black. I dont know where the problem is. Could be the ccd. Might take this to the camera shop but im expecting it will cost over $100 to fix... any help?

Jan 13, 2011 | Canon PowerShot S2 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

Canon s2IS when I turn the camera on in review mode the LCD screen displays pictures one after another. Cannot stop the picture review except to turn off the camera. In camera mode the menu button and...


Hello,
Please do the followings.

1. Turn off the camera.
2. Remove the memory card.
3. Remove the batteries.
4. Wait at least 3-5 minutes.
5. Place the memory card and batteries.
6. Turn on the camera in any mode except review mode.
7. Take any ordinary picture.
8. Change the camera mode to review.
9. What happened now. Is everything normal. if not please write a comment to explain the situation.

Jun 03, 2010 | Canon PowerShot S2 IS Digital Camera

1 Answer

My nikon d40x got a little wet...


Not really a solution, But my camera and I fell in a lake. I took it ALL apart and didn't touch it for four days. It turned on and worked, though I had to re-set all my settings. The only thing that doesn't work is the "trash" button, and I can live without it :) good luck!

Mar 21, 2009 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

1 Answer

Nikon d40 built in flash not firing but it popped up


there is a sensor in there that tells the camera the flash is up you need to take it to a repair shop its not a at home thing

Mar 11, 2009 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

1 Answer

Question to your answer


in playback mode, press the up/down arrow and it should change through various settings until you are back to normal, non-flashing highlights.

Sep 24, 2008 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

1 Answer

Nikon D40x


reset everything, including removing the lens, battery and memory card. small reset button on side, reset icons on screen.
works beautifully now!

Aug 20, 2008 | Nikon D40x Digital Camera

Not finding what you are looking for?
Nikon D40x Digital Camera Logo

Related Topics:

78 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Nikon Cameras Experts

kakima

Level 3 Expert

102366 Answers

Steve

Level 3 Expert

3287 Answers

Ric Donato

Level 2 Expert

225 Answers

Are you a Nikon Camera Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides

Loading...