Question about Lexmark X7170 All-In-One Scan/Copy/Fax and Photo Printer

1 Answer

Why won't my printer preview photos to the computer?

I'm trying to edit photos on the Lexark Productivity program that came with the printer, I have done it before, but now it won't scan the photos from printer to computer. This seems to be since we started getting the internet. I've already checked to make sure the printer is recieving power and that the USB cable is properly connected to both the printer and the computer, already tried all of the troubleshooting tips without any luck...fairly computer illiterate still so I'm at a loss!! Can you help please?

Posted by on

1 Answer

  • Level 1:

    An expert who has achieved level 1.


    An expert that gotĀ 5 achievements.


    An expert whose answer gotĀ voted for 20 times.


    An expert who has answered 20 questions.

  • Contributor
  • 64 Answers
Re: Why won't my printer preview photos to the computer?

This is not an easy problem to trouble shoot like this, there are a number of possible reasons for not being able to use the scanner. Assuming the machine is working and is turned on I'd try reinstalling it's driver and software, although this might be a harsh solution to a small problem it is likely to work because all the settings will be set back to deafault. Good Luck

Posted on May 28, 2006

Add Your Answer

0 characters

Uploading: 0%


Complete. Click "Add" to insert your video. Add


3 Points

Related Questions:

1 Answer

How to increase text size in Dell printer

Instructions Things You'll Need
  • Printer
  • Office productivity software
  • Paper
    • 1 Open the file you wish to print. You can open the file directly by right-clicking on "My Computer," navigating to the file and double-clicking on it. You can also open the program by clicking on "Start," choosing "All Programs" and finding the program. Then click "File," choose "Open," and choose the file you wish to open.
    • 2 Click on the "Print Preview" button on the toolbar to see what the finished document will look like when it prints. You can also access "Print Preview" by clicking on the "File" menu and choosing "Print Preview" from the menu. The "Print Preview" window will open and show you exactly what your page will look like on paper.
    • 3 Change the font size, margins and other elements as needed until your document looks the way you want it to. After your document has been adjusted, click on the "Print" button on the toolbar or click on the "File" menu and choose "Print" from the drop-down list.

Read more: How to Change Print Size on a Dell Printer '

Nov 13, 2011 | Printers & Copiers

1 Answer


Scan the document using Canon PIXMA its very simple follow the mention below instruction to scan to document, picture & email.

  • Turn on the computer and thescanner.
  • Open the lid of the scanner andplace the photograph face down on the glass scanner bed. Close the scanner lid.
  • Click "Start" on the computer.Click "Programs." Double-click "ArcSoft Photostudio 5.5."
  • Click "File" after Arcsoft programopens. Click "Select Source." Click on the scanner model.
  • Click "File." Click "Acquire." Thescanner will begin to scan the photograph.
  • Click "Select Source." Click"Preview." A preview of the photograph will appear on the screen.
  • Drag the selection box to select theentire photo to scan or a portion of the photo. To crop the picture, click anddrag one corner of the selection box. Adjust the position of the photograph onthe scanner bed if the photo is on an angle.
  • Click "Scan" to begin the finalscan. The scanned photo will open in PhotoStudio editing window.
  • Click "File." Click "Save." A "Save Picture"dialog box will open. Type the name of the picture in the "File Name" field.Click on the arrow located on the "Save as Type" pull-down menu to choose theformat of photograph (JPEG or GIF are the usual formats for internet use).Click "Save." The photograph is now saved on your computer.

Sep 01, 2011 | Canon PIXMA MP150 All-In-One InkJet...

1 Answer

I need to scan a signed letter and send it through email to someone......put the signed copy into the printer and hit scan which it did but now do I get it to be part of an email?? ...

1 Turn on your computer and printer, and make sure they are connected.
2 Load your original document.
3 Click Start >> All Programs >> Dell Printers >> Dell Photo AIO Printer 964 >> Dell All-In-One Center.
4 Click Preview

You should now see a preview of your scanned document.

Adjust the dotted lines if they are not completely around your document.
There is a 'Send scanned image to:' option -

You can save the document to your desktop.

Now go into your mail program and when in the body of the email, use your programs features to attach the scanned file document to your email (you did not specify the email program you use, so this is just a general mention of attaching the file to your email).

May 04, 2011 | Dell Photo 964 All-In-One InkJet Printer

2 Answers

How do I scan with HP psc 1210

Answer is on this link:

Click on this link or copy and paste the complete link into your browser.

If I could be of further assistance, let me know. If this helps or solves the issue, please rate it and give a testimonial for my response. Thanks, Joe

Jan 24, 2011 | HP PSC 1210 All-In-One InkJet Printer

1 Answer

How to scan picture into computer

Follow these steps :
Open the software program that came from your scanner.
Lift the lid of your scanner, place photo on scanner bed and close the lid.
Press the "Scan" button on the scanner or in your scanner software program.
Preview the scanned photo on your computer screen and check that the borders are straight and even. Rescan the photo if you make changes.
Load photo paper into your photo printer.
Press "Print" on your computer screen where your scanned picture is showing. If "Print" is not an option, save your photo to a specific folder and open it. When it's open you should have the option to "Print.

Oct 29, 2010 | Dell 924 All-in-One InkJet Printer

1 Answer

How do I scan a picture and email it?


You can start a scan from your computer or from your HP OfficeJet.
to scan an original from your Windows computer
1 Load your original either on the glass or in the automatic document feeder
2 Press Start Scan.
A scan of the original appears in the HP Preview window.
3 In the HP Preview, you can edit the scanned image. When you have
finished, click Accept.

For more information about making changes to an image during the
preview, see adjust an image during the preview in scan pictures and
documents in the HP Photo & Imaging Help for more information.
The HP OfficeJet does a final scan of the original and sends the image to
the HP Photo & Imaging Gallery.

If i helped you pls vote me

Sep 07, 2010 | HP OfficeJet 6110 All-In-One InkJet...

1 Answer

How to scan, can use the feeder, or I have to scan page by page?

Follow these steps to scan:
Open the software program that came from your scanner.
Lift the lid of your scanner, place photo on scanner bed and close the lid.
Press the "Scan" button on the scanner or in your scanner software program.
Preview the scanned photo on your computer screen and check that the borders are straight and even. Rescan the photo if you make changes.

Sep 01, 2010 | Brother MFC 7840W Printer

1 Answer

Certain color parts previewed on computer don't print out

Depending on the software you are using to do the preview...( a word processor, photo software ..etc) the preview is just simply lets you look at the document or picture to see that you have formated it correctly in the main program. You should not try to print from the preview...what you can do is exit the preview function and return to the main software. the go to the file menu and exicute the print command and or do the page setup for the picture or document.

May 31, 2009 | Printers & Copiers

2 Answers

How to Scan a Picture onto the Computer

turn the printer on, place the picture on the glass, on the printer under mode press the big silver button until the scan light comes on  then press select, you should hear the picture scanning, then on the computer, go under my pictures and you should see that picture. 

Apr 16, 2009 | Lexmark P4350 All-In-One InkJet Printer

1 Answer

I am trying to scan photos onto the computer

Try using the Dell all-in-one center instead of straight from the printer.

Start->All Programs->Dell Printers->Dell Photo AIO Printer 964->Dell all-in-one center

Mar 07, 2009 | Dell Photo 964 All-In-One InkJet Printer

Not finding what you are looking for?
Lexmark X7170 All-In-One Scan/Copy/Fax and Photo Printer Logo

35 people viewed this question

Ask a Question

Usually answered in minutes!

Top Lexmark Printers & Copiers Experts

Roopesh S
Roopesh S

Level 2 Expert

228 Answers

Sanath Kumar V

Level 3 Expert

684 Answers


Level 3 Expert

18258 Answers

Are you a Lexmark Printer and Copier Expert? Answer questions, earn points and help others

Answer questions

Manuals & User Guides